Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sleep Number.

Average Customer Rating:
3.286 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
10
17 of 28(61%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for
Review 1 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Woody
Location:Joliet, Illinois
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Male
Best Pillow Ever
Date:September 16, 2012
"I purchased 2 of the AirFit adjustable pillows with CoolFit foam. One for me and one for my wife. I've had a 4-level cervical fusion and prone to headaches with other pillows. But since sleeping on this pillow, it's the best sleep ever and no headaches. My wife loves the pillow too. She's gone through numerous pillows in the past, but just loves this one. We would recommed the AirFit adjustable pillows with CoolFit foam."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Longer Sleepless
Age:36 - 45
Gender:Female
Don't be afraid of price
Date:August 30, 2012
"I worked in a factory for 11 yrs doing much damage to my neck and upper back and have spent soooo much $$ on pillows only to bring back after a couple weeks...thank goodness most stores let you return them. A friend of my husband's told him he had tried this pillow and that it was the only one that had worked for him after a history that sounded much like mine. Skeptical of the pricing, I gave in and we visited sleep number to try them out...tried 3 others first and then this one which seemed so comfy and supportive and decided after hearing about the 30 day trial to give it a try. I can honestly say after 2 wks that I haven't slept so good in the past 12-15 yrs!!! I like many others on here was waking up with headaches and stiff neck with knots on neck and head. No headaches since using this pillow and knots have disappeared! All I can say is money well spent! Oh, one more thing, I leave the air valve open on mine so it's always readjusting."
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
supersexysleeper
Age:Under 35
Gender:Male
Best sleep ever!
Date:July 8, 2012
"This pillow is awesome. I just can't get enough of the smell. Every other pillow I've use just had a horrible smell. Traditional pillows smell like someone with major BO. I know it's not me because I don't have problems with BO. Other memory foam pillows have a nasty chemical smell, but the Sleep Number Airfit pillow smells exactly like the new car smell my car had when I bought it brand new. I have never slept so soundly in my life. Maybe if all pillows smelled this good it wouldn't be so hard to find a good pillow. Also, the sound this pillow makes as my head moves around is so relaxing. It would be nice to have a bed that smells and sounds this good. I hate that creepy creaky sound that my box spring mattress makes. It sounds like the bed is going to fall apart any minute."
4 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Arlington, TX
Age:56 and over
Gender:Male
Cool Pillow
Date:June 1, 2012
"This is the 1st pillow I've used that I don't have to turn all night to avoid hot spots. Just stays comfortable all night. Also, for me, the amount of support is the best I've found,"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ordie139
Location:Spokane, WA
Age:Under 35
Gender:Male
Great pillow!!!!
Date:May 4, 2012
"Bought it for myself and one for my wife. I love it. I leave the air valve open, my wife has it set to she can sleep on her stomach comfortably.
The only con is that it does have an odor out of the box. There are instructions on how to get rid of that odor in the box. It takes a few days but it's well worth it.
"
20 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jamonkey
Location:Atlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Female
Best Pillow Ever
Date:November 12, 2013
Pros: Pillows
"I LOVE this pillow. My husband tries to steal it from me. It breathes with the movement of my head to contour to my shape. It's the only pillow I'll ever need. I plan on getting my husband one also. We've been through too many other pillows and nothing matches the way this pillow feels. Time to spend the cash for the last pillow we will buy!"
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
See it breathe!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Save your money !
Date:June 8, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"My wife and I each bought one of these pillows and we are both sorry we did. We both like a cool pillow and thought this would be the answer to our prayers. Sadly, we were wrong, very, very wrong. This pillow is absolutely no cooler than the feather pillows we had been using."
2 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Hard as a Rock, the smell is unpleasant
Date:March 29, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Blankets/Comforters, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"Looked great online, couldn't wait to return them after we got them. Airfit allows you to adjust the rock from thick to thicker rock, does nothing to affect firmness. And the smell, very unpleasant. If you check others on this site, you'll find they too had problems with the smell. Very disappointing."
6 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AlEditor
Location:Montgomery, AL, USA
Gender:Male
Almost the perfect pillow
Date:March 22, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Blankets/Comforters, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"I've had my air adjustable pillow for more than a year now. It is the closest thing I've found to a perfect pillow. I have bad neck problems, and I was purchasing new pillows every few months in search of something that would allow me to wake up without pain. I've had some memory foam pillows that were decent, but they lost their support after a few months. This pillow still works as well as the day I got it out of the package. It is very firm, make no mistake about that. If you don't like a firm pillow, you will not like this one. If you're a side sleeper who likes a firm pillow, though, this could be your ticket. I leave the valve open and like how the pillow adjusts to my movements. Also, it is heavy, but I like that. I don't want to have to go looking for my pillow every time I turn over."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Katy
Location:Denver, CO, USA
Gender:Female
WAY TOO HEAVY TO MOVE
Date:March 8, 2013
Pros: Pillows
"I agree this pillow helps keep me cool but IT IS WAY TOO HEAVY TO MOVE and VERY UNCOMFORTABLE - AIR IN AIR OUT too hard-but way too expensive to admit to my husband I MADE ANOTHER BAD BUY"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sleeping Peacefully
Location:Colorado
Gender:Female
Finally happy
Date:January 11, 2013
Pros: Pillows
"We have only spent a few nights on our new Cool Fit adjustable pillows so far, but we are already convinced this is what we have been missing!
It doesn't matter how much money we spent on conventional pillows, what name brand they were, the level of firmness, softness or loft, or how often we replaced them, they all quickly became flat and unsupportive. This pillow solves every problem we have ever had. It felt like an "investment", even on sale, but I now know it was worth it.
Follow the directions for letting the smell dissipate and if you feel it is still strong, give it about 2 days before you use the pillows. Other than that, just adjust to your own comfort preference and enjoy!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JayJay
Location:Los Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Wonderful Pillow
Date:December 22, 2012
"Amazing pillow. Where were these products 20 years ago? I know that the technologies advance exponentially. it’s worth it since I spent so many pillows throughout the years with so so comfort. This one never gets hot during sleep. So get one and try it yourself, your head will thank you."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:OK
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Male
WORST pillow I have ever owned--no refund
Date:December 5, 2012
"Made the mistake of trusting select comfort (we LOVE our SC bed!!!), and assuming their 30-day trial / refund extended to pillows--only option I have is a one time exchange. I should have read the reviews...
Pillow is heavy, stiff, and HOT! I have no idea how "cool" can be used in the description.
I have tried adjusting pillow several times, and closing valve. The pillow is too firm-- I never seem to "sink into it" and I wake up with a stiff neck.
I have tried leaving the valve open. I wake up to a flattened pillow, and an even worse stiff neck.
Please do not buy this pillow on web!!!!! Go to an SC Store and try before spending big bucks you can't get back!!!
There are some happy buyers of this pillow. I'm glad they found a pillow they like. But it's different enough from a traditional pillow, that you may hate it as much as I do."
21 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
unhappy in Texas
Location:DFW Texas
Age:56 and over
Gender:Female
Not so good
Date:November 13, 2012
"Bought these pillow last year for christmas gifts for me and the husband. you do have 30 days to try and return and thats what we did kept getting sore necks, never could get the pillow to be comfortable for us. Love Sleep Number items as a rule but not this one...."
48 of 52 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dre
not for the side sleeper
Date:September 4, 2012
"I purchased two of these pillows and I've been regretting it ever since! Im a side sleeper and it just goes flat on me and first support my head or neck. I have tried everything and every day I just hate my pillow more and more! if I lock the air in its too hard if I let it out it goes flat. I have no happy medium I just wish I didn't waste $400 on two of these! if I could have returned them I would have"
11 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy Chris VCustomer ServiceSeptember 18, 2012
Hi dre, thanks for posting about your pillow experience. My name is Chris, and I work with Sleep Number's online Customer Care team. We really want you to be happy with the products you get from us, which is the reason we provide a 30 day exchange period for all of our non-clearance bedding items. If you're still within your 30 day period, I recommend contacting our Customer Service team at 1-888-411-2270 from 8-6 CT M-F or from 8:30-5 CT on Saturday and we'll be happy to set up your exchange. You can also speak with our Live Chat team from 7AM-10PM CT any day of the week by using the following link:

