Product Reviews

Total Mattress Protection Pads

When you purchase this Total Protection Mattress Pad in conjunction with a new SLEEP NUMBER® bed, you receive a 10-Year Limited Warranty that covers your mattress from stains. The ultimate in mattress protection is waterproof, stain resistant and hypoallergenic. Repels and releases stains for an effective first line of defense and easier cleaning. Designed to keep you dry, cool and comfortable. 300-thread-count cotton cover with Nanotex® technology for long-lasting protection. Quilted antimicrobial polyester fiberfill. Fully elasticized spandex skirt fits mattresses up to 20 inches. Stain-proof to keep your mattress and mattress pad clean and hygienic. Withstands repeated washings and tumble-drying for lasting protection. Logic™ Label system takes the guesswork out of where to start making your bed. The ultimate protection from spills, stains, bacteria and allergens…relax with 10 years of worry-free nights!*
Average Customer Rating:
2.586 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
7
1 Star
10
12 of 29(41%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Total Mattress Protection Pads
Review 1 for Total Mattress Protection Pads
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Female
Do not like at all
Date:March 21, 2014
"Makes too much noise and is very uncomfortable. Will return it."
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceMarch 22, 2014
Hi Anonymous, thanks for leaving your review of your Total Protection Mattress Pad! We know that the first item you choose won't always be the best fit for you, so we offer a 30 day exchange policy on all of our non-clearance bedding items. If you're still within your exchange period and you haven't already contacted us to talk over your options, I hope you'll get in touch with us so we can help you find a product that will better meet your needs.

You can reach us by clicking on the "Chat Now" button at the top of the page or on the link below. We're here to help you from 7 AM to 11 PM CT every day.

http://bit.ly/SNChat
Review 2 for Total Mattress Protection Pads
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Angela
Location:San Francisco, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Too hot
Date:March 13, 2014
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"I'm one of those people that are always cold, but I would wake up dripping sweat with this mattress pad. Wish I had realized it was the pad and not my new bed before the 30-day exchange period was over. Sleep much better now that this mattress pad is gone. It was pretty stain resistant though."
Review 3 for Total Mattress Protection Pads
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dee
Location:Greensboro
Gender:Female
Not worth the price.
Date:February 18, 2014
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"This mattress pad is like sleeping on a tarp or a sheet of plastic.So disappointed in this pad.I haven't washed it because I am afraid that the plastic inside will melt.Going to try and return."
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceFebruary 18, 2014
Hi Dee, thanks for leaving your review of our Total Protection Mattress Pad. We're really sorry to hear about the trouble you're having with it feeling like it's sleeping on a sheet of plastic! We know it can be tough to choose the right bedding item for you on the first try, which is why we offer a 30 day exchange on all of our bedding items. We would recommend calling in and speaking with our Customer Service Team who will be more than happy to set up an exchange for you to a different bedding item inside of 30 days of purchase. Customer Service can be reached at 1-888-411-2270 from 8AM-8PM CST, M-F and 8:30AM-5PM on Saturday.

We hope to talk to you soon!
Review 4 for Total Mattress Protection Pads
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Lining is garbage!
Date:January 20, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"We purchased this for our bed to protect our warranty and had never had worried about it until last night. A little one has an accident on our bed and we removed the cover only to learn that the lining which makes it waterproof has disintegrated and there are plastic pieces all over the bed and a wet spot in the middle.
We have plenty of experience with waterproof mattress covers over the last 12 years and this is the worst of the bunch."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceJanuary 21, 2014
Hi anonymous, we appreciate you taking the time to review your Total Protection Mattress Pad, and we're sorry to hear you're having trouble with it! We'd recommend speaking with our Customer Service Team about this at your earliest convenience. They will be able to look into options for replacing both the Total Protection Mattress Pad and the cover of your bed for you. Customer Service can be reached at 1-888-411-2270 from 8AM-8PM CST, M-F and 8:30AM-5PM on Saturday. We hope to hear from you soon!
Review 5 for Total Mattress Protection Pads
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sue
Location:Missouri
Gender:Female
Bunches up
Date:December 9, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Sheets
"I spent the extra money for this mattress pad to receive the warranty. It bunches up and won't lie flat on the bed. After spending so much for a bed, I would like to also have a mattress pad that matches the quality of the bed."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceDecember 11, 2013
I'm so sorry to hear that, Sue! The elastic on the Total Protection Mattress Pad normally keeps it lying flat on your bed. Have you tried placing the mattress pad right on top of your mattress underneath your other bedding items? If you have and you're still having trouble, I highly recommend giving us a call at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday so we can look into this for you.

