Product Reviews

In Balance Layer

View Outlast®* Temperature Balancing Material Video   An option to add to your mattress pad to help maintain cooler sleeping comfort. OUTLAST® fabric technology is designed to reduce the temperature swings that can cause restless nights-to help you sleep more comfortably each and every night. 300-thread-count, 100% long-staple Egyptian cotton top, 100% cotton bottom. RELY™* polyester fiberfill features an antimicrobial agent to inhibit the growth of fungus, mold, mildew and the odors they cause. Hypoallergenic.  Logic™ Label system takes the guesswork out of where to start making your bed. This topper is intended to lay over your current mattress pad and it is secured to your bed with anchor bands in the corner.    * Rely is a registered trademark of Carpenter Co.
Average Customer Rating:
3.4 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
9 of 15(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for In Balance Layer
Review 1 for In Balance Layer
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
In Balance Layer
Date:December 17, 2013
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"I put the In Balance Layer on my new bed and it felt like I was sleeping on a thin piece of cardboard. Honestly I have slept better in Best Western motel than I did with this on my bed. I took it off and put a cheap foam topper on the bed until I can find something else. I would not recommend this product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceDecember 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your In Balance Layer. I'm so sorry you're not enjoying it! We really want you to love the products you order from us and we're more than happy to help you exchange to another product that will be a better fit for you if you’re still within your 30 day exchange period. Please just visit your local store again or give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday within 30 days of when you received your In Balance Layer and we’ll be happy to help you. Have a great day!
Review 2 for In Balance Layer
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JR in sammamish
Location:Sammamish WA
Gender:Female
Balance Layer doesn't work
Date:December 16, 2013
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"We purchased this with our Sleep number bed. in the store, it felt very cool. however, on the bed it does nothing. My husband still sweats and is very hot at night. Unfortunately, this produce is not returnable. don't waste your money on it."
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceDecember 18, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience with us, JR. I'm so sorry your In Balance Layer wasn't a good fit for you! Have you had a chance to consider exchanging it yet? We offer a 30 day exchange period on all of our non-clearance bedding items because we know the first item you order from us won’t always be the best solution for you. If you’re still within your exchange period I hope you’ll visit your local store again or give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday so we can find a product that will better meet your needs. We’ll look forward to hearing from you!
Review 3 for In Balance Layer
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rob
Location:Nebraska, USA
Gender:Male
Thin and not worth the money.
Date:October 24, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"This product is thin, flat, and it degrades the softness of the wonderful Sleep Number bed. We feel the "In Balance Layer" is a bad choice. We just assembled our 2nd new Sleep Number Bed and I made the mistake of purchasing the "In Balance Layer" instead of buying the "In Balance Ultra Loft Layer". Major difference!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceOctober 26, 2013
Hi Rob, thanks for taking the time to post a review on our In Balance Layer. This product can be a wonderful way to add temperature balancing material to one of our beds and we're so sorry to hear it didn't fit your needs! Have you had a chance to consider exchanging it yet? We understand the first product you get from us won't always be the best fit for you, so we offer a 30 day exchange on all of our non-clearance bedding items from the date you receive them. I really hope you'll visit your local store again or give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday if you’re still within your exchange period so we can help you exchange to the In Balance Ultraloft Layer you mentioned or another product that will be more to your liking. Have a great day!
Review 4 for In Balance Layer
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Atlanta
Gender:Male
Be careful, pad loses ability to keep you cool..
Date:September 10, 2013
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"Not sure what happened here, but I felt misled with this product. When I laid on the pad at the store, I was amazed on how "cool" it felt, and I decided to purchase with my new bed. Over the next few months the pad quickly lost it's ability to keep me cool. Found out later that the pad isn't designed to keep you cool, but to stabilize your temp.. Be careful.."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceSeptember 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to talk about your In Balance Layer. I'm sorry to hear it doesn't feel as cool as it did previously! The cool feeling you mentioned is actually part of the layer's function; the Outlast material in the layer absorbs your body heat as you lie on it then releases that heat when your body temperature naturally dips during the night, which helps you keep a constant temperature and get better quality sleep. The lack of that cool feeling doesn’t necessarily mean the layer has stopped working, but you may want to give us a call if you start feeling uncomfortably warm during the night. You can reach us at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30-5 CT on Saturday if you need any assistance. Have a great day!
Review 5 for In Balance Layer
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Female
It worked at first...
Date:September 3, 2013
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"I thought I was in heaven when I first put the In Balance layer on my bed last summer. My husband even complained that it was too cold during the colder nights. Unfortunately, the magical cooling stopped working after the first wash. I washed it as directed on the label even taking care to hang dry it outside. I paid too much for something that stops working after it is washed."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceSeptember 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review on your In Balance Layer. I'm so sorry to hear it stopped working for you! Washing or drying the Layer on high heat could damage the temperature balancing material in the Layer and cause it to stop working, but this shouldn’t be an issue if you followed the washing instructions on the product. If you haven't already contacted us about this situation, I really encourage you to give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30-5 CT on Saturday so we can look into this situation and see what we can do to help you. I hope we hear from you soon!
Review 6 for In Balance Layer
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Female
In-balance layer
Date:July 15, 2013
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"I just received mine and I can already tell it's cool to lay on and will help with my sleep. I'm one of those who can wake up in a pool of sweat and my sheets are wet. I read one review where someone said it was chilly and actually too cold to sleep on and that's just perfect for me. I'd rather be too cold than too hot."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for In Balance Layer
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jeff M
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Age:36 - 45
Gender:Male
Poor product design to cut costs
Date:November 10, 2012
"I recently purchase a sleep number bed and this In Balance layer. When I went to put it on the bed, like another reviewer I noticed the cooling layer only was on 3/4 of the length. I called the store to ask if this was the design, or if it was a manufacturing error. They didn't know and passed me to sleep number who said it was a design feature for cost savings and since pillows were in that area it didn't matter. They offered to swap out the product with the in balance loft matress pad which had the material over the entire surface, for ~$65 more than I paid. i.e upsell to a produce whose "design" was different. My major complaint is that if this is part of the design, the pad should come with instructions on how to place it on the bed (missing material head = warm arms/shoulders, missing material feet = warm feet). Thank you to the nice people of sleep number for graciously letting me return my opened package for a full refund, contrary to their normal policy. My suggestion is Caveat Emptor, product sales packaging differs from actual product sold."
15 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for In Balance Layer
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hot in AZ
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:36 - 45
Gender:Female
WOW
Date:September 13, 2012
"I don't usually write reviews but...This In Balance Layer is AMAZING! I wish I had found it sooner! Living in the desert of AZ, you learn what it means to be hot all the time, even when you sleep and now I am sleeping in total comfort! I love my Sleep Number Bed and this makes it even better. THANK YOU SLEEP NUMBER!"
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for In Balance Layer
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sleeper
Location:Arizona
Age:36 - 45
Gender:Female
GREAT PURCHASE
Date:June 30, 2012
"WE LOVE THIS COVER !!! Does just what we bought if for, keeps our Body Temp. balanced for a great night sleep
Enough said ....
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for In Balance Layer
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
neelie
Location:New Hampshire
Age:56 and over
Gender:Female
not in balance layer
Date:February 7, 2012
"When we got our Sleepnumber bed a couple of weeks ago, I told the salesman I was worried about losing the cozy warmth of our heated waterbed which we were replacing. He convinced me to buy, at full price, the In Balance mattress pad. He explained it was a product used in space by astronauts to cool them when they were warm and heat them when they were cool. We put the pad on the bed, and for the two nights it was there I FROZE ! It was like sleeping on ice. I came to this site to read about the product and the reviews, only to find that the In Balance is designed only to pull excess heat away. This is certainly not what I need on New England winter nights. I rated it 3 stars, Average, based on other reviews. I won't know if I like this pad until summer when I try it on my bed again. Until then, I'll use a far less expensive heated mattress pad from a big box store. And, I'll rate our salesman 1 star, POOR, for his deceptive sales pitch."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy StephanieCustomer ServiceFebruary 15, 2012
Hi Neelie,



