Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sleep Number.

Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
9
17 of 30(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for
Review 1 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
uncomfortable
Location:minnesota
Gender:Female
horrible
Date:March 15, 2014
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"My husband and I have had these pillows for a year now and these pillows flatten out and have no support. My husband contacted the customer service via chat online and he got told that isn't covered under warranty! stand behind your word! I have woken up with horrible neck and back pains every morning now and I think if we paid what we did for the pillows you should cover it under the warranty!"
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceMarch 15, 2014
Hi Uncomfortable, thanks for taking the time to leave your review of our CoolFit Foam Contour Pillow. We're sorry to hear that the pillows have lost their firmness. As everyone sleeps differently, it can be very difficult to determine what is a manufacturer defect and what is normal wear and tear. For that reason, we don't offer warranty coverage of any of our pillows for loss of height or firmness per the warranty terms and conditions you can find on our website.

If you have any other questions about our bedding items, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team. Customer Service can be reached at 1-888-411-2270 from 8AM-8PM CST, M-F and 8:30AM-5PM on Saturday.
Review 2 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Female
Date:February 24, 2014
Pros: Pillows, Sheets
"I bought this pillow to replace my existing 4" white foam contour pillow that I had and loved for over 5 years. This pillow is awful. It flattens out and provides no support when I sleep on my side and has an overpowering chemical smell. I agree with another reviewer that this product may have a quality control issue, though, since I did try one in the store and it seemed fine."
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceFebruary 25, 2014
Hi Anonymous, thanks for leaving your review of your CoolFit Foam Contour Pillow. We're sorry to hear it hasn't been a good fit for you! We know it can be tough to pick the perfect bedding item for you on the first try, which is why we offer a 30 day exchange policy on our entire bedding collection. We invite you to contact our Customer Service Team to look into the exchange options. Customer Service can be reached at 1-888-411-2270 from 8AM-8PM CST, M-F and 8:30AM-5PM on Saturday. We hope to talk with you soon!
Review 3 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gordie
Location:Seattle, WA, USA
Gender:Male
So excited...so let down...so soft I can't sleep
Date:February 23, 2014
Pros: Pillows, Blankets/Comforters, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"I wanted this pillow to be all it was described to be. I am a long-time GridZone Contour pillow user. I LOVE that pillow! I needed a second pillow, and thought the cooling design of this pillow would be perfect, as I sleep hot, and my pillow is often damp. So, I ordered the pillow, and couldn't wait for it to arrive.
I have tried it three nights now, and have given up. It is worthless! The foam is SOOO soft, that it won't hold my head up! I am 6'2", 195#, with a size 7 1/8" head, and ordered a 6" pillow. I would expect it would hold up my slightly smaller than average head. But within 5 minutes of laying down, my head has sagged to a very uncomfortable angle, as if I was laying on a 2" thick foam pillow. I read the reviews about room temp playing a factor. I try to sleep in a cool room, with the window open. Average nighttime temp is probably 60-64 degrees. Apparently too wam for this bag of mush.
On the upside... if you like a REALLY SOFT pillow, and have a light head, in a cold room...the pillow does offer a cooler sleep than any foam pillow I have slept on.
I'm bummed they are closing out the GridZone contour pillow! It is far superior, except for the cooling design. I hope they combine the two, and they'll have a winner! As it is, they are dropping the better (reviewed) pillow, according to their customers."
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceFebruary 24, 2014
Thanks for reviewing your CoolFit Foam Contour Pillow, Gordie. We're sorry to hear it hasn't been a great fit for you! We want all of our customers to love their bedding, and we know it can be hard to pick the right bedding items on the first try, so we include a 30 day exchange on our entire bedding collection so that you can make exchange to a different bedding item if the one you select isn't a perfect fit for you. We would encourage you to contact our Customer Service Team to start the exchange process and help you select a pillow that will better fit your needs. Customer Service can be reached at 1-888-411-2270 from 8AM-8PM CST, M-F and 8:30AM-5PM on Saturday. We hope to talk to you soon, Gordie!
Review 4 for
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Too flat - no support
Date:February 2, 2014
"I am very small and bought the 4" thick on the recomendation of the sales person. But it flattens out at the touch to about 1 1/2 inches! I will try to exchange for the 5", but seems odd for a 98 pound woman to flatten it the first night.
It is comfortable except for this.
"
Response from Sleep NumberBy Chris VCustomer ServiceFebruary 5, 2014
Thanks for sharing your review with us. I'm so sorry the 4" version of this pillow isn't working for you! It definitely sounds like you need a higher profile for this pillow, and I really hope you visit your local store again or give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday within your 30 day exchange period so we can help you with this situation. We hope to hear from you soon!
Review 5 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
B Ryan
Location:Chicago, IL, USA
Gender:Male
A Very Disappointing Pillow
Date:January 9, 2014
"After using another manufacturers contour pillow for over a decade I decided to give the Sleep Number® CoolFit™ Foam Contour Pillow a shot. The Cooling Gel Technology and Wave Design were very appealing, but is a complete gimmick that I am sorry I fell for. The cooling and airflow promised are non-existent as well as most importantly the neck support. Overall the Sleep Number® CoolFit™ Foam Contour Pillow is overpriced and does not offer the neck support necessary for an enjoyable nights rest."
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceJanuary 23, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience with us, B Ryan. I'm sorry this CoolFit pillow wasn't a great fit for you! This product has been very popular with many of our owners and it’s a shame it didn’t work for you too. Have you had a chance to consider exchanging it yet? We know your first selection won't always be the best fit for your needs, so we offer a 30 day exchange on all of our non-clearance bedding items and we’d love to help you pick out another product if you're still within that 30 day period. Just visit your local store again or give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday and we’ll be happy to help you find a product that will work better for you.