http://bit.ly/SNChat

We hope to hear from you soon!
Review 16 for
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
floridamom
Location:florida
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Female
expensive couch pillow
Date:August 25, 2012
"Used for two nights...agree with other review, no neck support...do love that you can control density...if this was made as a contour pillow, I would purchase again. The cool gel contour pillow currently available got a lot of bad reviews because foam went flat...on this pillow that could be controlled, so please make contour style! I do like that it stayed cooler than avarage pillow...for now, we have a very nice couch pillow..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
busybee
Location:central Florida
Age:36 - 45
Gender:Female
waste of money for us
Date:August 8, 2012
"I was intrigued with the adjustability of this pillow design but after 4 nights of trying different positions with it then giving to my husband to see if he likes it, I put back in box and up into a closet. Maybe I will give to guests to limit their visits, haha.
The issue is that it doesn't support the neck and with its high hilltop center (even with all the air out) it gives that terrible slope that causes sore necks rather than supporting the neck.
I'm glad I didn't get the memory foam type which is horribly hot for any state under the 36th latitude, lol . The memory foam grabs body heat and holds onto it all night.
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EricS
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:Under 35
Gender:Male
Solid Pillow
Date:March 29, 2012
"After trying and purchasing many, many, many pillows...I believe this one will last quite some time. Most of the firm pillows I've tried in the past have become hot or collapse during the course of a night, which unfortunately gives me a very stiff/sore neck and upper back the following day...and sometimes cause strains, which last multiple days.
The Airfit adjustable pillow with Coolfit foam allows you to adjust the pillow height to work with the firmness of your mattress, and achieve correct spinal alignment (from what I can tell). The other great factor for me is that the pillow maintains it's shape all night. Some foam pillows break down over time. I'm hoping this one doesn't for two reasons - it's expensive, and it works...it stays fairly cool and I really like the feel of it and how firm it can be. All I need now is a good mattress to go along with it.
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KIRK
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Male
TOO FIRM
Date:March 28, 2012
"I gave this pillow to my wife and it was too firm for her. I then tried it and got a neck ache also, never buy online, try them first!"
14 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Tulsa, OK
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Female
Best sleep we've ever had-hope it lasts!
Date:February 9, 2012
"I bought these pillows for my parents and decided to get them also. My parents love them and my husband and I have never slept better. Our hair isn't a tangled mess now when we wake up because we aren't tossing and turning all night ! They are firm but the air adjusts as its supposed to and we don't need to stack 2-3 pillows like we used to do. Definitely recommend this pillow. They stink right out of the package but we followed the directions and they air out and are fine in a few days. We are hoping, for the money, that they last a good long while."
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>