Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sleep Number.

Average Customer Rating:
3.353 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
9 of 17(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for
Review 1 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy
Location:Ky
Age:56 and over
Gender:Male
Great pillow
Date:September 3, 2012
"This is the best pillow I have had.the price a little high but i think I got what I paid for. I think it is just like the bed which I have used for 7 yrs. it adjustable. In about five min. I knew it was for me My neck and shoulders are so much better in just the first night Thanks"
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lilly
Location:Bothell, WA
Age:36 - 45
Gender:Female
Best pillow ever
Date:September 2, 2012
"I am mainly a side sleeper and have tried all different kinds of pillows - goose down, memory foam, etc. Most are comfortable for about a week, but then I don't like them anymore. I usually end up tossing and turning and wake up with a headache or neck pain because the support isn't quite right.
I was skeptical about this one, too, but I have had it for two months now and I absolutely love it. The support is perfect and I do a lot less tossing and turning. I also wake up with no pain.
I suggest leaving the valve open so it adjusts as you move throughout the night.
I will never use any other pillow!"
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bevie1
Location:Lewisville Tx.
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Female
pillows
Date:March 6, 2012
"I love the way my head fells great .I sleep better I wake up felling rested."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Babs
Location:Alabama
Age:56 and over
Gender:Female
At long last
Date:February 3, 2012
"I have sleep issues. When my husband bought this pilliow I thought he was crazy. I am the crazy one--crazy about this pillow. I can play the Goldilocks too hard/too soft with the same pillow and my sleep quality has improved. My shoulders don't hurt any more either. Except for our Select Comfort beds this is the best purchase we have made in a long time."
19 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better sleeper
Location:New York,NY
Age:56 and over
Gender:Female
Best pillow I have ever used
Date:January 5, 2012
"I have used many and all kinds of pillows over the years and this is by far the best one I have ever slept on. The trick is to keep the knob open so it adjusts to your neck and head. Waking up in the morning is a pleasure."
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dave4653
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Gender:Male
Sleep Number Pillow w/goose down
Date:February 25, 2014
"I got this pillow for my wife for Christmas as she was getting neck aches from her pillow. She tried it for two weeks and disliked it from day one. It (the core?) was very hard and she couldn't really feel any adjustment with the air valve. I tried it because I like a firmer pillow and could not stand it at all. It was very uncormfortable. Am I doing something wrong on the air valve? It seems like it goes from hard to rock hard.
I don't have the sleep number bed, but at this point I would be very skeptical of even trying it."
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceFebruary 25, 2014
Hi Dave4653, thanks for leaving your review of your AirFit Adjustable Pillow with European White Goose Down. We're sorry to hear it hasn't been a fit for you or your wife! We want all of our customers to love their bedding, so we offer a 30 day exchange policy on all of our bedding so you can exchange your pillow for one that better fits your needs. You can start the exchange process by contacting one of our Customer Service Representatives. Customer Service can be reached at 1-888-411-2270 from 8AM-8PM CST, M-F and 8:30AM-5PM on Saturday. We hope to talk to you soon!
Review 7 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GregS86
Location:Charleston, SC, USA
Gender:Male
Not What I Hoped
Date:February 13, 2014
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"I received the CoolFit Foam Classic pillow for Christmas. After not being able to decide if I liked it, I took advantage of the 30 day trial and exchanged if for the AirFit Adjustable with Goose Down. It felt great in the store, but after a couple weeks it's just not what I hoped. It is a very firm pillow (the documentation does state this), and you get very little softness/fluff from the down. I can also feel the seem of the air chamber on my shoulder along the long edge of the pillow. I don't think I can exchange it as I have already used that golden bullet, but would happily switch back to the the CoolFit Foam if I could."
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceFebruary 15, 2014
Hi GregS86, thanks for leaving your review on your new AirFit Adjustable Pillow with European White Goose Down. We're really sorry to hear it's not working out for you so far! if you haven't had a chance to as of yet, we'd recommend getting in touch with our Customer Service Team to see what tips they can offer to get you loving your new pillow. Customer Service can be reached at 1-888-411-2270 from 8AM-8PM CST, M-F and 8:30AM-5PM on Saturday. We hope to talk to you soon!
