Product Reviews

Pillowology Inner Core

Create Your Perfect Pillow With Pillowology This is the second step in the easy 1-2-3 Process. The ultimate in personalized comfort, as you create a pillow that's personalized to your sleeping needs. Whether you suffer from allergies or neck pain, or just want a better night's sleep, you can now create your perfect pillow. Because the most comfortable sleep is the one you control yourself.
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
5 of 8(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pillowology Inner Core
Review 1 for Pillowology Inner Core
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MsDinoGal
Location:Saratoga Springs, UT
Gender:Female
Finally Wore Them Out After 5 Years
Date:April 1, 2014
Pros: Pillows
"We have *loved* our Sleep Number pillows. I'm here reviewing this product because it's finally time to replace them after nightly use and regular washing (at least 6 times per year). After 5 years, they've finally worn out. We got the memory foam inserts and the down alternative shell. I actually think that the inserts still have some life in them. Even if we replace both components, it will have been money very well spent. And would I recommend them? Yes! I've recommended them multiple times since purchasing. My family gave them to each other as gifts one Christmas. :)"
Review 2 for Pillowology Inner Core
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
rpjones711
Location:North Providence, RI
Gender:Male
Down Alternative Core Needs Improvement
Date:January 31, 2014
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"The "Pillowology" concept is a great one, with a quality outer "shell" that lets you select and replace the inner cores. While the shell/case components are of a very high quality, the down alternative core that I selected did not hold up. Within just a couple months, the core had broken down to virtually nothing (as another reviewer correctly stated, it could be rolled into a ball). I am going to try one of the other cores and see if I get better results. The down alternative just didn't work for me."
Response from Sleep NumberBy Chris VCustomer ServiceFebruary 5, 2014
Hi Rpjones, thanks for reviewing your Pillowology pillow. I’m really glad you’re enjoying it and I'm sorry you're having trouble with your Down Alternative Inner Core! Have you had a chance to talk with our Customer Service team about this situation yet? If not, I hope you'll give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday so we can locate your file and see what we can do to help you. We hope to hear from you soon!
Review 3 for Pillowology Inner Core
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Starflower
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Female
Starflower
Date:December 3, 2012
"I have paid over $100 for pillows of all kinds in the past. I start out on my back but am a side sleeper. I like a soft pillow but with neck support. I've always had pillow issues. Either they are too high, flatten out; there's always something and I awaken exhausted each and every night from trying to get my head comfortable. I recently bought a down outer with the silver inner core. I love it. I think I found the perfect pillow as last night I didn't have to rearrange my pillow once. It is so comfortable. Thank you Sleep Number."
Review 4 for Pillowology Inner Core
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Chrissy
Location:North Carolina
Age:Under 35
Gender:Female
the pillow does go flat
Date:March 8, 2012
"i like a very firm pillow. After a long and hard decision to purchase a sleep number bed, my husband and I tried out some pillows. I like this inner pillow at first, but couple months later, my head is flat and it feels like i go down to the bed when laying on it. i am so disappointed because of the money that we spent and plus that we love our bed. Confused if i should try another one!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pillowology Inner Core
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Uncomfortable again
Location:Columbus, Ohio
Age:Under 35
Gender:Female
Create your own headache
Date:December 28, 2011
"We bought the sleep number bed and pillows in November. Since then I have been fighting with pillows. I started with the contour memory foam it was ok, but still not comfortable, switched to standard memory foam even worse didn't sleep at all. Went back in had a pillow consult we settled with the create your own down fill and the extra firm foam insert. The first night amazing I finally slept second night the same, by the 3rd night I started getting up to rotate my pillow by 5 days my super firm pillow could be crumpled into a ball because the firmness went away. Called them said it was a defect sent me a new core, tried it out first night was ok, but by the second night it was back to a crumpled ball. Decided to take both "firm" inserts and put them inside the pillow. Sleep one amazing, sleep two amazing, I thought I finally got it right, by the 3rd night I was up switching my pillow around, and fluffing it in the middle of the night. The 4th night I wasn't sleeping again, and have been attempting to sleep on the couch.
The customer service has been amazing, and wonderful they do want to make you sleep better, but I am not sure what is up with this product that it just can't stay firm. I don't know why I am having these problems over and over. My husband picked one pillow and has slept great since we bought it. I don't have an abnormally large head so I am not sure why the pillows I choose break down so fast.
The bed has been great when I have been able to sleep in it. I just wish the firm pillow would stay firm and not break down in a week, I could understand breaking down 6 months, a year and so on but not a week.
I wonder if anyone else has this issue, but doesn't say anything. I really wish that it could just stay perfect the way it was the first night."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy StephanieCustomer ServiceJanuary 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share this. We understand your concerns and would like to look into this. Please email us at customerservice.com and reference this post. We look forward to hearing from you.
Review 6 for Pillowology Inner Core
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sweet Dreams
Location:Greenville, SC
Gender:Female
Worth Every Penny
Date:January 28, 2011
"Okay, 'pillowology' sounds pretty cheesy, but there is a science to this. This pillow is amazing!
I chose the down alternative 'outer shell,' with the memory foam contour 'inner core.'
As a physical therapist, I have been searching for the perfect pillow for years. I finally found it!
I've been a notoriously bad sleeper for all of my adult life. Since I got this pillow two weeks ago, I've slept through the night, every night. Amazing!
If you have any neck and/or shoulder pain, and you are a side-sleeper, you will LOVE this combination!
I have already recommended it to five of my patients, and at least as many family members/friends.
I truly recommend you try it out in the store, but if you're an average-sized, side-sleeper, this combo will work well for you too.
Only negative...you have to 'fluff' it every night. (This only takes about three seconds!)
"
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pillowology Inner Core
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ChefB
Location:Cleveland, OH
One of the better pillows I've had
Date:April 22, 2010
"After first purchasing a Sleep Number bed over a month ago and falling in love with it I decided that my 10 year old pillows had to go... they simply weren't providing much support anymore.
I decided to give Select Comfort pillows and try and stumbled across these and liked the idea of being able to customize my pillows. I have nasal problems and if I don't have a firm supporting pillow my nose fills up while I sleep and I end up breathing through my mouth.
Using their Pillowolgy selector too I went through each option and customized pillow's that I thought would be right for me. At $53 a pillow I was a little skeptical but I though hey, lets give them a try. Im glad I did. I ended up falling in love with them again.
What I especially like is that you can change out components to make it softer or harder depending on how I feel that day. I actually ended up using the two feather innerpillows in the down alternative outershell to make one pillow. So now I have to save up and buy 2 more of these to complete my other pillow.
If your on the borderline and want to try it I would suggest you do."
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pillowology Inner Core
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kainbow
Location:Chicago,IL
love this pillow
Date:September 26, 2008
"Omy God i love this pillow. I have been looking for a good pillow for a long time and now i can just make it.
thank you Sleep Number.
"
22 of 42 people found this review helpful.