Customer Reviews for Sleep Number ® i8 bed

Sleep Number ® i8 bed

Our SLEEP NUMBER ® i8 bed features revolutionary innovations for your total sleeping comfort. A luxurious comfort layer offers supreme support. And because it's temperature balancing, it keeps you from sleeping too warm or too cool.    Temperature balancing  technology absorbs excess heat and releases it, so you sleep just right Three inches of proprietary PlushFit ™ foam features 7 zones for enhanced comfort 13-inch duvet-style pillowtop with a sleek design Advanced DualAir ™ technology adjusts firmness on each side with an intuitive wireless remote Rated #1 by a leading consumer magazine
Average Customer Rating:
3.615 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
9 of 13(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sleep Number ® i8 bed
Review 1 for Sleep Number ® i8 bed
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst bed ever

Date:December 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Amy56
Location:Louisville, KY, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Sleep Number:60
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I hate my I8 bed. It is as hard as a rock. Changing the sleep number doesn't help it is either firm and supportive and hard as a rock or sagging and hard as a rock. I wake up several times during the night and have to change position because something hurts. Unless you like a bed that is little better than sleeping on the floor, don't buy this. "
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceDecember 17, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review, Amy56. We’re so sorry you’re having trouble getting comfortable in your bed! It’s very important to us that our owners are thoroughly enjoying their beds, and we want you to know we can help offer solutions to get you sleeping better. We have a team of Sleep Specialists that can help customize your bed to help enhance your comfort and get you sleeping better as soon as possible. To get started we just need you to give us a call at 1-888-411-2270 from 8AM to 8PM CST during the week or from 8:30AM to 5PM CST on Saturdays and ask to speak with our Sleep Specialists and we’ll start exploring options with you right away.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sleep Number ® i8 bed
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

First time owners

Date:December 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:25-29
Gender:Male
Sleep Number:35
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" My wife and I decided to stop into our local store to look at beds after having lived with a memory foam mattress for the past year. The memory foam mattress had been agony for us and it was to the point that we were having to sleep in our spare bedroom so we could sleep. We settled on the i8 mattress because we liked the thickness of pillow-top. We also purchased the level 2 base. Both were fantastic purchases and although I was skeptical of how much we would use the adjustable base, I have fallen in love with it. The sales people were also very friendly and helpful. Overall, I have no regrets about my selection or purchase. My only complaint with the experience is that after our purchase I learned the SleepIQ was an optional accessory that we did not have to spend additional money on. We were not informed that it was not simply included in the bed. Had we been given the option, I would have opted out of the technology and saved the little bit of money for another accessory. I recommend researching thoroughly your options on the site prior to going to the store so you know what you want and what your options are. "
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceDecember 13, 2014
Hi Anonymous, thanks for taking the time to share this with us. While we're glad you're enjoying your bed and base, we're sorry it wasn't explained to you that our SleepIQ technology is an optional accessory for your bed. We do our best to provide a great experience for all of our owners when they stop by to visit us, and we want you to know we'll be forwarding your feedback on so we can look into ways to continue to improve our processes in the future. If you ever have any other questions or comments about your new bed, please don't hesitate to get in touch with us to share them.
Phone: 1-888-411-2270
Live Chat:
http://bit.ly/SNChat
Email: customerservice@selectcomfort.com

Have a great evening, and sleep well!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sleep Number ® i8 bed
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Tired Mom

Date:December 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Tired Mom
Location:Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I agree with anonymous.. My husband and I had the same conversation. Mattress in the store was much more comfortable and the topper more plus.. I feel when I'm sleeping I can feel like I'm lying on boxes.. My number has ranged from the 40's up to the 80's and just can seem to find a comfortable one. The Pro to the mattress is we got the adjustable base so raising head/feet would be great if I could just find a comfortable number. Pillow top is not even close to what it was in the store. "
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceDecember 11, 2014
We're so sorry to hear that, Tired Mom! Have you had a chance to give us a call about the discomfort you're experiencing yet? There's a great chance we can find a solution that could help you and your husband sleep better, and we'd love to learn more about your situation and see what options we have to help you if you haven't had time to get in touch with us. Just give us a call at 1-888-411-2270 and ask for one of our Sleep Specialists anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday when you have a few minutes to talk and we'll start working with you right away. We hope to hear from you soon!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sleep Number ® i8 bed
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible experience.

