Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sleep Number.

Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
8 of 15(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for
Review 1 for
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Female
This doesn't fit the California King
Date:January 18, 2014
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"The gel mattress top is great if you sleep right in the middle of the bed, which defeats the purpose of "sleep number". This mattress top is not wide enough for the Ca King mattress that Sleep Number sells."
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceJanuary 21, 2014
Hi anonymous, thanks for taking the time to leave your review on the CoolFit Foam Layer. We're sorry to hear you're having trouble with it! If you haven't had a chance as of yet, we'd recommend reaching out to our Customer Service Team about this. They can look into options to help get that Layer fitting properly, or, if that's not possible, and you're still inside of 30 days pf purchase, they can look into making an exchange to a different bedding item that will fit your needs better. Customer Service can be reached at 1-888-411-2270 from 8AM-8PM CST, M-F and 8:30AM-5PM on Saturday. We hope to hear from you soon!
Review 2 for
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sleepy65
Location:Pearland, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Great added comfort, but a pain in the neck too...
Date:December 7, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Blankets/Comforters, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"Wanted to add additional information to my review (Couldn’t find a way to respond or edit my review). I have an I10 Split King, It is my belief that if this was a Queen, or regular King size bed the sifting I'm experiencing would not happen (without the shifting issue - I would highly recommend this pad#. Someone from Sleep number responded, suggesting I try the Pad under my sheets, to be honest it never occurred to me that someone would try the pad on top and not under the sheets. So, in answer to that, here is how I have everything layered: Mattress, then CoolFit Foam Layer Pad, then the Sleep Number Total Protection Mattress Pad, then the sheets #Of which are either the Sleep Number Lyocell or the Sleep Number Pima Cotton sheets#. If it mattered, I really would have expected some level of instruction to be with the Pad. In the end, I think my sifting issue are directly related to the small size #Twin XL) of the Split King."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sleepy65
Location:Pearland, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Great added comfort, but a pain in the neck too...
Date:December 2, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Blankets/Comforters, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"I sleep hot, so it was with great skepticism that I purchased the CoolFit foam layer. My main concern was - would it work “as advertised”, well it has. What I didn’t expect was issues with the fit (read the other reviews) and maintenance of the layer itself. My experience to date with other Sleep Number products has been exceptional. In short, the CoolFit foam layer moves about the bed – a lot. It started with the outer cover of the CoolFit foam layer, it would move around the foam layer. In other words after several nights of sleeping the zipper would end up on top (.vs. staying on the side). In addition to that, the foam layer will slowly slide off to the side of the mattress – so I’m constantly pulling it back into position. I’ve now pulled on it enough that the out cover is long gone (it tore badly) and the foam is starting to tear too (from me pulling it). It moves more when used with the Sleep Number Lyocell sheets (not really sure why) than when used with the Sleep Number Pima Cotton sheets. Speaking of the Pima sheets, I believe if the CoolFit foam layer had the corner anchor bands like the Pima cotton sheets have it would not have the movement issue I’m seeing. I admit, I’m really disappointed in how this is turning out – very comfy – but dang - especially for the price you pay."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceDecember 6, 2013
Thanks for reviewing your new CoolFit™ Foam Layer, Sleepy65. I'm really glad you're enjoying the comfort it adds to your bed! The weight of the CoolFit™ Layer is normally more than enough to keep it in place and I'm really sorry you’re having trouble with it shifting around. If you haven't already tried placing your Layer under your sheets rather than on top of them, that’s a great way to help keep it from shifting as much so you can get a better night’s sleep.

The CoolFit™ Layer might not offer quite the same level as comfort when it’s damaged like you mentioned in your review and we really want you to enjoy the products you order for us, so I hope you’ll click the link below anytime from 7 AM to 11 PM CT when you have a few minutes to chat with us so we can locate your file and see what we can do to help you with that situation.

http://bit.ly/SNChat

We hope to hear from you soon!
Review 4 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tom4cats
Location:Lake Wales, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Like sleeping on a cloud.
Date:November 8, 2013
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"Had been looking at this pad for some time but did not want to spend this type of money without some assurance it was worth it. My sister has a Sleep Number bed too and she had this pad. I tried it and fell in love with it. I ordered it as soon as I got back home since it was reduced. It is a perfect companion to the Sleep Number bed."
Review 5 for
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Female
Too short and too narrow
Date:August 28, 2013
"We bought the regular Sleep Number bed because I was worried about the foam layer on the other models being too hot. I felt the bed needed more support and went back to the store and bought the pad. the pad is 4"short on each side and at least 4"short on length. The mattress is now very small. Good thing my husband and I are not big people. I am very disappointed in the size of the topper. I called customer service and was told, yes that is the size of the topper. so that's the way it is. The pad is very supportative and not too hot at all, so that's good."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceAugust 29, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review on your CoolFit Layer. I'm really glad you're finding it comfortable, but I'd like to take a second look at the size of the pad you received just to be sure it’s correct. If possible, please measure the length and width of your current CoolFit Layer and use the link below to tell us your results so we can compare your measurements with the intended size of the product. We're available to help you anytime from 7 AM to 11 PM CT.

