Product Reviews

Grand King Mattress

Grand King
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
9 of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Grand King Mattress
Review 1 for Grand King Mattress
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jackie
Gender:Female
I love my Grand King
Date:July 23, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"Great Bed love...love...love it, would like options to keep my bed strong, like add on pad's or something"
Review 2 for Grand King Mattress
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Worst Bed in the world
Date:July 15, 2013
"We bought this bed less than two years ago and have not had one good night sleep since.
I Never had problems with my lower back previously and now wake up with sore lower back every morning, no matter have many times I change my number!! The other thing is that it is hot to sleep in, even after we bought a wool underlay blanket to go on top.
So our advice to you when you see the salesman selling this bed, don't just walk passed him....RUN!!!!!
We would sell it in a heart beat if we could????"
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceAugust 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your honest opinion with us. I'm really sorry you haven't had the best experience with your bed so far, but have you had an opportunity to give our Customer Support team a call yet? It's not unusual for us find the cause of your discomfort and a possible solution after a short phone call, and I hope you'll give us a chance to help you. I'm confident we can find a solution that will get you both resting comfortably!

You can reach our Customer Service team at 1-800-472-7185 from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30-5 on Saturday. Please give us a call whenever you have time. We’ll look forward to hearing from you!
Review 3 for Grand King Mattress
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cvdky
Location:Wisconsin, USA
Gender:Female
Wonderful bed
Date:June 11, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Blankets/Comforters, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"Bought ours back in 2010 and we love our bed. It was the first time my husband at 6' 7 could sleep fully on the bed. Like a lot of the other customers we have issues finding sheets and having a white comforter with a husband that works in manufacturing is not very nice. I have looked at the other review with the list of websites and searched through each very carefully. I could not find sheets in any of them. A grand king and a California king are two different sizes. I only found one comforter that was in stock that might have fit but was a terrible color. Some of the sites did not even work. I really believe sleep number needs to change sheet and comforter colors every few years. I have been hoping for new colors. That is my only problem I have. It's wonderful to sleep on. Now we are thinking about investing in the cooling system that is on the commercials now. Not sure if it comes in our size though."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Grand King Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Silver Fox
Location:Spring Hill, FL, USA
Gender:Female
5 years old
Date:May 3, 2013
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"I have owned the split king for 5 years. Yes, this is an expensive bed...but...it is worth every penny! Most of us never blink at the price of a new car or a new mattress. Think about how many cars and mattress sets you have purchased in your lifetime. I do wish the bedding was more reasonable but the Sleep Number sheets are excellent quality. I have one set of sheets that I have washed every week for 5 years and they still look new. I would also recommend the mattress pads."
Review 5 for Grand King Mattress
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ron
Location:South Texas
Gender:Male
Grand King Lacking Accessories
Date:January 3, 2013
Pros: Blankets/Comforters, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"I've had the Grand King bed for about six years. While I'm in love with the size and comfort it has its drawbacks. Since I bought the bed Sleep Comfort has been floating the idea that headboards wold be available soon and other vendors would offer bedding for the bed.
I have yet to find bedding anywhere but with Sleep Number. I have not seen a headboard anywhere. I checked all of the recommended vendors thatt Sleep Number recommended in response to another review and none of them have any Grand King bedding.
The mattress itself ripped at one of the seams when I was trying to square it with the foundation.
I have the Grand King comforter that I see is on closeout and find it lacking. It is impossible to clean and exceptionally easy to get soiled.
I own other Sleep Number beds including a King, Double, and a Single. I have not had any issues with any of these beds.
Due te problems listed above, I cannot recommend the Grand King unless you have to have the size and are willing to put up with limited choices for bedding."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Grand King Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Big Dog
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Male
Room for All
Date:February 7, 2012
"We bought this bed because we have 4 dogs that just have to sleep with us on bed; and 2 cats. I had very little room to sleep until we got this Grand King. Now there is Room for all, and I have been sleeping ever since the Grand King arrived almost 10 years ago. It was worth the high price."
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Grand King Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Liz
Location:Lenexa, KS
Age:36 - 45
Gender:Female
Investment in full night sleep
Date:February 2, 2011
"We debated for a long time about how much to spend on the right mattress, bedding, pillows, etc. We both work very long hours and were sorely lacking a restful night sleep. After lots of reseach and numerous wasted investments in other products, we decided to take the plunge into the sleep numbers product.
Once in the store, my very tall husband was sold on the idea of sleeping entirely on a mattress.
We read all the comments about not being able to buy the grand king sheets and such. We were able to buy everything to fit the Grand King in the store and they delivered items to our house which were not in stock. We would like to see more choices for our bed size in the future.
Overall, the difference in our daytime productivity and sleep satisfaction is unequaled. We are thrilled with our investment.
Our 2 pets share my sleep number and there's even room for me too!
"
17 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Grand King Mattress
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
gklm
Location:MI
Great bed, but can't find sheets...
Date:April 21, 2010
"We purchased this bed because my husband is 6'7", and this size allows him to finally sleep without his feet hanging off the bottom. It's incredibly comfortable. The sleep number adjustments were a huge benefit through 2 pregnancies. BUT, considering how much we paid for this bed, it's frustrating that Select Comfort does not selll sheets in this size online. You have to call customer service. Also, the only color that's been offered in sheets for this size over the last couple of years is carmel, which is low on my list of preferences. Overall, while I love the bed, I get frustrated with these issues."
64 of 73 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy StephanieCustomer ServiceSeptember 22, 2010
Dear GKLM,