We hope to hear from you soon!
Review 6 for Total Mattress Protection Pads
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MNStacey
Location:Minneapolis, MN, USA
Gender:Female
I don't understand why it's sold under 'waterproof
Date:October 7, 2013
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"I just called in to Sleep Number, to let them know my dog had an accident on our sleep number bed, and that our 'waterproof' mattress cover did not 'totally protect' our mattress. The wetness had gone right through. When I mentioned that we had bought the pad because of its waterproof property and that it was, in fact, not waterproof, the customer service rep stated that it beads and rolls off for small spills, not for big amounts of liquid. To me, that does not define waterproof, and the product should not be sold as such. He assured me that is why they have the 10 year guarantee. We are getting another cover for the mattress, for which I am thankful for, but what happens the next time? I would rather just wash the mattress pad, and be done with it, instead of replacing part of the mattress."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomerServiceOctober 10, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience with us, Stacey. I’m so sorry to hear your mattress cover was stained! We agree that a waterproof mattress pad should be able to handle any amount of liquid, and I apologize for the confusion when you contacted us about this situation. Our Total Protection Mattress Pad has been tested to withstand large amounts of liquid just as well as small spills and it normally does a great job of protecting our beds against accidents like the one you experienced. It's possible your current pad could be defective if the spill soaked through to the mattress cover, and we hope you'll give us another call or click the link below anytime from 7 AM to 11 PM CT so we can look into a replacement for you. Once we get you a replacement mattress pad, we’re confident you won’t have to worry about this again.