We hope to hear from you soon!
Review 6 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
necksorenomore
Location:Atlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Female
Best and most supportive pillow I've ever had!
Date:January 2, 2014
"I've been in search of the perfect pillow for my tricky neck for years (and have a mountain of rejects to prove it). Nothing has ever come close to the comfort I've found with this pillow. I'm a side and back sleeper and the 6" version provides enough lift and support for all sleeping positions. My head is PERFECTLY cradled. I don't wake up countless times throughout the night to adjust the pillow or work out the kinks in my neck.
THANK YOU SLEEP NUMBER from the bottom of my heart!
The store professional who helped me with this pillow was so good!!! Once I decided on this, she shared with me that both she and her mom use the same model!!
"
Review 7 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Female
Heaven
Date:December 28, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Sheets
"I received the sleep number cool fit foam contour pillow for free by completing a smiley mission. This pillow is amazing! I used to suffer from night sweats (I'm menopausal) but thanks to this awesome pillow, my night sweats are becoming a thing of the past. I still get them but because of the cooling effect in the pillow, the intensity of the sweating has decreased & I'm able to sleep more comfortable at night. Thank you sleep number for developing such a wonderful product."
Review 8 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Soft in summer, hard in winter?
Date:December 4, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"Purchased pillow in July 2013 and found it very comfortable and supportive of my neck. It was a pleasure, BUT then something changed!
I keep my bedroom somewaht cool in the winter. Since the cool weather has set it, I have begun to noticie that the pillow foam is much harder than when I purchased it and uncomfortable to sleep on. My head just sits atop on the pillow because it's so hard. I believed I had purchased a defective pillow! But, when I contacted your chat room, the customer service rep told me he also has the CoolFit pillow and yes, it's normal for the pillow to get harder in cooler weather. I can't believe my pillow is going to be hard-as-a-rock until the weather gets warmer. What kind of material would do that? I also would have expected to be informed about the pillow reacting to cooler temperatures before I purchased it.
There are several other products which I purchased from SleepNumber and have enjoyed them very much, along with the wonderful customer service whenever I had questions. Sorry, but I cannot recommend this pillow and hope you consider changing the material. Disappointed, Kathleen"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceDecember 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your CoolFit™ Foam Pillow, Kathleen. I'm so sorry you're not finding it as comfortable during these winter months! Memory foam-based products generally become firmer in cooler weather and softer and more pliant in warmer weather. I understand this can be frustrating and I wanted to let you know there are a couple simple steps you can take to keep your pillow soft and comfy! If your bedroom is the only room you keep cooler during the winter months, you might want to keep your pillow in the warmer parts of your home until you’re ready for bed so it’s nice and soft when you’re ready to sleep. If you happen to have an electric blanket or mattress pad with your bed, you won’t even need to do that! Turning the heat on 10-15 minutes before you’re ready to go to bed should give your pillow a chance to warm up so you can start sleeping comfortably the minute your head hits the pillow.

