Product Reviews

Sleep Number ® c2 bed

Welcome to adjustable comfort and support with the bed that launched a sleep revolution. Our original bed offers breakthrough comfort for both of you with an updated look and whisper-quiet remote. 8-inch plush-style mattress Wireless, digital remote  Rated best buy by a leading consumer magazine
Average Customer Rating:
3.652 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
17
46 of 69(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sleep Number ® c2 bed
Review 1 for Sleep Number ® c2 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ks
Location:Ohio
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Female
Great - but only one remote
Date:October 4, 2012
"We bought our first Select Comfort bed in 1995 and have always loved it. Our pump went bad during year 18 and we could have gotten a new pump (prorated price) but decided on a new bed instead. We got just the basic bed and it is even more fantastic than the original - the pump is SO much quieter. My only complaint is that while it is a DUAL chamber bed, it comes with only one wireless remote (the OLD version had two wired remotes) and an additional remote is overpriced."
97 of 119 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sleep Number ® c2 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DC
Location:New York, NY
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Male
Over 25 years
Date:September 23, 2012
"I bought my 1st Select Comfort from Hammacher Schlemmer over 25 years ago. When my wife got ill I updated my slect Comfort to an adjustable bed. That was 17 years later. After 2 years we realized we would be better off with a different mattress style and bought a new bed. We used the same adjustable frame.
In the many years we had occassional issues. With Sleep Comfort if we had air mattress issues they would just send a replacement, no questions asked. With the Pump there was a charge when it went after 15 years but it was not a lot of money. It was pro rated I believe. With the adjustable frame we would call Legget and Platt for support. They are fantastic. I bought replacement parts several times and repaired the bed myself with a handy friend. It was not ultra difficult but required you turn the bed over.
Bottom line is there is nothing more comfortable than Select Comfort in my opinion. With their new offerings you have the best of both worlds with memory foam and air. Unless you like springs you cannot go wrong.
I always buy the lowest cost bed from Select Comfort and have been very happy. I want the Ability to change the softness/firmness of my bed so I do not want the pillow top. Others do want it so the choice is there. I have purchased add on mattress toppers when my wife felt she needed something. We bought a single size and put it only on her side of the Queen bed. Though I wish they offered a Split Queen I believe the pricing would be more than I could afford anyway."
66 of 74 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sleep Number ® c2 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dan
Location:La Quinta, Ca
Age:56 and over
Gender:Male
Great bed but :
Date:September 2, 2012
"Love the easy set up, quick delivery, nice quality materials used, the only thing I found was this bed sits low to the floor compared to regular mattresses, I have a large framed carved wooden queen bed platform, it sits so low that it looked rediculous, well, 2 by 4 "s raised it enough that it looks like my old innerspring set ! Now I am really happy with this bed, so far three nights excellent sleep on it ! So make sure to have some extra slats ready if you are assembling the bed into a large bed frame with headboard and footboard attached !"
55 of 63 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sleep Number ® c2 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dan
Location:La Quinta, CA
Age:56 and over
Gender:Male
Great bed !
Date:August 31, 2012
"Recieved my bed yesterday, had it put together in less than an hour ! Put my 3 inch memory foam on top, and had the best nights sleep I have had in years ! Bought the C2 as I can change the foam when ever it starts to go flat and not have to deal with shipping, just run down to the store and buy a new inexpensive topper ! Set up was very easy, materials are very good quality, and the air mattress is exceptional ! Very durable, nothing like a cheap air mattress as stated in other reviews. I am extremely happy with this purchase and cannot wait to go back to bed tonight,"
32 of 45 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sleep Number ® c2 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
naomi
Location:cleveland ohio
Age:Under 35
Gender:Female
pretty great
Date:August 31, 2012
"well i ordered the bed got here in a decent time, when setting the bed up the instructions have a step to insert a "comfort foam pad" which i come to find isn't for this model so that was a bit of a disappointment since there isn't a lot of padding between the air chamber and you. then when i find my sleep number of 25 i realize i can occasionally hit the bottom, and i'm not a big girl. then the lump in the middle from the foam between the air chambers because my boyfriend and i both sleep at low numbers. so i called and spoke with someone who said they would send out a foam pad to put under the air chamber to lift them up to stay off the ground and also reduce the lump in the middle. they also will exchange my air chambers to 2 that are connected so that should definitely help the lump.
i was pleasantly surprised at how quick and helpful they were, was on the phone a whole 5 minutes! So as long as this pad and chamber work i will absolutely love this bed and recommend it to anyone! (:
"
34 of 44 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sleep Number ® c2 bed
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bj
Location:sc
Age:Under 35
Gender:Male
Good
Date:August 25, 2012
"It loses its air that's the only thing, but other than that its pretty good for anyone who wants a sleep number."
33 of 47 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sleep Number ® c2 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cowboyrme
Location:Texas
Gender:Male
love my bed
Date:August 27, 2014
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"I started gooing to the Dr. for back pain when I was 12 years old. When I turned 40 I was finally diagnosed with a rheumitiod arthritus. I have lived with back pain most all my life. This is the first bed I have slept on that I dont wake up in pain. It is truly a blessing. Its something I have never felt before. Thank yall Jack Savage"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceAugust 27, 2014
Hi Jack, thanks for taking the time to share your experience with your bed with us. We're thrilled to hear how much you're enjoying your bed and we want you to know that this is just the beginning. We expect that you'll have years of great sleep ahead of you, and we want you to know we'll be there every step of the way. If you ever have any questions, please feel free to get in touch with us.
Phone: 1-888-411-2270
Live Chat: http://bit.ly/SNRemote
Email: CustomerService@SelectComfort.com

Thanks again for choosing the Sleep Number ® bed, Jack. We appreciate you trusting us with your sleep and we don’t take that trust for granted.

