Customer Reviews for i8 bed

i8 bed

i8 bed
Average Customer Rating:
4.147 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 102 reviews
5 Stars
67
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
13
1 Star
7
78 of 102(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for i8 bed
Review 21 for i8 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Long time sleeper

Date:June 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Syl&Glen
Location:Franklin, MA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Sleep Number:90
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My Husband and I purchased this bed in 2001. Any (small) problems we have had were always taken care of in a very quick and professional manner. Our big mistake was using our old bed frame. We are looking into purchasing one that goes with the bed, although there have been very few problems with the old frame. We recommend this bed
wholeheartedly. After 12 years we are still happy and sleep well.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for i8 bed
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A lot of hype for essentially an inflatable bed.

Date:June 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"My wife and I admired the unique technology of the Sleep Number and were excited to finally see it arrive. But neither of us have gotten a good night sleep in a full one month of ownership. It is essentially two inflatable beds set on a weak base sold to you at high price.
One good thing about the bed is that it DOES do well distributing your weight and relieving key pressure points. But overall, I would not recommend this bed if you want stability coupled with soft comfort."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for i8 bed
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Uncomfortable

Date:June 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Sleep Number:45
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"We have had our bed for 7 years now and do not find it comfortable at all, certainly nothing like the commercials say.
We actually look forward to our trips away to a good hotel so we can get a comfortable sleep.
Our adjustable bed I feel was way too expensive for what we received. We are finally thinking about replacing it and it won't be a select comfort.
"
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for i8 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love our i8

Date:May 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Martinezness
Location:Apple Valley, CA, USA
Age:30-34
Gender:Female
Sleep Number:35
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My husband and I bought our i8 one yr & three mo ago. We wanted to wait to write a review to see if how we felt the first few weeks of having our bed is still the same after having it over a year.
Um, YES! We love it. Best sleep ever! Always! Both of us are completely satisfied with this bed. We've both been sleeping so well & wake up with no back soreness like we used to with our previous mattress. We love it so much, we talked our 2 sisters & their husbands into getting one too & they're hooked too.
We used to look forward to hotel stays & comfy beds. Now, we appreciate the comfort of our sleep # bed each time we sleep in another bed. We both workout too. When our muscles are sore, we turn our number down a bit for a couple days & it really does help.
We read the reviews over a year ago because it is a big investment, you want to make sure you're not throwing your money away & you want satisfaction. Well, this is one of the best investments we have made. If you want to get a good nights sleep & wake up without a sore back, get this bed. You will not be disappointed!!!
"
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for i8 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Best bed ever!!! It took about a month for us to adjust to this bed, but now we sleep better than any other bed we've purchased in the past. I just wish that the cost wasn't so high. Otherwise, I'd recommend this bed to my friends and family."
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for i8 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We have an I8 king and previously owned a P5 queen. We used it for 5 years, then moved our first sleep number into the guest room when we needed a bigger bed to accommodate little wanderers,, and unfortunately bought a regular king bed. I ached continuously through 3 different beds until we finally came back to sleep number and bought the I8. I remembered my number (60) and plugged it in, and it has been a miracle. I will never buy a different bed. I have had rib and shoulder injuries and wasn't able to sleep on my right side, but I can with the pressure relieving foam. My husband likes a much softer bed, and that meant only one of us was comfortable on any given bed before. With our first bed it took a month or so to get comfortable and find my number (it's not always what it is in the store) but I remember shortly ater that waking up my husband to tell him that I didn't hurt, because from about 16 to that point, I had always ached somewhere."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for i8 bed
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Beware that Split King bed may not work...at all.

Date:January 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Minnesota9
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Sleep Number:35
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"We purchased the split king version because my husband and I both sleep very differently. We have 4 sleep number beds in our house. All of them were fine until this one. We were talked into getting the massage feature, etc. that are offerred on this bed, but we only use the feature that raises and lowers the bed. After 12 weeks, one side stopped working. We called only to find out that another company actually makes and services the bed. That company was very rude when we called and acted as though we were just too stupid to use the remote. The very next day the other side stopped working and is stuck in the zero gravity position. Now the rude lady was really rude. Pretty much said that was impossible. We have spoken the the technicial that will be trying to fix it and I will say he was very nice and said he will do his best to get this working since he realizes how expensive these beds are. Outside of the fact it broke down (both components), it truly is comfortable when it works and solves our sleep issues. I'm just very disappointed that we have had issues so soon and it would have been nice to know we would have to deal with a different company for servicing."
Pros: Pillows, Blankets/Comforters, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for i8 bed
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Do not purchase!