http://bit.ly/SNChat

We hope to hear from you soon!
Review 7 for Total Mattress Protection Pads
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
randy
Location:ohio
Gender:Male
Do not waste your money
Date:August 31, 2013
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"This product does not protect your bed or prevent stains."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceSeptember 2, 2013
Hi Randy, thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm so sorry to hear your Total Protection Mattress Pad didn't protect your bed! Have you had a chance to contact our Customer Service team about this situation? If not, I hope you'll give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30-5 CT on Saturday so we can see what we can do to assist you. We hope to hear from you soon!
Review 8 for Total Mattress Protection Pads
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bustedup
Location:Houston, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Good to go!
Date:June 13, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"I am a quadriplegic and have to be careful with pressure creating issues. I had a waterbed for eighteen years and switched to my Sleep Number bed about eight years ago. I have NO issues with pressure and the stain resistant cover purchased at the same time has saved the bed several times as accidents have happened. "Accidents" are unfortunately a fact of life for me and the cover has been a Godsend."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Total Mattress Protection Pads
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jayne65
Location:San Antonio, TX, USA
Gender:Female
Super comfy but makes your body too warm
Date:May 14, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"We have only had our sleep number P5 bed for a month and we purchased this Total protection pad to protect it, it is really comfy, however in the middle of the night, we wake up very warm. We were told to remove this pad to see if that was the problem and sure enough it was. So sleep number Customer service is sending us the in balance layer which is supposed to help with this matter, So time will tell. I have been extremely happy with Sleep Number customer service. They are very quick to find a solution to the problem."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Total Mattress Protection Pads
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hack
Location:Troy, VA
Age:36 - 45
Gender:Female
Not worth the money
Date:July 8, 2012
"I am just getting around to writng after a few years, but we bought a sleep number bed and this cover. After washing for the first time, following instructions to the "T", it came out of the dryer stuck together. I am trying to decide whether to purchase another or go get something that is cheaper but will hold up and protect better. Not sure how this all affects the warranty. Dissappointed."
21 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Total Mattress Protection Pads
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuvMyBed
Location:PA
Age:Under 35
Gender:Female
It saved my bed!
Date:May 30, 2012
"My cat had an accident and this pad saved my bed! I just took it off washed it and no problem! It washed just fine. Mine is about 2 years old now and the pad works and looks fine. A bit of yellow from my hubby's sweat but no biggie."
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Total Mattress Protection Pads
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Queensbm
Location:Eau Claire, WI
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Female
Total Protection Mattress Pad
Date:May 8, 2012
"I've read the reviews about this product. Unbelievable. I've had this product for almost a year now & washed several times due to several accidents...no stains, no saturation--very impressed as it beats any other products I've tried. I purchased the bed and protection mattress at the same time July 2012."
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Total Mattress Protection Pads
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sue
Age:56 and over
Gender:Female
Fantastic pad. Worth every dollar!
Date:April 7, 2012
"We are owners of 2 Sleep Number beds. We have this pad on both beds and it has lived up to its hype. Our grandchild had an accident and the pad protected the bed. Even if it hadn't our salesperson said it has a 10 year stain warrenty. Very impressed. Would recommend to anyone buying a bed."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Total Mattress Protection Pads
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kathryn
Location:California
Came unstitched at seams!
Date:March 11, 2012
"I purchased my sleep number ILE bed in September of 2011 (initially I bought a lower priced model, the p5, and hated it so I exchanged it for this one) I also got this total protection pad at the same time. I have been relatively happy with both purchases until now. I pulled the mattress pad off the bed today for washing and noticed what seem to be sweat stains. I thought they'd come out in the wash but they did not. I washed the mattress pad today for the second time and when removing it from the dryer (after following manufacturers washing/drying instructions) I discovered the stitching has unraveled at the seam where the pad meets the stretchy sides. I am absolutely disgusted with this. For paying $219 I would expect this pad to last longer than 6 months. I will be calling sleep number/select comfort first thing Monday morning. While this pad is soft and comfortable it is hot and seems to be made from inferior materials."
30 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Total Mattress Protection Pads
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Juls
Location:Cleveland, OH
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Female
Costly Inferior Quality
Date:March 6, 2012
"I am extremely disappointed with the quality of this mattress cover/protector. Our top portion doesn't come full across the bed making for a nice wrinkle to lay on and it also doesn't stay down. We haven't even had it two months and the elastic is like looking at something that has been used for 20 years. Doesn't stay in place, makes noise like you are laying on a rubber sheet. Extremely disappointed for the cost that this is the quality and product you get for $219.00. I've have much better covers for one third of that money. Between the poorly constructed pillows and this product I don't know which is worse. I certainly hope our bed will be a better investment than this cover and the pillows."
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Total Mattress Protection Pads
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jaden1478
Location:Austin, Tx
Terrible! Does not protect!!!
Date:February 11, 2012
"Ok, so my husband spills a little juice and I thought no big deal...we have the water proof padding... I pulled everything off and there is a stain on the bed where it went straight into the mattress cover! Totally angry! The bed is awesome but this ruined it. Unhappy and could have bought a much less expensive cover that could have offered better protection elsewhere!!!!!!!!!!! DON'T GET IT! Will not protect your bed! False piece of mind!"
20 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy StephanieCustomer ServiceFebruary 16, 2012
Hi Jaden,



