Customer Reviews for Sleep Number ® p5 bed

Sleep Number ® p5 bed

div.product-detail-wrapper .description + ul { display: none; } Experience softness and improved alignment in our newest SLEEP NUMBER ® p5 bed. Zoned comfort layer provides contouring support for restful, restorative sleep. 11-inch Pillowtop with breathable knit fabric to help you sleep comfortably 2 inches of proprietary PlushFit ™ foam provide soft support for pressure relief 5-zone comfort layer contours to your head and neck, shoulders, back, hips and feet Advanced DualAir ™ technology adjusts firmness on each side with an intuitive wireless remote
Average Customer Rating:
4.023 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 174 reviews
5 Stars
106
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
12
1 Star
21
129 of 174(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sleep Number ® p5 bed
Review 81 for Sleep Number ® p5 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE THIS BED!!!!

Date:August 19, 2010
Customer avatar
wease
Location:Brainerd, MN
Gender:Female
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We have had our sleep number for several years. My husband and I absolutely love it! I have low back pain, prefer to sleep on my side or stomach, and so decided we needed a new mattress, as our old one was like sleeping in a hole. What a difference our new bed made. I have been able to adjust my number with how my back is doing - that is a huge bonus, as I prefer a more "squishy" mattress but my back doesn't always agree. My husband feels the same way. Every night we crawl into bed and one or the other of us invariably says, "ahhhh... I love this bed!" No kidding. The only trouble we have ever had is, every now and again I would feel like my mattress had deflated a bit - my back lets me know - and then I would check my number and that was in fact the case. I would re-adjust it and it would hold for a long time - has never been a big enough issue to do something about it - happened a few times in the course of probably, almost 10 years."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Sleep Number ® p5 bed
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Still trying to get it right

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer avatar
dj r
Location:Philadelphia
Gender:Male
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I have had a P5 for about 3 weeks.
First off, when you try the bed in the store, it doesn't have any mattress pad or sheets on it. At this point, I realize that makes a huge difference.
We got the king size P5 with the in-balance layer. The in-balance layer is a mattress pad that helps keep you from overheating in the middle of the night, something that is very crucial for my wife. She did like the in-balance for that reason.
But it's not comfy. We can't feel the bed cupping our body. And the mattress feels uncomfortable. This is with the in-balance pad.
We then tried the lux mattress pad, in the store, it feels great. It's 200 and it's a 1"+ foam mattress pad. Seems silly to put that on a bed with a pillow top mattress. And I feel like we'd need to spend 200 every few years as the foam wears down. So we skipped it.
We liked the idea of the true-silver pad. But they don't have a sample to demo in the store. We took it home and it's no better than the in-balance.
We we put it back in the bag and used our original mattress pad from our regular bed. Still no better.
We removed the mattress pad and slept without it for one night. And loved the bed. We can feel the bed changing from 30-100, at every #. With the mattress pads, I can't feel the changes very much, if at all.
So now, we're trying to find the thinnest mattress pad in the world, that is still going to protect it. Problem is, most of them that we find are not avail in king size!
Ahhhhh, the saga continues.
All of this said, their Customer Service has been very understanding and helpful during this time."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+68points
70out of 72found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Sleep Number ® p5 bed
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not 'poofy' enough. ~ not comfortable

Date:May 2, 2010
Customer avatar
hannah
Location:Mn
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I would recommend getting a bed that has more topper material on it. My mistake, I think the 5000 feels like you are sleeping on nothing more than an AIR MATTRESS. Which if you've slept on an air mattress, camping or otherwise, you know they are not comfortable!
I love the easy system tho & the heat regulated acc's that go with the bed.
I could've spent 80 bucks on a blow up air mattress bed & saved a ton of money. It would feel the same.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Response from Sleep NumberBy StephanieCustomer ServiceSeptember 22, 2010
Dear Hannah,

My name is Stephanie and I work as a member of Select Comfort's online Customer Service team. I am sorry that you are not finding your Sleep Number 5000 bed comfortable. While it was our most popular model and the newest version, the Sleep Number p5, continues to be the most popular, you may find yourself wanting more or less foam depending on your individual sleep needs. If you find that the bed isn't quite soft enough for you, there are many options. The first option is to try lowering the Sleep Number setting. This will allow the bed to cradle your body. If you continue to find that the bed feels too firm for you, you may want to consider putting more foam on top of your cover to create more cushion. Please let us know if you would like further assistance. Customer Service can be reached at 1-888-411-2270.
+31points
48out of 65found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Sleep Number ® p5 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great buy

Date:April 21, 2010
Customer avatar
wildlife
Location:Illinois
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We purchased this bed in 2010, since our other bed of 3 years left us sleeping in a banana shape. We hated to spend the money but I will tell you it is the best bed every. I can now fall asleep faster and stay asleep. I love this bed. I use to toss and turn all night and wake up several times during the night. Now I sleep all night and feel great the next day. Like it says when you buy the bed you have to get use to it and yes you do. But once you do you will fall in Love with it. thanks Sleep Number"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Sleep Number ® p5 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Only bed to use

