Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sleep Number.

Average Customer Rating:
2.958 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
6
1 Star
7
10 of 24(42%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for
Review 1 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Annie
Location:Ohio
Gender:Female
Best Bed Ever!!!
Date:February 15, 2014
"I have had my Sleep Number bed for over 4 years now and still love it as much as ever. It has helped my back pain and improved my sleep more than I thought possible. I bought it with the modular base, and have not encountered a single problem. The base is sturdy, supports a large amount of weight without sagging or making any noise at all. I have the modular base in my original metal bed frame and attached to my wooden headboard. Everything fits perfectly and works great. The modular base cover stays in place perfectly and the mattress never moves or has to be adjusted. When my Sleep Number bed mattress was lifted off the base so I could inspect the base, the modular base was in perfect like new condition, and I feel sure it will last many more years. I am extremely happy with both the mattress and the modular base. I would recommend to anyone!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
spinjoy
Location:NYC
Gender:Female
Excellent Foundation! Solid as a rock. Reliable!
Date:February 4, 2014
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"This is easy to assemble and is as solid as a rock. And the foundation cover fits perfectly. I don't understand any of the reviews here that claim otherwise and can only imagine that these customers didn't assemble properly. It is sturdy and does't squeak like some metal foundations do when you roll around on the mattress. It was a breeze to assemble and has never presented any problems ever in over 4 yrs. I highly rec this product!"
Review 3 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bigredtrk4x4
Location:St. Charles, MO, USA
Gender:Male
Bad!!!
Date:January 15, 2014
"The pieces won't stay together and the covering won't stay on! I love the mattress but the base is terrible!"
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceJanuary 19, 2014
Hi bigredtrk4x4, thanks for sharing your experience with us. We're so sorry to hear you're having trouble with your modular base! If you haven't yet, we would definitely recommend getting in touch with our Customer Service Team. They will be able to help get this resolved for you very quickly. I hope you'll contact us at 1-800-472-7185 so we can locate your file and start looking into some solutions for you. We're available to help you anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday. We hope to hear from you soon!
Review 4 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mama4ever53
Location:Erie, PA, USA
Gender:Female
Modular Base Poor Quality
Date:January 12, 2014
"We purchased the Queen p5(I believe) from QVC about 3 years ago and at the same time also the modular frame and legs. The bed is the best we have ever owned, and we have owned all of the mattresses available over the last 40 years. I am, however, sorely disappointed in the money we spent on the frame. We have had to prop up the center with coffee cans (which happen to be the right height), as the side -to -side support rail is bowing, and there is no way that we can see to fix this. This has been like this for almost 2 years, and now the other rails are doing the same thing. We are a couple in our early sixty's and the only ones ever on the bed. The supports, being molded plastic, do not seem strong enough for the intended job of supporting the mattress correctly, which as you say is very important. I am at my wits end and ready to have my husband build a platform base of wood, similar to a waterbed base so we don't ruin the mattress. I would never recommend this base to anyone. Save your money and build a solid wooden base for good support."
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceJanuary 23, 2014
Thanks for getting in touch with us, Mama4ever. I'm so sorry you're having trouble with your Modular Base! I know how frustrating this situation must be for you and your husband and I'd like to get you in touch with our Customer Service team so we can help you with this situation as quickly as possible. Please give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday when you have a few minutes to talk so we can start working on a solution for you.

