Product Reviews

Down Alternative Pillows

  If you love the cloud-like softness of down, but are worried about allergies, this is your perfect solution. This pillow is ideal for allergy-sensitive sleepers who like the loft and feel of down, but prefer synthetic to natural fill. It’s filled with a luxurious, supreme down alternative - a unique and exclusive microfiber and microgel blend, to provide the ultimate in comfort and support. Sateen cotton, 300-thread-count cover.
Average Customer Rating:
3.765 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
12 of 17(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Down Alternative Pillows
Review 1 for Down Alternative Pillows
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lish
Location:Washington State
Age:Under 35
Gender:Female
Great Pillow
Date:October 5, 2012
" I suffer from back and neck pain so finding the right pillow is very important to me. I am a side and back sleeper so I chose the medium-firm version of this pillow and love it. It keeps my neck from getting kinked yet gives enough that it's comfortable when I roll onto my back. I plan to get one for my husband now, who has tried many other pillows without success and now tries to steal mine. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Down Alternative Pillows
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
suzyq
Location:Portland, OR
Age:56 and over
Gender:Female
Deformed mess
Date:May 5, 2012
" If you want a pillow that has absolutely no give, ends up a deformed twisted lump that cannot be fixed then buy this one, otherwise save your money. This was after only about 6 weeks of use. "
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Down Alternative Pillows
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
saveyourmoney
Date:October 21, 2011
" Save your money. This pillow did not hold its loft nearly as well as less expensive pillows purchased in the past. This pillow was used for about 10 mos. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy StephanieCustomer ServiceNovember 14, 2011
Thank you for posting. I'm happy to help. As with many pillows out there, after a period of time, the fiber fill may begin to break down, slightly. Luckily, putting the pillow in the dryer on a light setting with tennis balls for 10-15 min will help to regain its loft. I hope this helps. Sleep well!
Review 4 for Down Alternative Pillows
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cross stitcher
Location:Iowa City, IA
Age:56 and over
Gender:Female
flat as a pancake
Date:September 22, 2011
" I first bought this pillow in soft/med. It was great when I first got it, but after a few months, it wore out completely and was flat as a pancake. I contacted customer service, who simply said that was to be expected (no help at all!) and I should put the pillow in the dryer to fluff it back up. All that did was give me a flat and lumpy pillow.. I then purchased this pillow in med/firm figuring that might help, but it didn't. Still got very flat very quickly. These pillows are way too expensive to wear out and have to be replaced within a few months. "
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy StephanieCustomer ServiceNovember 1, 2011
Hi, I am glad to address this for you. After time, the fiberfill within the pillow can flatten out. Putting the pillow in the dryer can help, however, I would suggest using dryer or tennis balls to help redispurse the fiber fill, and also fluff the pillow up. I hope this helps!
Review 5 for Down Alternative Pillows
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
tjakes64
Location:San Jose, Ca
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Female
Stiff
Date:September 15, 2011
" I am a stomach/side sleeper. With that said I walked into the store & was referred to this pillow Med/Firm. I was told to give it at least three nights. The first night within 5 minutes I literally wanted to switch pillows however, I pushed it to 15 minutes & by that time my neck & shoulders were stiff. The pillow is approx 5" thick (puffy) and stiff, laying on my back it felt like my chin was sitting on my chest, sleeping on my stomach was not an option ( impossible). It has been a week & I'm taking it back. Haven't had one good night sleep yet but worst than that every morning I am uncomfortably sore in my shoulders, neck & upper back. My girlfriend bought the same one for her husband & she is also returning. "
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Down Alternative Pillows
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mercylady
Location:Erie, Pa
Age:56 and over
Gender:Female
Down Alternative Pillow
Date:March 22, 2011
" I purchased a down alternative pillow, soft-medium, and it is more like very firm. It is way too lofty and hard. I would not recommend this pillow to anyone. Although the quality might be there. I thought I was getting a soft cozy pillow that my head would sink into for comfort. This pillow feels like a brick!!!!!! "
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Down Alternative Pillows
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Beans
Location:Mn
Age:Under 35
Gender:Female
Not perfect and not real durable
Date:March 16, 2011
" I bought a soft for myself, I am a stomach sleeper. It was too full, too thick to get comfortable. I stuggled for a month at least with neck pain then I cut into the pillow and removed about 1/5 of the material and stitched it back up. Now I like it, and can mold it to feel comfortable. My husband bought a med-hard pillow, he's a back sleeper. He has had it about 6 months and it is not as nice as it was. He really liked it at first but it is definately getting flatter and not as comfortable for his neck. So it doesn't last as long as I thought and hoped for the price. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Down Alternative Pillows
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gigi
Location:Chicago
Age:Under 35
Gender:Female
Great choice!!!
Date:December 21, 2010
" Have had the pillow for over 5 years and the hubs still fights me for it every night!!! I will never travel without it!!! Well worth every penny!!! "
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Down Alternative Pillows
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bob
Location:Florida
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Male
After a long search, comfort! Finally!
Date:December 14, 2010
" We have owned a sleep number bed for over 4 years and until this past week we used regular pillows. We have been searching for comfortable pillows for the last few months since our current ones were at the end of their usefulness.