Date:March 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My husband and I purchased the 5000 series in 2005 because he had back problems, and the different settings really helped him with his pain. He could make the bed firmer or softer to his comfort. That sure helped when his health declined.
I am now a widow and the queen size bed with the two chambers is too big for my moble home and I am looking for a full size number bed now. So I plan to sell the queen size bed and purchase a single chamber full size bed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Sleep Number ® p5 bed
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

get a higher number then P5

Date:February 23, 2010
Customer avatar
sad about purchase
Location:Los Angeles, CA 90048
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Bought this bed because my step father owns a select comfort bed and said it was the best bed hes ever owned. However apparently he has the P8 model so now we are going to switch over to P8 and hope it is as great as he said. The p5 model which felt comfortable in the store felt flimsy at home, both my boyfriend and I felt it slept really really hot and we both started having problems sleeping. BAD model."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Response from Sleep NumberBy StephanieCustomer ServiceSeptember 22, 2010
Hello. My name is Stephanie. I am a part of Select Comfort's online Customer Service team. I am sorry for your dissatisfaction with the Sleep Number p5. While it is our most popular model, it is not the right choice for everyone. Some people prefer a firmer bed, like the Classic series models, or a softer bed, like the Innovation series. It sounds like the Sleep Number i8 will be a better fit for you, as it has additional foam and the Inbalance Outlast material, which is made specifically to keep you cool. If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to call Customer Service at 1-888-411-2270. We are happy to help. Thank you for choosing the Sleep Number bed.
+37points
39out of 41found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Sleep Number ® p5 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Purchase Ever

Date:February 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Rest in Peace
Location:Carrington ND
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have been sleeping on our bed since Jan 29, 2010. I have had headaches nearly all my life and neck pain for last 10 years. I haven't had a headache or shoulder tension since the first night I slept on the bed. I feel like I have died and gone to heaven. I don't think I have slept thru the night since b/4 I was 7 and for the first time in years I have full sleep nights where I don't even think I move. My body feels so relaxed during the day its phenomenal. I tell everyone I know buy this bed its the best purchase we have ever made. My husband who is a truck driver says his shoulders no longer tingle and fall asleep during the day."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Sleep Number ® p5 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than advertised

Date:September 3, 2009
Customer avatar
long time user
Location:Eden Prairie, MN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased our queen size in 1993. Still have it - works like new, looks like new. Had a very slow deflation issue at about 5-6 years - company sent us a new inflator unit at no charge. The newer controls are better - the old ones said 'firmer' and 'softer' - having the digital display makes it a lot easier to get back to perfect after the kids have been messing with the controls.
Even though these seem expensive at first , I now estimate my cost at around 32 cents per day - less than a can of pop! I wish everything I purchased was this durable and trouble free.
Would I recommend it? You bet!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Sleep Number ® p5 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE IT !!!

Date:July 2, 2009
Customer avatar
ApS
Location:TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We own 2 Sleep Number 5000 and we are currently looking into purchasing our 3rd one ! My toddler after experimenting on the Guest Bed (sleep number 5000) did not want to have anything to do with her little toddler bed anymore. So that says it all...We all have our Nice Beds and sleep wonderfully at night ! Just have to get the dogs one too : ) !"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Sleep Number ® p5 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bed!

Date:June 24, 2009
Customer avatar
Mikki
Location:VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The best bed I have ever slept on! My husband and I discovered that we have the exact same sleep number in the store where we originally tried it. But when our old matressneeded replacing, it was a no brainer to buy a sleep number bed! I have recommended it to everyone I know!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Sleep Number ® p5 bed
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not lovin' it yet

Date:June 15, 2009
Customer avatar
Sloeepy
Location:New Jersey
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"My husband and I had this delivered 2 days ago. We had spent a lot of time at the store so we were pretty sure about it and had a pretty good idea what our numbers were. The first night I slept ok on it - I was exhausted from moving furniture around to make room for it. The second night I was in the spare room sleeping on our old mattress. It just feels like I'm sleeping on a cheap air mattress. I don't get that "aaaah" feeling when I get into it. My husband likes it, but mostly because it's bigger than our previous mattress. I'm going to try putting a couple comforters under the sheets to add some softness since I guess I'm stuck with it for another 28 nights."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+21points
29out of 37found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Sleep Number ® p5 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible Bed!