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I never write reviews but after spending thousands of dollars on this bed, I feel obligated to warn others. The split king with massage is not worth the money. As I wrte this, the bed is stuck in an uncomfortable position and the massage features do not work on either side. Someone is suppose to come out in a few days. Wow. It isn't even the same company as we found out sleep number doesn't really make these beds. We have had the bed for about four months. It has been nothing but trouble and I am so sorry I bought it. Will update after the next service call. We have purchased four sleep number beds. This may be the last."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for i8 bed
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Go for Memory Foam

Date:October 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Paul in SR
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Gender:Male
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I start with 3 stars and go up/down based upon experience. Purchased about two years ago. My issue is the bed does not work for two. The gap in the middle has two people sleeping uncomfortably when together as such is where to people migrate. Sleeping on oposite sides is not what a couple wants to do. We end up way on opposite sides. I purchased the zippered bag set, I purchased insert to raise my side, I am 200# and my gal #110, I purchased the memory foam topper hoping to also minimize the gap. Thought about memory foam bed, wish I had done so because it probably addresses this issue. Will be stuck with thiis bed for years unfortunately unless I shell out bucks again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+13points
18out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for i8 bed
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not Happy

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Trish
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Gender:Female
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"We purchased this bed and am on night 9 or 10! To date we are not sleeping any better and waking up with same aches and pains! Have tried all the comfort tips that I have found on line. The BIGGEST problems we are experience outside the same old aches and pains is the air chambers fluctuate A LOT! During sleeping the can go from 40 to a 100 or all the way to 0! WE are constantly waking up to readjust. This also occurs during the day when we are not in bed. So yes I am extremely disappointed and will probably return the bed even though we have to pay return shipping! To the ones that the best has made a difference in you congratulations. To the ones that join us in returning beds and learning an expensive lesson I am sorry! The bed we tried in the store felt awesome!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Response from Sleep NumberBy Chris VCustomer ServiceMarch 1, 2012
Hello, my name is Chris and I work for the online division of Sleep Number's Customer Care team. We really appreciate you sharing your experience with us. I wanted to let you know that we have a team of Sleep Specialists that are specifically trained to help you with any discomfort you may be experiencing with your new bed. I really suggest giving our Customer Service team a call at 1-800-472-7185 and requesting a Sleep Specialist so we can discuss your options. We hope to talk to you soon.
+39points
46out of 53found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for i8 bed
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Bed foam not same as store

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Upset
Gender:Male
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Our i8 bed did not feel as comfortable as the bed in the store. We went back to the store with a tape measure and learned the egg crate foam on the store model is larger than the one on our bed. They are sending us new foam, which will hopefully be bigger, but I suggest all of you out there who feel like the store model was more comfortable should measure their foam. The store foam was 3" to the gully and just over 3 1/2" to the peak of the divots."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+44points
46out of 48found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for i8 bed
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointment Purchase

Date:January 25, 2012
Customer avatar
jackson
Location:indiana
Gender:Male
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"We bought the i-8 this past november and looked forward to better nights sleeping. It was comfortable in the store.It's been 2 months of uncomfortable sleeping.When we lowered the #s it only became flatter with a "dip".We both have lower back problems. It seems as though the bed needs additional padding. We must have some sort of calibration problem with the remote because at least twice we went to bed set at 65 and when we got up the next morning the remote showed 100 for both sides even though we didn't adjust it. We are greatly disappointed with our purchase It sort of makes you wonder whether the beds on display are identical to the home delivered!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Response from Sleep NumberBy StephanieCustomer ServiceJanuary 28, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. I understand your concerns, but I can assure you that Customer Service is here to help. Please give us a call at your earliest convenience for assistance. Customer Service can be reached at 1-800-451-6340.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for i8 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Why didn't we do this before!?

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer avatar
100/45-CA
Location:Tulare, CA
Gender:Male
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We decided to retire our worn out spring mattress after only 4 years. My wife woke up with neck pain, and I always woke up with a sore back. I thought it was just me getting older! Man, was I wrong! We woke after our first night feeling great! No soreness, no pain! It's only been a month and a half, but it's been a wonderful month and a half! The ability to choose the firmness separately has been quite a blessing, my Wife being a 100, and me being a 45! No compromise on the mattress? Priceless!
I will say it didn't look impressive going together. Its nice material, but seems so simple. It's also not cheap! But, what is a great night sleep every night worth?
We are very satisfied so far! Looking forward to many more great nights!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for i8 bed
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Skeptical at First But Happy Now

Date:January 2, 2012
Customer avatar
sleepingwell
Location:Alabama
Gender:Male
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We bought an i8 bed in Sept and have been sleeping on it for approx 3 months. I have to say I was skeptical at first. I did not sleep well at all for the first three weeks. I called sleep number and one of the things they did was send me a different type of foam insert to try. Instead of the egg crate type foam, it is a solid piece of foam. I think the foam and allowing a few weeks to get used to it made the difference. My wife and I both now love the bed!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for i8 bed
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not Worth it