Hello. My name is Stephanie. I am a member of Select Comfort's Customer Service team. I am sorry that you are having trouble finding sheets. Although we sell a wide variety of bedding accessories, we do not currently sell all sizes and styles. We do, however, have an extensive list of companies which we recommend:
Hecht’s www.hechts.com
Lands’ End www.landsend.com
The Company Store www.thecompanystore.com
Olympic Linens www.olympiclinens.com
Brylane Home www.brylanehome.com
Designer Linens Outlet www.designerlinensoutlet.com

Catalog Companies
A Touch of Class 800-457-7456
www.touchofclasscatalog.com
Coming Home 800-345-3696
Domestications 800-782-7722 www.domestications.com
Garnet Hill 800-622-6216
www.garnethill.com

We also offer a customer bedding program through SIS Covers. You can reach them at 888-990-7438. Thank you for choosing the Sleep Number bed.
Review 9 for Grand King Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Too Tall in Texas!!!
Location:Flower Mound, TX
Bed for Basketball players!!!
Date:October 6, 2009
"Okay so at first you wonder WHO would ever buy a bed so large it could be an island.....well my 6'10" hubby and his 6'1" wife did and they LOVE IT! My husband had a hard time with the price and having always made due on a king bed he was willing to do the same again...NO NEVER AGAIN...for the first time EVER in his life my husband can sleep like a normal person with room to spare (yes there is still room at the foot of the bed). We have gotten so spoiled that we can't take vacations for fear of sleeping in a REDUCED king size bed...ha! This is the best investment we have ever made and no worries about the sheets....there are MANY online companies that make sheets, bedspreads and other items for this bed. We have had our bed over 5 years and still have the original 2 sets of sheets we got from sleep number. They are still as great as the day we got them. An added benefit to this bed (our 12 year old who is 5'9" tall and our 5' 5" 7year old) can sleep with us and we all have room. As a matter of fact last movie night we had we added one more (thats 5 people in the BIG ISLAND BED) and we all had space to enjoy the show. Don't wait and cramp yourself anymore..enjoy the Bed and the space its worth every penny!!!!"
68 of 79 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Grand King Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nicky
Location:St. Louis, Mo
Great Mattress
Date:August 26, 2009
"We bought a Grande King Mattess and it is the most comfortable bed you have ever slept in . The only problem is that you can not get a good selection of sheets or comforters . It was not to customer friendly for them to sell us a Grand king mattress and not supply the customers with any choices of sheets as a matter of fact they very raley have any in stock. I would suggest only buying a regular king so you will have options as far os sheets are concerned. Otherwise this is the most comfortable best bed you will ever buy."
43 of 53 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Grand King Mattress
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gayle
Location:Louisville, KY
Grand King: pros and cons
Date:August 16, 2009
"When we first got the Grand King, the first thing I thought was that it was a glorified air mattress and wondered why we spent the money on this bed. Then, when we put it together, and I realized how big it was, I laughed! Again, I wondered why we bought this bed! The first night we slept on it (2 adults and 2 large dogs) I realized why! Not only is this bed the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, it has more than enough room to accommodate all of us. The main issue I have is bedding. There is not a wide variety of sheets to buy at select comfort for the grand king and you have to have your comforter made for you if you want it to fit right. We have gotten by with an extra large king blanket in the past but that does not replace "nice" bedding. Our next sleep number will be a regular king size so we won't have the issues with sheets and bedding. I LOVE sleeping on this bed though, so there will be another one in my future!"
62 of 76 people found this review helpful.