Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sleep Number.

Average Customer Rating:
3.958 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
17 of 24(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for
Review 1 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Romote replacement is expensive!
Date:February 8, 2014
"Bought bed in 2009. Just had to pay over $115.00 to get a new remote control. Because it has a memory which we never used, the basic remote won't work on our bed. The basic remote costs $49.00."
Review 2 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ginny
Location:New Zealand
Gender:Female
Sleep number chat line
Date:January 30, 2014
"Excellent service from their chat line! I am overseas and chatted to consultant WENDI who was able to sort out my dilemma regarding my remote quickly and efficiently. Highly recommend this service if unable to get joy through other methods."
Review 3 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dancingnomore
Location:Reno, NV, USA
Gender:Female
Worst Purchase Ever
Date:October 30, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Sheets
"Nine years ago I bought two top of the line Select Comfort Bed, , each one cost me about 3,500 , first year was great, second year had to replace pump, the past couple of years the remote is not working, pump was about 259.00. Lost air or it gains air all by itself, I wake up in the middle of the night because my neck or back is hurting, I have to keep putting air in or letting air out, worst purchase ever."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceOctober 30, 2013
Thanks for sharing this with us, Dancing. I'm so sorry you haven't had a better experience with your bed! I understand how frustrating this must be for you, and I really hope you'll give us a call so we can learn what's causing the situations you mentioned and look into a solution for you. I'm confident that if we have a chance to work with you, we’ll be able to find a way to get you sleeping well again, just like you were when you first started using your bed. Please give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT when you’re near your bed and you have a few minutes to talk so we can start helping you. We’ll look forward to your call!
Review 4 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:MIssouri
Gender:Female
Great Service
Date:June 3, 2013
"Bought our bed in 2009. Remote just quit working. First the LED quit displaying the complete number so I replaced the battery. Then it didn't display anything. I called customer service and they are sending out a new remote. Wonderful company...wonderful bed!! Great investment for a great night's sleep!"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BestMN
Location:MN
Gender:Female
Remote busted- GREAT customer service
Date:April 3, 2013
Pros: Sheets, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"My remote failed, put off calling for a new one. When I finally did I was pleased with the quick, FRIENDLY, helpful representative. GREAT customoer service! Sending a new one ASAP! GREAT company!!!!! Have told everybody I know about this bed already, and now will pass on the great service as well!!!"
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tim
Location:California, USA
Remote LED Display Failure
Date:February 19, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"This is without a doubt the most comfortable bed I have ever owned. We received 2 wireless remotes with the unit. One remote LED readout failed within 2 years and the 2nd remote failed shortly after that. They were not dropped or abused in any way. I was referred to customer service by a store employee so that they could match up the remotes to the pump that came with the bed. I called, told the rep about the problem with the LED's, and she promptly offered replacements for BOTH remotes FREE OF CHARGE! No hesitation at all. She pulled up my order information and said the remotes would be shipped to my home withing 5-7 days at no charge. The call lasted about 3 minutes. I am a very satisfied with the painless transaction and am a very satisfied customer."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Male
The hand unit failed
Date:January 22, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"This is the second time the hand unit has failed. It was replaced in 2009 and has failed again. Charging for this does not seem right it's like its a design or manufacturing problem.."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Diana
Location:Callicoon, NY
Age:56 and over
Gender:Female
Remote control
Date:December 2, 2012
"Letters on the remote led were not displaying. Mattress and control is now 4 years old. Remote has not been dropped. GREAT COMPANY...they are replacing the remote as it is covered under warrentee."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Victogold
Mastering your resources
Date:October 4, 2012
"Don't be too hasty when trying to order parts of any kind. A simple search for "Sleep number remote" took me to the parts page. A live chat pop up window appeared. I shared my problem (digital display only showing partial digits - new batteries didn't help). They asked me a few simple questions and sent me a new remote. Total time invested = less than 5 minutes. I'm very pleased."
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pat
Location:Nashua, NH
Age:56 and over
Gender:Female
Remote
Date:September 22, 2012
"Usually I would rate the customer service as excellent, but now that I've read the other reviews, I'm not sure. Our wired remote is no longer working and it seems other folks had theirs replaced free. We were charged $120.00 for a replacement. Wondering how they got theirs free."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy Justine TCustomer ServiceOctober 25, 2012
Hi Pat - Thank you for your post, my name is Justine and I work for Sleep Number. We are very sorry if there was any confusion regarding the replacement you received. Unfortunately, since your remotes are wired into your firmness control system we are unable to replace the remotes only; that is why we replaced your entire firmness control system for you under the terms of your warranty.