Thank you for posting your experience. I understand your concerns and we are happy to help. The In Balance mattress pad is to balance your temperature and also has a cumulative effect, so if you are using In Balance sheets, this could be why you found the bed to be a bit cooler than expected. We can also offer to exchange this within your first 30 days. Please feel
Review 11 for In Balance Layer
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GingerSnap
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Age:Under 35
Gender:Female
Comfortable but suprised when I took a good look..
Date:November 17, 2011
"I do like this layer, it does the job I got it for which is pulling excess heat away from my body. The sales rep originally sold it to us telling us that it would cool us but in truth it only feels like you are being cooled for the first few minutes you lay on it until the temp balances out. After that it feels normal but it keeps pulling away extra heat so you dont overheat. I still like it though. My disappointment stems from the fact that the special cooling feature only goes 3/4 of the way through it, looking at it on the bed, the top 1/4 near the head has none of the cooling material- as my husband points out, your pillows are there which is probably why but I am a stomach sleeper so thats where my arms lay under the pillow so it would make a difference to me. I just think that for the price it could go all the way throughout. My other point of annoyance is that the elastic bands that hold the layer on squeeze the mattress a little tightly- tight enough that you can see the effect even when the sheets are on. I am worried will cause the mattress to have dents (premature wear) over time."
22 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for In Balance Layer
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brynn1234
Location:Hilton Head Island, SC
Age:Under 35
Gender:Female
Love this!
Date:October 22, 2011
"We got this temperature balancing layer to go over our mattress pad. I get hot at night, and this (along with the cool fit pillow) keeps me nice and comfortable. It's really amazing how cool if feels when you first lay down. I'd highly recommend it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for In Balance Layer
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Denver, Colorado
Gender:Female
Great addition!
Date:September 16, 2011
"I bought my Sleep Number bed 10 years ago and this item is a wonderful addition! My body has problems regulating its temperature. This pad has really made a big difference in my comfort - less temperature swings, less waking up!
Liked it so well I added a pillow cover and light blanket. Best improvement in my sleep since I bought my bed!
I've had no problems with corners folding or the pad shifting.
Now that nights are colder, I've added a light quilt to my bed. Before this would increase the variance from hot to cold. But with the balancing blanket under the quilt I'm much more comfortable. This system really helps regulate my temperature swings and I sleep so much better!
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for In Balance Layer
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mags
Location:phila. pa
Age:36 - 45
Gender:Female
fabulous
Date:October 3, 2010
"as the previous reviewer noted, tis is a great purchase. i bought the 9 bed last year, before temperature control was built in. due to a health issue, i tend to be very temp sensitive and overheat easily. this was an essential purpose for a bed with a foam pillowtop. it also is very well made, washes beautifully, is thick enough to provide great protection, and stays in place pretty well. i only took one star for comfort because it's not quite as smooth and moldable as the pillowtop without it. however, as mattress pads go, this is great, and again, the temp control is really important. highly recommend."
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for In Balance Layer
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Govikings
Location:MN
Outlast is Awsome!!!!
Date:October 16, 2009
"This is one of the best things I have ever purchased. I am a big guy and used to get really warm at night. The outlast keeps your body cool and comfortable all night long. No more sweating for me. The only thing I would recommend is if you have a thick mattress, get the mattress pad instead of the topper, because the corners flap up and it is tough to get the bands around the mattress."
121 of 122 people found this review helpful.