Date:December 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I bought this bed 14 days ago and it has been torture every night. I cannot find my "number" to save my life. My husband is having the same problem. We are both very uncomfortable in this bed. For some people this may be the ticket, for us, not so much. Also, the bed in the store felt much more plush than this one. Went back to the store tonight and it felt 100% different than ours. The pillow topper is not as thick on ours as the one in the store. I feel like I'm sleeping in a swimming pool, walls and all. "
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceDecember 8, 2014
Thanks for sharing with us, Anonymous. We're really sorry your bed isn't as comfortable as you wanted it to be and we'd love to see what we can do to help get you sleeping better! Please just give us a call at 1-888-411-2270 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT during the week or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday and ask for one of our Sleep Specialists when you have a few minutes to tell us more about your bed so we can start looking into some solutions for you right away. We hope to hear from you soon.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sleep Number ® i8 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

No more bad neck!

Date:December 5, 2014
Customer avatar
momma bulldog
Location:Lincoln, NE, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Sleep Number:35
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I have always had what I call a "bad neck." I've also slept in the same bed for 20 years! We have remodeled every room in the house but never replaced the bed. We purchased the i8 queen bed a month ago and my bad neck is gone! Coming from a waterbed I didn't know what to expect. I do miss getting into a warm bed, but it only takes a few seconds to warm up. This is one of our best purchases we've made. We probably drug our feet the past year because of the cost, it is expensive. The good night sleep is worth spending the extra money and not hurting in the morning is priceless! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceDecember 6, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience with us, Momma Bulldog. We're glad your bed is helping you sleep more comfortably, and wake with fewer aches and pains, and we're confident you'll enjoy it even more as time goes on. Please let us know if you have any questions or if you need some additional information about your bed and we'll be happy to help.
Phone: 1-888-411-2270
Live Chat:
http://bit.ly/SNChat
Email: customerservice@selectcomfort.com

We hope you keep sleeping well!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sleep Number ® i8 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent bed

Date:October 29, 2014
Customer avatar
fancy44
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Sleep Number:50
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" "Love our i8 bed." Have not slept this good in years. I am sleeping sound now which I never did before. I am a side sleeper and a back sleeper. My sleep number at home is 50, in the store it was 45. Could change later depending on the weather. Have only had our bed for about 2 weeks, but fantastic. From the first night I knew we made the right choice. We bought a floor model which we got a very good deal on because the store was getting a new i8 split model. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceOctober 29, 2014
Hi Fancy44, thanks for taking the time to share your experience with your bed with us. We're thrilled you're enjoying your i8, and we want you to know this is just the beginning. We expect you'll have years of great sleep to look forward to, and we want you to know we'll be right there with you every step of the way. If you ever have any questions, please don't hesitate to get in touch with us.
Phone: 1-888-411-2270
Live Chat:
http://bit.ly/SNChat
Email: customerservice@selectcomfort.com
Facebook:
www.Facebook.com/SleepNumber

Keep sleeping well!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sleep Number ® i8 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Piece of Heaven

Date:September 13, 2014
Customer avatar
SergioR
Location:Chicago, IL, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Sleep Number:45
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I've owned my i8 queen size bed since January 2010. I've really loved my bed since day 1. I sleep great on it I do have to change my number between a 45 and 50. It usually depends on the season. I had gone from a traditional mattress to the SleepNumber after having back problems and my mattress was sagging. I'm so glad that I made the change! "
Pros: Pillows, Blankets/Comforters, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceSeptember 13, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with your i8 model bed with us, SergioR. We're thrilled to hear how much you're enjoying not only the bed, but the better night's sleep it offers, and we want you to know that this is just the beginning. We expect you to have years of great sleep ahead of you and we'll be there with you every step of the way.

If you ever have any questions, or simply need some more information on your bed, please feel free to let us know.
Phone: 1-888-411-2270
Live Chat:
http://bit.ly/SNRemote
Email: CustomerService@SelectComfort.com

Keep sleeping well!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sleep Number ® i8 bed
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

No more fighting

Date:August 29, 2014
Customer avatar
CurlyGirl
Location:Bethel, PA, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Sleep Number:45
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" My husband and I found a great way to both sleep well. He'd be happy sleeping on the floor and depending on his day on the shop floor, he's at an 80 or 90. I like cradling so I'm a 45, unless it's been an intense workout day where 60 tends to give my back less chance of twinging as it tends to after workouts.
I did wait for a sale though as they are pricey. However, when it eventually is time to replace we will get another. Maybe by that time they'll incorporate the new dual temp control into the mattress rather than just a separate topper. "
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceAugust 29, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your i8 bed. CurlyGirl. I'm so glad it's helping you and your husband sleep better! We can't wait to hear how many years of great sleep you get out of your new bed and I want you to know we're here to help if you have any questions along the way. If there's anything we can do for you in the future, please just give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday and we'll be happy to start working with you. Have a great day!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sleep Number ® i8 bed
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Bed But