Review 11 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laatidaa
Location:Alaska
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Male
Great support on remotes even if quality mediocre
Date:September 11, 2012
"We've had several instances of problems with remotes - LCD display fails (no they were not dropped or otherwise abused). Normally I'd be tempted to scrap the whole thing but customer support keeps replacing them (along with pumps) for no charge - at this almost 10 years after the original purchase of the bed! You don't see companies stand behind their products like that any more. Thank you SleepNumber!"
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ddyrbt
Location:Central Texas
Age:56 and over
Gender:Male
Sleep Number Customer Service
Date:June 22, 2012
"I have read these reviews, and am sure they are valid concerns. However, I have had nothing but a pleasant experience with Sleep Number Customer Service. We have had our bed for over 15 years, and had to replace the pump a few years ago - but promptly and at NO CHARGE, and no red tape! Just a few days ago our remotes and pump started malfunctioning. And, as before, a Sleep Number representative promptly responded and offered a replacement at no cost.. This type of customer service, albeit expected, is extremely rare these days. Given the opportunity, they will work with you to resolve any issue. When the sad day comes that we must replace our bed, rest assured, I will look no further than Sleep Number!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuzB
Location:Rockingham, NC
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Female
13 years of ownership
Date:June 5, 2012
"I purchased by king size sleep by number bed in 1999. It has worked flawlessly the whole time. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. I enjoy not having to flip the mattress or worry about body impressions. I am placing my order today (June of 2012) for the new wireless pump and remote because our old wired remote is starting to give us trouble (pump still works perfectly). Being a previous customer, we were given a wonderful discount pricing on the new unit. I can't remember when I have had a product that was so reliable, and then such great customer service. (13 years after the purchase). Great company, product, and customer service!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CardFan
Remote
Date:May 17, 2012
"The display went out on my remote after owning the bed around 10 years. Not unexpected after that long. I called and they are sending me a new one at no charge. Love the bed and the customer service has been great."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Rob
Location:Massachusetts
Age:56 and over
Gender:Male
Bed is WONDERFUL. controller is not
Date:May 10, 2012
"We have the king size 2-bladder. My wife is nested in at 10 and I prefer much firmer. Great bed and we love it. However, I just ordered my 3rd controller. 1st one just died. 2nd one's digital display lcds burned out. Called in a reorder and sales rep was not surprised at all. Getting 3ed controller for free so that was a nice surprise."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jim
Location:New York
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Male
great bed, the poorest control
Date:March 31, 2012
"The wireless control are garbage. You spend money(alot) and they make a cheap control that cost 2 bucks and make us pay 49. Stupid on there part. Great bed, cheapest control!"
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tonya
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Female
Failed Remote and Pump
Date:March 19, 2012
"Though I love my bed, I'm disappointed that my husband's remote hasn't worked in over a year, and mine has started to give me issues. Last night I woke up in the middle of the night almost laying on the plastic box. There was almost no air in my mattress at all. When I pump it back up, the air won't stay. I'm disappointed that I'll have to buy another pump."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Age:56 and over
Gender:Male
Great bed but, faulty remote
Date:February 19, 2012
"Great bed! But, remote failed after several years of use and had to replace unit and pump system. Suggest that SN extend a 10 year or 4,000 nights sleep (whichever comes first) warranty on all electronic components, like automakers."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shasta
Location:California
Age:36 - 45
Gender:Female
Remote
Date:December 3, 2011
"I agree with the many other customers. After paying over $4500 for a bed, you'd expect it to last. However, my remote has gone bad, too. The adjustable base broke within 1-2 years, and bladder went bad. Too bad, because bed is comfy."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy StephanieCustomer ServiceDecember 19, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience. I understand your concerns regarding this situation. I can assure you that defects are rare and we are happy to help. Please give us a call at 1-888-411-2270 or email us at customerservice@selectcomfort.com for assistance.
Review Details:
Review 20 for
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cathy
Location:Bluffton, SC
Age:56 and over
Gender:Female
Controls
Date:October 13, 2011
"Even though we love our bed, the controls have not worked properly after having the bed for less than 2 years. We started looking into new controls after 6 years and found that we also need to replace the pump as well since our controls are wired and they currently only sell wireless controls. We are not happy about that and are looking at alternatives. We are reluctant to recommend this product to others due to the expense of updating controls every couple of years. Since everyone seems to complain about the controls, Select Comfort should replace the defective ones at no cost."
18 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy StephanieCustomer ServiceNovember 1, 2011
Thanks for posting. I certainly understand your concerns regarding your pump. This is not a common issue by any means, and defects affect a very small amount of customers. However, the warranty is in place to cover any manufacturing defects that may arise. As we no longer manufacture the wired pump units, the replacement would be sent with a wireless remote. The wired remote(s) are hardwired into the pump, therefore, the entire pump would have to be replaced. Over the years, technology has improved and I do not forsee any additional issues with the replacement pump unit. For assistance, please contact Customer Service at 1-800-451-6340.
1 2 next>>