Date:June 8, 2009
Customer avatar
towe443
Location:Winder, GA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We received our new p5000 bed last Thursday and my wife and I are amazed with the results. It took about 3 nights to get our ideal settings. When we visited our store we were evaluated on the c3000 model and since the p5000 has more padding under the cover it is a little softer. Incredible is all I have to say! I have a history of lower back pain and this bed has made a big difference. I would wake up in the morning with my lower back hurting and aching and for the last 4 nights I can tell the biggest difference. I highly recommend a Sleep Number bed!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Sleep Number ® p5 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good choice

Date:June 4, 2009
Customer avatar
Dell
Location:mn
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I have a lot of back problems, I use to wake up felling like I was run over, by a car, now that I have my new 5000 bed, I feel a lot better"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Sleep Number ® p5 bed
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Will never buy again

Date:May 13, 2009
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Location:North Little Rock, AR
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"My husband and I purchased a queen 5000 (p5) almost 2 years ago and absolutely loved it. We both have bad backs and this just seemed to be the one purchase that helped to soothe are aches and pains. Most recently, we decided that we would upgrade to a King and purchased an i9 with the luxury memory foam. We have had it almost 6 weeks and it has been a nightmare. The bed will NOT stay at our sleep number. After calling customer service, the rep explained that tempurature in the room, barometric pressure and body temperature will cause fluctuations in the numbers. She also said that once you lay down at night with/in several minutes, the bed should return to the assigned number. Ours never did and fluctuated both up and down. Our backs were killing us after the first 5 days. I won't bore you with the details, but I was not satisfied with responses from customer service for a $4000 bed. We are shipping the bed back, at our expense ($199), but I will never buy another Select Comfort bed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+128points
140out of 152found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Sleep Number ® p5 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You will never go back

Date:March 27, 2009
Customer avatar
Sunshine Sally
Location:Brunswick, Georgia
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We bought our bed back in Oct.2005.
And we love it,we have a California King mattress with dual controls.
We would never go back to a regular Mattress.as a matter of fact we are in the thinking stages of buying one for our RV.
You can set your number to what ever setting you like. If you work out int he yard one day and you have a tender back, you can set you number to a higher setting, without disturbing your partner.
What other mattress can you do that to?
I highly recommend the Select Comfort.
Enjoy yours today......... don't think twice.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Sleep Number ® p5 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We don't have to compromise anymore

Date:March 19, 2009
Customer avatar
Dawna
Location:Lovington, NM
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My husband and I got our Sleep Number 5000 1 week ago now and neither of us have slept better. We use to sleep in seperate beds since I need a firm mattress and he needs a soft mattress. We are both heavy and 3 years ago we purchased a compromise bed that didn't even hold up much past 1 year of sleeping in it. We will give up dates at least once a year on the Sleep Number we purchased and I hope we continue in our comfort for many years to come."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
10out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Sleep Number ® p5 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BANG FOR YOUR BUCK!

Date:March 16, 2009
Customer avatar
Italiaboy
Location:Overland Park, KS
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This bed is absolutely amazing! I was in a vehicle accident over four years ago and have had two surgeries to correct disks in my back! Ever since then i had not been able to get a full nights sleep because I was constantly tossing and turning trying to get into a comfortable position, and it just never worked, I was averaging maybe 3 to 4 hours of sleep a night, and which for me, was not much! I purchased this bed 2 years ago and let me tell you, it's been the best investment I have ever made! I still sleep sound and do not move after I get comfortable! The best part, I can sleep on my back again! With this bed, I feel like I definitely got the "Bang for my buck". I have never had any problems with it, and the pillowtop is still in great shape wihtout any "dips" in it as I had on my old bed! I even convinced my parents to buy one and they did and they love it as well!
Buyers beware of a great nights sleep and the feeling of being rested the next day! If that is what you're looking for, then look no further!
I still stop into the store I bought it from time to time, to see what's new. Of course I'm dreaming as i would love to purchase everything they have! But the staff at the Oak Park Mall is always friendly and I even won a gift when I went to their owner's event!
Way to go Sleep Number! You guys have made me feel like a King!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Sleep Number ® p5 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wife loves it!!!!!!!

Date:March 14, 2009
Customer avatar
SleepinggreatVT
Location:Burlington, VT
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I switched from the leading memory foam bed to the P5 and have never slept better. I loved the support of the memory foam but my wife was always really warm and could not sleep. We purchased the P5 with the cooling mattress pad , I get the support I need and she no longer wakes up due to heat. I have since purchased a set for my in-laws and my younger brother. Well worth the price. Thanks Sleep Number!!!!!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Sleep Number ® p5 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

i love sleep

Date:March 5, 2009
Customer avatar
tay109
Location:Beachwood, OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"the sleep number bed is without a doubt, the best purchase as far as beds go---what other bed can a couple not only have different settings based on what the like/need, but also CHANGE every night/month/year when necessary?!
your body is constantly changing as you get older and go through whatever changes, so unless you want to deal with buying a whole new bed every few years, why not just have ONE bed with ALL settings?
:-)
money is a factor for some people-but in the long run, it is WORTH it. you may not be able to buy happiness, but you sure can buy good sleep!
Get one, you won't regret.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Sleep Number ® p5 bed
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disadvantages of King Size Beds

Date:February 23, 2009
Customer avatar
Michael
Location:Memphis, TN
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"The p5000 king size dual-sided beds do not allow you to sleep in the middle of the bed, because there is a foam divider running down the middle of the bed. In order to benefit from the air technology you must lay on one side of the bed or the other. Also, the beds don't keep the constant air pressure, so every night you have to readjust your sleep number & every time you check the pressure the remote shows a different number."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+58points
61out of 64found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>