Date:August 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Kentucky
Location:Florence, KY, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Sleep Number:45
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Just got the I8 on Thursday .Set our bed up this Sunday. No issues until I got to the last steps and tried to remove the duvet/plush top, to begin covering the mattress. Whoever sewed the zipper into the plush top, did a poor job and sewed the zipper against the assembly. We finally were able to free it, but the stitching let go on the unit. We will be going to the store tomorrow to see about getting a replacement cover. "
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceAugust 17, 2014
Hi Kentucky, thanks for taking the time to leave your review of your experience with your bed so far. We're sorry to hear about the trouble you had with the zipper for your cover! Defects like this are rare, and, if you haven't had the chance to yet, we recommend getting in touch with our Customer Service Team right away so they can look into replacement options for your cover. Customer Service can be reached at 1-888-411-2270 from 8AM-8PM CST, M-F and 8:30AM-5PM on Saturday.

We hope you have a great day!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sleep Number ® i8 bed
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

There is a perfect bed for everyone!

Date:July 27, 2014
Customer avatar
KLS
Location:San Diego County, California, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Sleep Number:65
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Let me first say that in my opinion, every bed isn't for everyone! There is a learning curve for a Sleep Number Bed, & we are both getting use to it. Each night is better, & I sleep longer. We do adjust the bed throughout the night depending on the need for an elevated head, or comfort on our sides. I also need to tell you that I have severe back problems, with four surgeries in the last several years, & SN was the only bed I hadn't tried.
Many years ago while waiting in my orthopedic office for a dr. visit, a young woman who had also had severe injuries, told me that Sleep Number saved her life. It's taken me all these years to try the SN, but I have tried every-other bed on the market before purchasing this bed
.
Originally I purchased a C2, & that was way to hard for my sensitive back, so I returned it. All the while I was saying I needed hard, but I'm finding with these beds, the perfect number for me is 65, or under. I then purchased a i8, & again we are still getting use to the bed. However, we love the versatility the i8 gives us, & slowly we are settling in.
Three days after receiving our i8 we left for vacation, & in just that short period of time we realized how we missed our new bed, & how horrible the other beds were. When we returned home, we couldn't wait to go to bed that night. In fact we received ten hours of solid sleep, & have continued to sleep well on our i8!
The one thing I would say is, not expect to hop into bed, & be immediately comfortable. There is a learning curve, & some may love it off the bat, while others may need time adjust. Be patient, I'm sure that's why SN gives you 90 days trial!
"
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceJuly 27, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with your bed with us, KLS. We're thrilled to hear how much you're enjoying your i8! It always puts a big smile on our faces to hear from our owners who are loving their beds and the better night's sleep they bring.

We think it's important for you to know that some hotels do offer our beds, so leaving home doesn't have to mean leaving the comfort of your bed behind as well. A quick web search for "Hotels with Sleep Number beds" will often turn up a number of results.

If you ever have any questions, or simply need some more information on your bed, please don't hesitate to get in touch with us.
Phone: 1-888-411-2270
Email: CustomerService@selectcomfort.com
Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/SleepNumbe...

Keep sleeping well!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sleep Number ® i8 bed
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Starting to have regrets

Date:June 26, 2014
Customer avatar
HotSleeper
Location:Iowa, USA
Age:30-34
Gender:Female
Sleep Number:40
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I know it's supposed to take a while to get used too these beds, but I'm not sure if I can make it past 30 days. We've only had this bed for 6 days, and so far every night has been a challenge. For one, there is very little padding to the comfort layers. The 3 inches of foam plus the top mattress pad can easily be squished down to 1 uncomfortable inch if you're a person over 200lbs. Then there's the sleep numbers. At the store mine was 40, at home it's still around that, but feels either too hard or too soft. Numbers 30-40 feel like my spine is not aligned and I wake up with back and neck pain ( which I've never had before), and numbers 45-50 feel good for my spine but not for my pressure points.
I bought a thick memory foam pad today at wmart so we'll see how that works. But as of right now I'm sore allover after waking up and tired all day. "
Pros: Pillows, Blankets/Comforters, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceJune 26, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your bed, HotSleeper. The Sleep Number® bed has a very unique feel and it's not unusual for it to take a little to get used to it, especially if your previous bed was a traditional innerspring mattress, but we're more than happy to help you if you're not sleeping well right now. Just give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 and ask for one of our Sleep Specialists and we'll start looking into some options to tailor your bed to better meet your needs so you can start sleeping comfortably. We're available to help you anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday and we hope to hear from you soon!
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sleep Number ® i8 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

No complaints from us! My Sleep Number is a 40!