Review 8 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dhussmann
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Gender:Female
Pricey pillow that works
Date:May 27, 2013
Pros: Pillows
"I have had my fair share when it comes to owning pillows. I am pretty sure I have tried them all; classic, contour, gusset-style, memory foam, goose down, alternative down, buckwheat, microbeads etc. but nothing like this one. It's no doubt a heartache having to pay that much for a pillow. All and all I rather pay one big price for a perfect pillow than 10s of them over the years that are now seating in my closet. I have always love the feel of a goose down pillow when I lay on it. But overnight, I can feel that my head sink right to the bottom of the pillow almost to the mattress without much of a neck support. This pillow is perfect because you can adjust to the comfort level you need with the right amount of firmness without giving up the softness of the goose down. Mind you though, it is firmer than the normal goose down pillows. That's the point right? I have mine sized (aired) all the way down due to my narrow shoulder, flat head and being a back sleeper. I encourage you to take your time at the store to try this pillow out. I did, and I am glad I own one today. A very smart invention indeed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mimi918
Location:Oklahoma, USA
Gender:Female
Good purchase if you want healthy sleeping
Date:March 26, 2013
Pros: Pillows
"We bought 2 pillows from sleep number over a week ago. I bought the adjustable air with down. I have tried it several different ways and have found that going from a mushy down pillow to this new one was quite an experience. It has taken me this long to figure out that if most all the air is out and the seal tightly closed, then it supports my neck, shoulders, and head with still being soft enough to sleep on. With this setting, I no longer have to sleep on my arm under my head for support, and I can actually curl it around me when I want to snuggle down. We also own a sleep # bed which we love."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sandy in San Diego
Location:San Diego, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Down pillow hard as a rock
Date:March 3, 2013
"I bought this pillow thinking logically - a down pillow with an adjustable air bladder should be the best of both worlds - right? The softness of the feathers but with adjustable support. I was having a hard time deciding between pillows - they all seemed comfortable in the store. I was very disappointed to sleep on it. A $250 pillow that is as hard as a rock. I've tried adding more or less air - nothing helps. It just varies between rock hard and harder. Bummer. What makes matters worse is that the sales person recommended this pillow after I told him I wanted a soft pillow with support. Even the packing material that comes with the pillow says it it more firm than the average pillow. Wish the sales person would have told me that before I brought it home. The good news is that it seems very well made and of high quality and that it comes in king size."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Roz
Location:alabama
Age:Under 35
Gender:Female
Feathers everywhere
Date:October 22, 2012
"Main complaint is the molting of feathers that occur. If you do not purchase the additional pillowcase cover for this pricey pillow, then feathers cover the outside of the pillow. I believe this is common among all down pillows, but for the price, the additional pillowcase/covering should be included to alleviate the issue."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy Chris VCustomer ServiceOctober 31, 2012
Hi Roz, thanks for posting about your experience with your down pillow. My name is Chris, and I work with Sleep Number's online Customer Care team. While it's not unusual for down-based products to lose feathers on occasion, a significant loss of fill could be a warranty situation. If you haven't already contacted our Customer Service team about this, I highly recommend calling us at 1-800-472-7185 from 8-6 CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30-5 CT on Saturday so our agents can learn more about your situation. We'll look forward to hearing from you.
Review 12 for
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
techrep
Location:NE
Age:56 and over
Gender:Female
Can't tell any difference
Date:September 21, 2012
"I purchased this thinking the down qould make it softer with a air chamber that could be adjusted. It is very hard. Seems to go from hard to harder, not "sink in" feeling. I've had it about a week. Lat night I tried using my down filled pillow with this. Today, I have severe lower back pain.. I'll give it another week. Can I return to a store if purchased online?"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
fcmagility
Age:36 - 45
Gender:Female
Great pillow!
Date:January 5, 2012
"I hate hard pillows but I need neck support. This is the perfect combination. When I got the pillow, I thought that it was going to be too hard. I opened the air valve and squeezed as much air out of the pillow as I could. Then I shut the valve and I get a bit of support from the small amount of air in the chamber and the softness of the down around the support."
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
disappointed
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Female
worst purchase
Date:January 3, 2012
"Very uncomfortable..woke up with neck and back pain..returned within a week."
Response from Sleep NumberBy StephanieCustomer ServiceJanuary 4, 2012
We appreciate your feedback. Sleep Number offers a 30-night exchange on the accessories to allow you to try them in the comfort of your own home. If you feel that the pillow is not working out for you, we are happy to exchange it for one that will better suit your needs. Thank you for trying the AirFit pillow.
Review 15 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wellness
Location:Indiana
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Female
Adjustable pillow
Date:December 27, 2011
"My husband purchased pillow for one of my Christmas presents since I have neck problems. I tried for several minutes thinking it would get better and more comfortable. It was so hard it felt like a brick under my head. I was extremely disappointed and asked my husband to return it the next day. I have never written a review, but this pillow was so bad I felt I had to make a comment."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pete
Location:Rockford,IL
Age:Under 35
Gender:Male
Bricks
Date:December 14, 2011
"For the price of this i didnt think anything could be wrong with this pillow. i was wrong this pillow feels nice for 5 min, then it starts to feel like my head is laying on a bed of bricks. This pillow kept me up instead to helping me sleep. I went to sleep better not even using a pillow. Yes could be just me, but I tried to like this pillow, but even after two weeks i couldnt take it anymore. Very nice quality but hard to ever justify spending this much on one pillow. Oh and by the way, i purchased this online, so when I returned it I found out they make you pay to return it. And also found out its not cheap to send a pillow."
23 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy StephanieCustomer ServiceJanuary 4, 2012
Hi Pete,
Thank you for posting. I understand your concerns. The Air Fit pillow may take some time to get used to, as there many different "settings". We also offer 3 different fills to best suit your needs. However, if you find that you prefer a more traditional pillow, we do have a 30-day exchange policy and can also offer a free pillow fitting at any of our Sleep Number stores. Please give us a call at 1-888-411-2270 with any questions. We look forward to hearing from you.
Review 17 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TAC
Location:Dumfries, VA
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Female
Best pillow in long time
Date:November 17, 2011
"I usually use 2 feather pillows and as the night goes on I keep flipping the top pillow around to get height back. I only need one of this pillow and am not having to flip it during the night. It keeps it raised height. Finally, I have found a feather pillow I really love."
87 of 92 people found this review helpful.