http://bit.ly/SNChat

We’ll look forward to talking with you!
Review 6 for
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Female
Not Cool as Advertised
Date:February 14, 2013
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"This mattress pad may be cooler than some memory foam pads but is still too warm. I'm cold pretty much all the time and even I get too warm at night with this topper. Although I contacted the company well before the end of the 30 day trial period, they would not give me a refund or even match the current website price which had dropped approximately $60 dollars since I'd purchased mine a few weeks before. The only thing they would do is replace it which would not solve the problem. Sadly, I will not be a return customer even though we have 2 of the beds"
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Female
I love it!
Date:January 12, 2013
"Expensive but worth it - although seem a bit short in length and wish it had a more protective encasement."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Happy sleeper
Location:Louisville, KY, USA
Gender:Male
Love this gel mattress topper
Date:January 3, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"Bought this on the suggestion of my salesman at the store when we bought our C2 bed . We had to sleep on the bed the first night without it since the bed was delivered before the gel topper came, and it makes a huge difference. the bed is so much more comfortable with it. It contours to my body and I wake up now and do not have the pain I had with our old pillowtop mattress. It is well worth the money to add this to the C2 beds."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Iowa, USA
Gender:Male
Now Gel Foam
Date:December 17, 2012
"The original thick memory foam cover over the air mattress pretty much deleted the even body support the air mattress underneath would yield. Those who like the "water bed" type of even support were sorely displeased by the original memory foam cover.
For starters, do not get a sleep number bed with the old low quality memory foam cover. Customers who have spent large sums on the sleep number bed with the old low quality memory foam should receive the upgraded gel foam covers for cost or less.
Will the new gel foam covers bring back quality sleeping with support evenly distributed over the whole body? We do not have the upgrade yet but his situation will prove the integrity of this company as they do have many unhappy customers. An engineer.
"
14 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
RED
Location:Texas
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Female
Very Comfy
Date:January 29, 2012
"I have only had these toppers for a few days, I put them on my current bed while awaiting the delivery of my split king adjustable bed. The only problem I have is that the topper scoots around, it will slide several inches down and over , binding up at the edge of the sheets, I am an adverage size gal, so it's not because of my weight or size. I am afraid when I put this topper on the adjustable bed and put the head up a bit to sleep it will slide down even worse..I certianly don't want to have to tug the toppers back in place every day, I wonder if the mattress pad with the elastic on the four corners would help hold it in place without making dips in the corners of the bed...any hints for me customer service?"
34 of 47 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jecky
Location:Quad Cities, Iowa
Age:36 - 45
Gender:Male
PERFECT addition to our older sleep # bed
Date:December 22, 2011
"We were ready to trade in our older cal. king sleep number bed as it was a "classic" with a top pad that had settled/worn to the point it needed replaced. Now, with the addition of the gel pad, we are getting great sleep again like when we first bought the bed 10+ years ago. I am a big guy that gets "hot" at night and there have been NO issues so far. I LOVE it!
The only reason I rated it lower on value was one can buy a very similar matress pad for less, BUT you might also GET less I guess."
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
lpelba
Location:Newport News, VA
Age:36 - 45
Gender:Female
Pleasantly surprised
Date:November 29, 2011
"I recently purchased both the New Air Pillow (heat control) and this coolfit topper. At first sight taking it out the box I thought the material was flimsy and felt wierd, but once I placed on bed and laid on it! Wow! amazing, it feels the way I image sleeping on a cloud would be like! it literally envelopes your body with comfort like a hug but is firm where needed! awesome worth every penny paid! unfortunately I cannot say the same for the pillow which I hated and could not use after one night but will exchange to hopefully find the right product for me."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ioianthe
Age:Under 35
Gender:Female
Amazing
Date:July 14, 2011
"So, I put this mattress pad on the bed and lay down to see what it felt like; I found it comfortable but wasn't feeling too "wowed" and then I fell asleep, which was a surprise because I am NOT a napper and usually have a bit of a hard time falling asleep, but there I was, out like a light in under five minutes. I woke up and the spot where I had been lying was barely even warm! This mattress pad gives me the best night sleep I've ever had. Value rated how it is because I got the mattress pad on sale but probably wouldn't buy it for full price."
17 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shag
Location:Nampa, ID
Age:56 and over
Gender:Female
Worst purchase EVER
Date:February 19, 2011
"We purchased the Coolfit pad because my husband sleeps too warm. We were unable to use it for 3 weeks because of the smell. It still smells. We have tried it now for 2 nights and my husband has no opinion one way or the other. I, on the other hand, was very uncomfortable,. My hips ache, my legs went to sleep and I felt that I was being burned. In my opinion we have a $400 piece of garbage. Everything else we have bought from Select Comfort has been great. We have been sleeping on Select Comfort for 10 years."
42 of 58 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aging customer
Location:North Carolina
Age:56 and over
Gender:Female
So glad I bought this!
Date:February 16, 2011
"This is a new product and just arrived yesterday. I was too excited to wait the recommended 24-48 hours and in less than an hour I was in bed. So comfortable and supportive without overheating. I have pain issues and this is a treat!"
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.