Date:May 27, 2014
Customer avatar
KO
Location:Chicago, IL, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Sleep Number:40
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I am sitting here reading all these negative reviews and I just don’t understand it? When we bought our Sleep Number King i8 in November 2011, we quickly realized it was one of the best purchases we’ve ever made. The warranty alone makes the bed a wise purchase. I guess people don’t realize how much money you can potentially save over a 25 year period just by having a Sleep Number. Sure things happen, these beds rely on electronics, but most of everything we use these days is electronic and sometimes they need to be replaced or fixed, it’s the price we all have to pay and we all just need to get used to it. And I’ve always had great customer service…everyone should always remember, you get more bees with honey than vinegar. I can say that since we’ve had our bed, waking up in the morning is a completely different experience than with a “regular” mattress – I feel refreshed and no aches and pains and all because of the Sleep Number bed. I dread going out of town because I know that I won’t sleep comfortably. And because of this, I just went out yesterday to buy a second Sleep Number bed for my parent’s home in Florida. We purchased the C2 (basic model), sure it doesn’t have all the bells and whistles than other beds they offer, but I know that when I spend a total of 2 months in Florida over the next year, I’ll be happy and rested. To add a little more about customer service, our new bed only comes with 1 remote and an additional one would cost $99, we simply asked the store manager to include an additional one with our purchased and they immediately contacted the regional director and within 5 minutes, a free remote was added to our order – NO COST! We are so happy and thankful. I do recommend Sleep Number beds to friends and family anytime I have the opportunity, and everyone who’s bought one after the recommendation has been completely satisfied! "
Pros: Pillows, Blankets/Comforters, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceMay 27, 2014
Hi KO, thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're so glad to hear how much you've loved your i8 and about the new c2 model you added to your parents' home. It sounds like that will definitely make those trips to Florida a little easier on your back and your sleep!

We're also happy to hear how much you've enjoyed your interactions with our Customer Service Team. It's our goal to provide a great experience every time you get in touch with us, and we're glad we've accomplished that goal for you.

If you ever have any questions, or just need some more information about either of your beds, just let us know.

Phone: 1-800-472-7185 (8 AM - 8 PM CT M-F, 8:30-5 CT Saturday)
Live Chat:
http://bit.ly/SNChat (7 AM to 11 PM CT every day)
Email: customerservice@selectcomfort.com
Facebook:
www.facebook.com/sleepnumber

Have a great day and keep sleeping well!
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sleep Number ® i8 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Bed on the Market Today

Date:April 25, 2014
Customer avatar
HouseF22
Location:Panama City, FL, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Sleep Number:55
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" The i8 has dramatically improved the quality of sleep for my wife and I. She has had two total hip replacements, knee replacement, and a bad back. I've had total hip replacement, along with a bad back. EVERY morning since we started sleeping on the i8, our day begins with, "Aren't we BLESSED we decided to buy that bed!" Bed is expensive, BUT, how do you put a price on an INCREDIBLE nights rest? This bed is WORTH every penny as it has IMPROVED every aspect of our lives!! Give the Sleep Number i8 a try....You will not be disappointed!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceApril 26, 2014
Hi HouseF22 , we wanted to take the time to thank you for sharing your thoughts on your i8 model with us. We're so happy to hear how much of a difference the bed has made in the way you both sleep and how you feel when you wake in the morning. We couldn't agree with you more, considering you spend a third of your life in bed, how can you put a price on your sleep?

If you ever have any questions or comments for us in the future, please do not hesitate to get in touch with us:
Phone: 1-800-472-7185 (8 AM - 8 PM CT M-F, 8:30-5 CT Saturday)
Live Chat:
http://bit.ly/SNChat (7 AM to 11 PM CT every day)
Email: customerservice@selectcomfort.com
Facebook:
www.facebook.com/sleepnumber

Keep sleeping well!
-15points
28out of 71found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.