You never really realize just how important a pillow is until you find the right one. We decided to see what Select Comfort had to offer. The pillows are extremely comfortable and worth the cost.
You can spend a lot of time and money searching for the right pillow. The folks at our local Select Comfort store made it simple and easy.
We now not only have a comfortable bed, but we have pillows that meet our needs in terms of quality and comfort. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Down Alternative Pillows
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Viet Vet
Location:Amelia Ohio
Age:56 and over
Gender:Male
PerfectionWe have had our new
Date:October 18, 2010
" We have our new bed only 4 days now.Its a p7 split king bed.Ive been sleeping in a recliner for 3 years now.On my back only.The new bed is wonderful but i was having trouble with neck and some shoulder pain.On the 5 th.day i went to the the Sleep Number store.I found out that my pillows i havent used in years was the problem.I bought the Down alternative pillow and used it last night for the first time.I never have made a comment to a company or anyone in my life until now.I did make a remark about the bed on this site.Between the new bed and this pillow ive been able to rest on either side left or right.Something i havent been able to do n over 15 years.It going to take me some time to get used to being in a bed again but each night is much better than the one before.Im like a kid with a new toy with this new bed and pillow.My sleep number is 35 "
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Down Alternative Pillows
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tam
Location:Orlando, FL
worth every penny
Date:July 1, 2010
" just purchased split king Select Comfort bed which I love. Also purchased 2 king size down alternative in soft-medium. Both my husband and I feel these are the best pillows we've ever owned. Very comfortable. Definately glad we purchased these. Highly recommended. Love all our purchases at Select Comfort, very impressed with the quality. I don't want to get up in the morning! "
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy StephanieCustomer ServiceAugust 11, 2010
Hello there. My name is Stephanie and I work as a member of Select Comfort's online customer service team. I wanted to thank you for your testimonial! We appreciate all questions, comments, concerns and happy stories. Thank you for choosing the Sleep Number bed and sleep well!
Review 12 for Down Alternative Pillows
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chelle
Location:Springfield MO
Like it? Nope, LOVE it!
Date:March 15, 2010
" I have slept on my new pillow for 3 nights now. I expected it to take a few nights to get accustomed to it, but that was not the case at all. After the first night, I was not only accustomed to it, but absolutely loved it. I guess the only thing I am trying to get accustomed to is being so comfortable! It is very supportive of my neck, which is great because I have neck problems and yet cradles my head. I highly recommend this pillow! "
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Down Alternative Pillows
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Rachel
So comfortable
Date:March 12, 2010
" I have the soft down alternative pillow and it is very comfortable. This and the no shift body pillow (which is also a down alternative) really help give me a deep sleep even though I have back problems and prefer to sleep on my stomach. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Down Alternative Pillows
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Person with sleep apnea/allergies
Location:California
SUPERB PILLOW!
Date:October 1, 2009
" My home and literally everything in it burned in the 2003 California wildfires. I purchased a Select Comfort mattress (which I LOVE!) and decided to also purchase pillows, mattress covers, and allergy mattress and box spring covers. (Select Comfort was absolutely wonderful and offered a huge discount to wildfire victims.)
These pillows are magnificent! It is now October 2009, and the 4 pillows still feel like new! I had never paid what I considered a "lot" for pillows, but these puppies are worth every single penny! They are hypoallergenic, but feel like the finest goose down. You can scrunch, pound, poke, fold; anything, and they always return to the same wonderful goose-down feel.
Since I have sleep apnea, my sleep is typically very disturbed with a great deal of tossing and turning--the pillows (and the mattress) stand up to it all as if I'd slept in one spot like a baby. "
31 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Down Alternative Pillows
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
slumber1
Location:Staunton, Virginia
This pillow is awesome!
Date:February 20, 2009
" My friend got me this pillow for Christmas after I threatened to take hers. I absolutely love it! It is great to hug if you are a side sleeper and it doesn't bend your neck too much if you are a belly sleeper. It's like laying your head on a cloud! One other thing, this pillow washes nicely in the washer. I have a front-loading washer and dryer and recently had to wash my pillow after my daughter had an "accident". It didn't lose shape at all and I was very happy it is so easy to keep clean! "
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Down Alternative Pillows
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nora
Location:Houston, TX
Great Pillow
Date:January 7, 2009
" I have been looking for a pillow that is comfortable since I'm a side and back sleeper. I love this pillow it is comfortable and perfect, and retains its shape. Plus it I have never slept so well in my life. "
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Down Alternative Pillows
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laura
Location:DP, IL
Unique Pillow Constructions
Date:June 12, 2008
" These pillows are great custom pillows designed to fit the way you sleep. The picture does not show all of the unique construction features so these would be a great one to go check out in one of the stores. The back sleeper is a tri chambered design that will cradle your neck and keep your spine inline while you sleep. The side sleeper is a gusseted pillow designed to fill in the space between your neck and shoulder which keeps your neck inline while you sleep. The stomach sleeper is a softer density pillow with elliptical side panels to give you a soft yet supportive sleep surface. All 3 are great pillows with options for all types of sleepers. Dual Loft is a great down like polyester fill with great resiliency. "
46 of 52 people found this review helpful.