I really hope these suggestions help you, Kathleen. We really appreciate your feedback, and I want you to know that I’ve also forwarded your comments on to our Product Team for their review. If there’s anything else we can do to assist you, please just let us know! You can reach us anytime from 7 AM to 11 PM CT by clicking the link below.

http://bit.ly/SNChat

Have a great day!
Review 9 for
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Chris67
Location:Herndon, VA, USA
Gender:Female
Cooling pillow loses its cooling ability over time
Date:December 3, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"I loved the pillow during its first two years, however it seems to have lost its ability to cool at all in year three. It is still very comfortable, but I wouldn't buy it again since it lost the most valuable feature for me. I wonder if the 5 year warranty would cover the cooling feature."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceDecember 12, 2013
Hi Chris67, thanks for taking the time to write a review on your CoolFit pillow! The gel technology in our CoolFit products helps them be breathable and avoid the “hot” reputation that traditional memory foam has, but it doesn’t actively cool the product as you sleep on it. If you’re having trouble with your pillow sleeping warmer than it used to, you might want to consider adding one of our In Balance pillow cases or pillow protectors over your pillow to help balance temperature as you sleep.

If you feel that this situation is due to a defect, we’re more than happy to look into it for you. Just click the link below anytime from 7 AM to 11 PM CT and we’ll be happy to start working with you.

http://bit.ly/SNChat

Have a great day!
Review 10 for
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BDD
Location:Shelburne, VT
Gender:Female
Very comfortable but stinks
Date:October 31, 2013
"We have had one of these pillows for about two weeks. The pillow is quite comfortable but it still has the horrible smell. I can tolerate it but it actually makes my husband gag. We will be returning this pillow!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceNovember 1, 2013
Hi BDD, thanks for sharing this with us. I'm so sorry you're having trouble with your pillow! The scent coming from our foam products is normally very faint and fades within a week of use. It certainly shouldn’t last for more than two weeks, and I hope you’ll give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 so we can look into a solution for you if you haven’t already stopped back at your local store for assistance. We’re available to work with you anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday. We’ll look forward to your call!
Review 11 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
missajeep
Location:Falling Waters, WV, USA
Gender:Female
Wonderful Pillow!
Date:September 7, 2013
Pros: Pillows
"I have owned a sleep number cool fit pillow for about a month now and absolutely love it! It contours to my neck so I haven't awoken in the middle of the night with neck pain. Also, I have not woken up sweaty as well. It really does keep cool. Love it! I received a free cool fit pillow from smiley360."
Review 12 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dianereis
CoolFit pillow
Date:August 16, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
""I received a free sample from Smiley360." The Sleep number CoolFit pillow is so amazingly comfortable. It's soft but not too soft and the cool feeling is the best during these hot summer nights. I have already begun spreading the news of how I received this amazing pillow and how everyone should get down to their Sleep Number store and buy one for themselves."
Review 13 for
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Npenn1
Location:Milwaukee, WI, USA
Gender:Female
A Great Night's Sleep
Date:August 16, 2013
"I recently recieved a sample pillow from Smiley360 for visiting a Sleep Number store and trying out another Sleep Number product.
I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of this pillow. The pillow is rather weighty and is wrapped in a strudy case. Before sleeping on the sleep number pillow I had been sleeping on a down/poly blend pillow. The problem with these pillows is that they start off great but occasionally you get feather stick in your face and the fluffiness eventually wears down.
The CoolFit™ Foam Contour Pillow gave me great support through the night. I didn't wake up with a crick in my neck and I didn't have to adjust it at all throughout the night. I was amazed at how cool it actually felt when I first lay my head on in. I am a side sleeper so, I generally flip my pillow frequently to get the cool side on my face. I didn't have to do that at all with this pillow. Even through two pillow cases it was apparent. I have told several of my friends about Sleep Number and the products that I have tried. I will probably have to purchase a pillow for my husband so he doesn't feel left out. Overall a great product and I would definitely recommend it to others.
I received a free sample from Smiley360."
Review 14 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Aimee
Location:Spokane, WA, USA
Gender:Female
The Best pillow I ever slept with!
Date:August 16, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: Pillows
"I love how it contours to your neck, and stays cool all night. I use to flip my pillow all night, not now! I received a free sample from Smiley360"
Review 15 for
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Male
Not so greeat for side sleeper
Date:July 30, 2013
Pros: Pillows
"I bought the contour pillow because it seemed like 4 pillows in one. This was attractive to me since I switch positions from back to side during the night, and liked to switch from the contorued side to flat side. The pillow was great when on my back but went too flat and did not support me well when on my side.
The cool technology is nice for the first 15 minutes but doesn't seem to standup over a nights sleep. Way too expensive for what you really get. You can find similar pillows for half the price at a department store."
Response from Sleep NumberBy Chris VCustomer ServiceAugust 3, 2013
Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us! I'm really sorry that our contour pillow wasn't a great fit for you. We know that the first item you choose won't always be the best product for your situation, so we offer a 30 day exchange policy on all of our non-clearance bedding items. If you're still within your exchange period and you haven't already contacted us to talk over your options, I hope you'll get in touch with us so we can help you find a product that will better meet your needs.