We hope to hear from you soon!
Review 5 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
K. Thomas
Location:MD
Gender:Female
Date:November 29, 2013
"My husband and I noticed that our bed seemed to be sagging in the middle. Today I looked under the bed and saw that the cross brackets were sagging and broken in the middle. I was really upset at the thought of having to replace the base when the bed was expensive in the first place (but we love love love our Sleep Number bed). I used the customer service chat feature and explained the problem. They were happy to replace the base at no charge and it is being shipped. It was a stress-free interaction. Thanks, Select Comfort!"
Review 6 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lexy123
Location:Hudson Valley, NY
Gender:Female
Awesome Bed & Foundation
Date:November 12, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"I have owned my twin size P5 for almost 10 years and would never go back to a conventional mattress. I love the fact that on any given night, I have the ability to adjust the firmness or softness of my mattress so that I can be comfortable because I have multi-level disc herniations. The ability to adjust my mattress insures that I will get a restful sleep. Another plus is how easy the mattress is to dismantle including the foundation. When I moved, the movers were able to put my mattress and foundation into 2 wardrobe boxes; hence it was kept clean and neat and easy to move. The Sleep Number people are awesome too, their customer service department aims to please and I take comfort in that as well. In closing, I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE my mattress system!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wbwjr
Location:North Beach, MD, USA
Gender:Male
Finally a great night's sleep!
Date:June 29, 2013
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"We've had a Select Comfort Bed for over 12 years. We upgraded the mattress several years ago but decided to keep the same base which consisted of lightweight beams and no top. When we moved a couple of years ago, we disassembled the base. Ever since that time the foundation was always creaking and every time my wife woke up or rolled over, the noise would wake me up. I was getting fed up and decided to call Select Comfort. I was skeptical of the new base due to some negative reviews but thought I would give it a try. The new modular base is very sturdy and works great! I'm getting a good nights rest now and never even hear my wife move around on the bed! Assembly was easy ( using a rubber mallet makes it much easier ). Highly recommend!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LV63
Location:Monroe, NY
Gender:Female
Great warrantee service!
Date:March 4, 2013
Pros: Blankets/Comforters, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"A few other owners have complained about the plastic base collapsing, and the company reply said call customer service, it may be covered under warrantee. Well, I did just that and although my bed is now over 10 years old, a new base was sent out with no cost to me, not even shipping. I am truly impressed with the curtesy shown and the immediate relief I received. It is not too often these days to find companies which stand behind their products as Sleep Number did for me today. I hope the other customers with problems called the service department as I did."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Henry
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Age:36 - 45
Gender:Male
Cheap plastic base
Date:December 1, 2012
"I have this bed since August of 2011. I recently removed the base so i could have the carpet under it cleaned and then I noticed that the base is smashed, sagged, bent. Come on! Even on my wife side and she weights 110 lbs! This is completely unacceptable for a total price bed of $2700. I expect a replacement at the minimum. I am very desappointed."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy jim fcsDecember 3, 2012
Hello Henry, and thank you for posting. The issue you're experiencing is one that very rarely occurs. The good news is that it can be addressed under the terms of the 20 year limited warranty. Customer Service will be glad to assist you at 1-800-451-6340. Customer Service is open the following hours: Monday – Friday: 8:00 AM to 6:00 PM CST
Saturday: 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM CST

Review 10 for
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
an
Location:Iron Mountain, MI
Age:Under 35
Gender:Female
Modular Frame Is Junk
Date:October 26, 2012
"We purchased our bed a couple years ago! We have already had to get a replacement controler! We were also noticing that the bed sagged in the middle from the begining! Well when my 3 year old daughter was climbing under the bed the plastic gave way and the bed fell on her! When my boyfriend pulled the bed apart to fix it and noticed all the supports were bent in the middle and that is why the bed sagged in the middle! After paying over $2000 for our bed we expected a lot more!"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy jim fcsOctober 30, 2012
Hello and thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond. I can understand how the issues you’ve experienced would be frustrating and we look forward to being able to assist you. Issues with the base are rare and can be addressed under the terms of your warranty. We hope you’ll give us a call at your earliest convenience so we can get these issues resolved for you as quickly as possible. Customer Service can be reached at 1-800-451-6340
Review 11 for
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:hampton, va
Age:Under 35
Gender:Female
Slipping Bed
Date:October 11, 2012
"I love my sleep number mattress, but the plastic box spring alternative doesn't keep the top mattress from slipping. My husband & I have to pull our top mattress back up to keep it from leaving a huge space between the mattress and wall."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy Chris VCustomer ServiceOctober 14, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your base! My name is Chris, and I work with Sleep Number's online Customer Care team. The sliding situation you're describing is generally resolved by the foundation coverlet that goes over the base. The gray material in the center of the coverlet grips the bottom of the mattress cover, which is often enough to prevent the mattress from shifting on the base. If you haven't already done so, it's a great idea to check your coverlet to ensure it isn't inside out, as this could be the cause of the shifting. If your coverlet is installed correctly and your mattress is still sliding, I recommend contacting our Customer Service team by phone at 1-888-411-2270 from 8-6 CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30-5 CT on Saturday or through Live Chat from 7AM to 10PM CT any day of the week by using the link below so one of our agents can go through other options for taking care of this situation. We hope to hear from you soon!