Date:January 1, 2012
Customer avatar
al1014
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I tried out the i8 in store- loved it. Felt like it contoured to my body and felt great. I was disappointed by night #1. It didn't feel as cushioned as the bed in-store, and was incredibly hot. I woke up drenched in sweat every single night. Customer Service exchanged my total protection mattress pad for an inBalance pad, which helped a little, but the pad fits poorly and bunched up. This is truly a glorified air mattress- a lower number doesn't feel "softer," just flatter. I have fibromyalgia and did not experience any pain relief with this mattress. Completely disappointed I have ended up paying so much for a mattress I returned."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Response from Sleep NumberBy StephanieCustomer ServiceJanuary 4, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. The Sleep Number bed is quite different from any other type of bed and will take some time to get used to. Our Customer Service team has many suggestions and solutions to offer to anyone who would like assistance with comfort inquiries. We are sorry that you chose to return the bed, but thank you for trying it.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for i8 bed
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

i8 - not what we expected

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer avatar
LR
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"We purchased the i8 after trying all of the models in the Sleep # store thinking that it made sense to spend the extra money and get a higher end model. It seemed so comfortable in the store. Unfortunately, we have been very disappointed since it was delivered 2 weeks ago. We just aren't finding it that comfortable, aren't sleeping well, still have back pain and are considering returning it or exchanging for a p5 (which was our other choice). We paid nearly $4000 for the i8 and it doesn't feel like the miracle bed we expected for that kind of investment. We've tried the Sleep # we arrived at when in the store, working with the sales consultant for several days. Then we changed the # slightly for several days, but we still just aren't finding this to be that comfortable. The bed doesn't feel as "cushiony" / comfortable as the one in the store. Anyway - I was hoping for a wonderful experience to sooth away back pain and improve our sleep - but so far, it just hasn't worked out (sadly)."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Response from Sleep NumberBy StephanieCustomer ServiceNovember 6, 2011
Hi LR,
Thanks for providing your feedback. The Sleep Number bed does take some time to get used to. Your body has to adjust to a different way of sleeping, since the support is different than an innerspring mattress. We would be happy to help you by providing ways to find your ideal Sleep Number. Please call Customer Service at 1-888-411-2270.

We look forward to hearing from you.
+27points
30out of 33found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for i8 bed
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

this bed has wrecked my back!

Date:October 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Steve
Location:Ontario, CA
Gender:Male
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"My wife and I bought this bed about 2 years ago, as it was highly recommended by Bill Handel on KFI. There doesnt seem to be anything broken with this bed, but it had ruined my back. I have tried everything! I even went back to the store to double check my SN, fallowed their advise by only moving the number by 5 and giving it several days for my back to adjust to it. After about a year of this frustration, I bought a high quality memory foam topper and installed it. That only seem to help for a few months, now the back pain is worse than ever! I can not afford to by a new bed, now I am stuck with this piece of garbage! I would love for select comfort to step up to the plate and refund my money!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Response from Sleep NumberBy StephanieCustomer ServiceNovember 1, 2011
Hi Steve,

We appreciate you taking the time to post. I'm sorry you are having issues getting comfortable in your bed. While we cannot accept a return of your bed after your trial period expires, I’m confident that we can help you find the setting that works best for you. We can also look into other possible solutions. Please give Customer Service a call at 1-800-451-6340 or send an email to customerservice@selectcomfort.com. We are happy to help you.
+2points
15out of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for i8 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finally... The right bed for us!

Date:September 16, 2011
Customer avatar
JoJo
Location:Alexandria, VA
Gender:Female
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We love our i8 and purchased the flex fit+ with it. We first tried out the P5 and slept very well... But t wasn't as inviting to get in-between the sheets... Just not luxurious. So we upgraded to the i8 and love it. It has the cushy feel, with the support we weren't getting from our name brand inner spring mattress. Honestly... We are sleeping better than we have in years. And with all the emphasis on the health benefits of getting enough sleep - we are so grateful to our friends who insisted we take a look at Sleep Number."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for i8 bed
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not for snugglers

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Austex
Gender:Male
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I've read tons of reviews for this bed and for the most part the bed is as advertised. The biggest complaint is for those of us who like to snuggle with our spouses. If you both like to sleep in the middle of the bed then steer clear of this bed. When both sleepers are in the middle if squishes the foam divider and alters the "sleep number" of both sides. If you both have drastically different numbers there's a elevation change which forces you apart. We are constantly having to refill the air bladders to remove the huge dip in our bed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Response from Sleep NumberBy StephanieCustomer ServiceSeptember 21, 2011
Hi there,

Thank you for posting. I certainly understand your concerns and can assure you that we have a solution for this. Please call our Customer Service team for assistance. You can reach us by calling 1-800-451-6340 and we will be glad to assist you. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to hearing from you.
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for i8 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Restful sleep in MN

Date:September 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Happy in MN
Location:MN
Gender:Female
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I absolutely love my bed! No complaints, worth every penny!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>