Thank you for posting your experience. I understand your concerns and assure you that we are happy to help. The Total Protection Mattress pad does come with a 10 year warranty if purchased at the same time as the bed, and we would like to look into a replacement for you. Please give us a call at 1-800-451-6340. We look forward to working with you.
Review 17 for Total Mattress Protection Pads
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ncbucki
Location:Austin, TX
Age:36 - 45
Gender:Male
Waterproof - Really???
Date:October 6, 2011
"have a new puppy and unfortunately accidents happen and he had one on the bed....we assumed that our "waterproof" mattress pad, would have prevented any "liquid" from going to the mattress....yet that did not happen, our pad is only from April so very disappointed that it did not live up to its claim"
25 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy StephanieCustomer ServiceNovember 1, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to post. I understand your concerns. The mattress pad should protect your bed from minor spills and staining. Please feel free to call us at your earliest convenience for assistance and we will be happy to look into this for you. Customer Service can be reached at 1-800-451-6340.
Review 18 for Total Mattress Protection Pads
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:36 - 45
Gender:Female
Mine fell apart after the first wash!
Date:July 27, 2011
"I just washed this for the first time after sleeping on it on since I purchsed it. I washed it per the instructions, and when I took it out, the inner liner was somehow stuck upon itself in places and torn in others. It is ruined and cannot be put back on the bed. I am truly disappointed and hope I merely had a deffective model, as it had protected my mattress cover beautifully. I hadn't noticed the heat issue that others mentioned, but if a product falls apart after one use, it is DEFINITELY not worth buying."
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy StephanieCustomer ServiceSeptember 12, 2011
Thanks for sharing your review. Have you had a chance to contact Customer Service about this yet? The mattress pad does have a warranty and we can look into a replacement for you. Feel free to call us at 1-800-451-2270 or email us at customerservice@selectcomfort.com.
Review 19 for Total Mattress Protection Pads
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stew
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:Under 35
Gender:Male
Too Hot
Date:July 10, 2011
"I have the same issue with this product as some others have in the other reviews. I have never had an issue with sweating in the past, but I sweat like never before when sleeping on my sleep number bed with this mattress cover. I have purchased from sleep number some of their temperature controlling sheets and pillows but they have not even made a dent in how hot this mattress and mattress cover can get during sleep. After a few weeks I washed it and have noticed a "sweat ring" forming on the "Stain Resistant" cover. I would not suggest this to anyone and I hope Sleep Number can use their R&D team to attempt to correct this issue for future customers."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy Customer ServiceSeptember 12, 2011
Hi Stew, I'm Stephanie, with Sleep Number's online Customer Service. The Total Protection mattress pad may sleep a bit warmer for some people, due to the materials used to protect the mattress from staining. The mattress pad may not be right for everyone due to this and we offer a 30-day exchange to ensure that you are satisfied. I would recommend exchanging for another In Balance accessory, as the results are cummulative and will help you to sleep cooler. Please call Customer Service at 1-800-451-2270 to set up an exchange.
Review 20 for Total Mattress Protection Pads
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Garland, TX
Age:56 and over
Gender:Male
Bad Matress Pad
Date:May 6, 2011
"I recently purchased an I10 Cal King bed and at that time purchased the total protection matress pad. I have been sleeping on this matress pad for 2 weeks now with the in balance sheets and also with 100% cotton 600 thread count sheets. I am totally unhappy with this expensive matress pad. It does not breathe so it's easy to wake up hot and lying on a wet sheet. This happened even on a 100% cotton sheet and I typically don't sleep hot. It is not soft and comfortable so I thought I would wash and dry it and maybe it would soften after washing. What a mess that was. The inner membrane won't pass any water at all so you can't get the water out sufficiently to put it in a dryer. I had to hang it outside. I'm having serious buyer's remorse with this mattress pad and won't use it again and would not recommend it to anyone else."
10 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy StephanieCustomer ServiceMay 12, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to share your review. I understand your concerns and am glad to help. The Total Protection Mattress Pad does sleep warmer than a traditional mattress pad, due to the material used to prevent staining. The effects of the In Balance material is cumulative. Have you considered trying the In Balance layer or the In Balance pillow protectors? We also have some other suggestions that we would be happy to provide. Please feel free to call us at 1-888-411-2270.
1 2 next>>