http://bit.ly/SNChat

Sleep well,
Review 12 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tony
Location:North Carolina
Age:36 - 45
Gender:Male
Great Matress, cheap base, poor experience
Date:June 3, 2012
"I just purchased the p6 about a month ago and I love the mattress, however the base is a major disappointment. When my bed was delivered and I saw the base and I expressed concerns about the base being plastic and I was advised the base was durable. The base is already sagging in the middle and won't stay connected to one of the rails. Shame on me for not doing more research and indentifying the base was plastic prior to purchasing the bed; however it's unfortunate that such a great product is diminished by the quality (or lack thereof) of the base. I was willing to pay a premium price because I thought I was purchasing a premium product. The mattress seems to be a premium product but the base is far from it. Sleep number absolutely has to come up w/ a better option for a base."
100 of 101 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Southern Lady
Location:montgomery, al
Age:56 and over
Gender:Female
Best Bed Ever
Date:May 16, 2012
"My husband and I have owned a split king for the past 8 years. It resolved our different problems with soft-hard bed. Never had a minute's problem and love the comfort of the bed and especially the ability to lift the head of the bed. Great to have for anyone who has back or leg problems. Would purchase another one. Be sure to get the mattress pad that provides a cool feeling. A bed of comfort, quality & value"
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
luke
Location:Manitowoc, WI
Age:Under 35
Gender:Male
The base isn't that great
Date:March 22, 2012
"I want to start by saying that I love the bed...but the foundation is poorly built plastic. I thought that I was just having a hard time frinding the right number because often my back would hurt in the morning. Last night i was pulling something out from under the bed when I noticed that the crossbeams were not in place and the platfrom had sagged significantly! When I tried to fix it, the plastic started to fall apart in my hands. Now I've got to buy a frame and box spring from somewhere else because I have a $300 broken chunk of plastic under my bed and I'm not paying for another one."
81 of 84 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JES
Location:Fresno, OH
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Male
Date:March 14, 2012
"My wife and I have used this bed for 7yrs, every couple months I have to add air, far from a problem. CA king modular frame has never been a problem, and is very easy to move. I am 220# +. We ordered our frame seperate as we new there were no legs. For us it is very sturdy, maybe there is a weight limit. My only problem is I should have ordered a thicker comfort pad. I also would have preffered adjustable, when I bought the bed I lived in a small town and could not get the adjustable set up, 2hrs. from nearest store."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
buppiebap
Location:Maryland
Age:Under 35
Gender:Female
sleepless in Md
Date:February 27, 2012
"The first bed had a leak. Customer service helped. Now the plastic frame is bent and sleeping is uncomfortable. This was a waste of money. I should have stayed with a traditional mattress."
20 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy Chris VCustomer ServiceMarch 1, 2012
Hi, my name is Chris with Sleep Number's online Customer Service team. We really appreciate you posting your thoughts on our modular base. I wanted to let you know that the bowing you described is one of the items covered under your 20 year limited warranty terms. I highly suggest contacting our Customer Service team at 1-800-472-7185 so we can assist you with this situation. We hope to hear from you soon!
Review 17 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
carmtin
Location:tn
Age:36 - 45
Gender:Female
Don't waste your money
Date:February 10, 2012
"I have had my sleep number bed for less than 2 years and the frame has already broke. The company wants $300.00 for a new queen sized frame. One of the side rails started to fold up into itself and one of the support cross beams totally split in half.
I wish I would have kept my old bed and then I wouldn't be burdened with high priced plastic frames.
"
43 of 45 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Neveal
Location:Chesapeake, Va
Age:Under 35
Gender:Male
Too Much Plastic
Date:October 1, 2011
"I've had my sleep number bed almost 2 years now. However, my frame started to sag in the middle about 3 months ago. The beds are great once you find your number but I wish the frames were well built or made from another material. Too pricey for plastic."
60 of 61 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy StephanieCustomer ServiceNovember 1, 2011
Hi Neveal,



I understand the concerns you have regarding your foundation and would be glad to get this taken care of for you. If you haven't already, please give us a call at 1-800-451-6340. We look forward to working with you.
Review 19 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JS
Location:MD
Age:56 and over
Gender:Male
Great Bed
Date:September 14, 2011
"I have owned a king size for several years. No problems, no leakage, never had a problem with the mattress sliding on the base. The modular base is very strong and rigid, much better design than a box spring. Adjustability is great for couples and also sometimes you just feel like a softer or firmer mattress."
11 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
dan
Age:56 and over
Gender:Male
Date:July 10, 2011
"I agree with other posts. I did not know I was not getting the legs, my queen bed sits way to low to the floor, just like an air mattress. The frame is plastic and makes me think it is way over priced."
32 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy StephanieCustomer ServiceSeptember 12, 2011
Hi Dan,

Thanks for posting. I'm sorry if there was confusion as to what the set includes. The set does not include foundation legs, as many customers choose to use their own frame with their Sleep Number bed, or have a platform they will be using. The base is made out of high-density polymer and is very strong. We choose this material as it is very solid and provides a flat surface for the Sleep Number bed. I hope this helps. If you have any questions, Customer Service can be reached at 1-800-451-2270.
1 2 next>>