You can reach us by clicking on the "Chat Now" button at the top of the page or on the link below. We're here to help you from 7 AM to 11 PM CT every day.

http://bit.ly/SNChat

Have a great weekend!
Review 16 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Liz
Location:Savannah, GA, USA
Wonderful Pillow
Date:July 29, 2013
"This is the most comfortable pillow I have ever slept on. Now, I actually sleep through the night! Its unique shape supports my neck and shoulders when I sleep on my side. When I shift to my stomach, I just flip the pillow, and it is just as comfy. And...it actually stays cool!"
Review 17 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Female
CoolFIt for a Cool Night
Date:June 22, 2013
Pros: Pillows
"I first purchased the Air Adjustable Down Pillow. After a couple of weeks it just was too firm and even with leaving the air plug open it was uncomfortable. Luckily Sleep Number gives you 30 days. I returned the pillow and exchanged it for this one. So far so good. I now sleep the whole night and this was definitely a better choice for me. The pillow stays cool. I sleep hot and with this pillow my neck feels gently supported and I wake up cool. No more hot nights."
Review 18 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AvrilW
Location:Charlotte, NC
Gender:Female
The Best Pillow EVER
Date:June 12, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"My husband and I both traded our horrible pillows for these Foam pillows and we love them. We tried them in the store and immediately bought them. They stay cool all night and they don't flatten out. I am very glad we purchased them."
Review 19 for
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
polo550
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:36 - 45
Gender:Male
So far so good
Date:October 18, 2012
"I had been looking for a pillow to replace my old king sized Ralph Lauren pillow which was a perfect combination of firm and comfortable softness. I had to have gone through four different pillows before going to the Sleep Number store. I decided to try the Airfit Adjustable with Coolfit pillow because I thought that I could get that same combination that I had with my RL pillow. Wrong. That pillow was awful. Felt like someone had folded clothes and stuffed them in a pillow case and called it a pillow. So, I returned it for this pillow. I was super skeptical about having a contoured pillow because it didn't look very comfortable. So far I have been pleasantly surprised at how comfortable and soft it is and it molds to your head without the heat that usually comes with foam pillows. I also purchased the pillow case that controls heat and it has been a pretty good combo so far. I've read some of the reviews about the lack of durability of the pillow so I was reluctant to give it a 5 star rating. I've only had it for a week. We will see how long it lasts but I'm happy to finally be getting a good nights sleep"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cosbytnkid
Location:Ft. Myers, FL
Age:56 and over
Gender:Male
Comfortable Pillow
Date:October 3, 2012
"My wife and I bought an M7 bed. What a bed it is! A little pricey but no more aches when I wake up. My only problem was I kept having aches in my neck. We went to our local sleep number store and purchased the cool fit memory foam pillow. It has solved all my problems! My head stays cooler at night no more neck aches great support for my head and shoulders. Just wonderful. I would do it all over again. Thank you Sleep Number for a great nights sleep."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>