Sleep well!
Review 8 for Sleep Number ® c2 bed
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mancakes
Location:Wiggins, MS 39577, USA
Gender:Male
Worse bed ever!!!
Date:August 19, 2014
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"I walked into the Sleep Number store to try this bed and was excited to get one!!! That was my only exciting thought since!! This C2 bed was the worse purchase we have bought to date....Its not comfortable at all!!! even with all the extra padding they sent us....it actually made it worse!! i am 32 , but after sleeping on this bed for a week my back feels like I am 80!! For 1400, I was expecting "the best sleep ever" but all I got was a build a bed project!!! I must say I am very disappointed with my whole experience with sleep number !!!"
8 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceAugust 19, 2014
Hi Mancakes, thanks for sharing your experience with your bed with us. We're so sorry you're having trouble getting comfortable in your bed! It's important to us that all of our owners are sleeping well and loving their beds and we'd like to have the chance to look into this for you to see what additional options we can offer to help get you sleeping well. All we'd need to get started in this for you is for you to send us an email to CustomerService@SelectComfort.com and put "Attn: Social Media" in the subject field so the email can be routed directly to us. Then please include the name and address we shipped the bed to in the message field so we can locate your file and we can look into this for you right away. We hope to have the chance to talk with you soon!
Review 9 for Sleep Number ® c2 bed
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Sleepless with Sleepnumber
Gender:Female
Sleepless with Sleepnumber
Date:July 21, 2014
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"This is an expensive air mattress. You can hear the pump make noise and release air in the middle of the night. Uncomfortable no matter what the #. I would recommend the pillows and the sheets. I tried the C2 And P5 for extra cushion."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceJuly 21, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We're so sorry you aren't enjoying your Sleep Number® bed! We really want you to be able to sleep comfortably on it and we're happy to look into some solutions to get you sleeping better if it isn't working for you as-is. We should also look into the noise issue you mentioned with your pump, as it should be silent until you activate your remote or adjust your bed. Just give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday and ask for one of our Sleep Specialists and we’ll start working with you right away. We hope to hear from you soon!
Review 10 for Sleep Number ® c2 bed
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Female
worst purchase ever made
Date:July 15, 2014
"We have had the sleep number bed just over a year. I thought it may get better but no way. The only good sleep i get is on the floor or on vacation.My wife and I are having back problems now This has to be the worst product ever made in the history of mankind."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceJuly 15, 2014
Hi Anonymous, thanks for taking the time to share your experience with your bed with us. We're sorry to hear you're having trouble getting comfortable in your bed! It's important to us that all of our owners are sleeping comfortably, which is one of the reasons we offer a team of comfort specialists through our Customer Service Team. Often, making some adjustments to the setting you sleep at, or some small tweaks to the bed, can lead to big changes in comfort! If you haven't had the chance to talk with them yet, we'd recommend getting in touch with them right away so we can get you back to sleeping comfortably as soon as possible.

Customer Service can be reached at 1-888-411-2270 from 8AM-8PM CST, M-F and 8:30AM-5PM on Saturday.

We hope to have the chance to talk with you soon!
Review 11 for Sleep Number ® c2 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
27 Year Owner
Location:Tampa, FL, USA
Gender:Female
27 Year Owner of Select Comfort Bed
Date:June 18, 2014
"My family owns 3 beds and I am getting ready to order our 4th bed. You might think that their price is high for a mattress, but if you take into account that with regular mattresses which you end up buying about every 5-8 years at a cost of around $1000, over 27 years you would have spent 3-5 times that amount. So a $3000 Select Comfort Bed doesn't sound that expensive anymore. My first Select Comfort Bed was bought in 1987 when they were first introduced. The stores weren't even opened yet. They were selling them out of conference rooms in hotels. The very first bed we bought was a queen size (which I passed down to my son) and it still is like new. I bought my daughter a king size Select Comfort Bed after her automobile accident in 2001. She still has that one and yes, it is in great condition. I bought a twin bed in 2010 and currently looking to buy another queen size soon, not because any of the others have worn out, but because I am buying another new bed. My twin Select Comfort Bed will be passed on to a grandchild. I originally bought my first Select Comfort Bed because of a bad back and it has served me well. I believe I get a good night sleep and wake up without pain daily because of my bed. I would not own any other mattress!!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sleep Number ® c2 bed
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ed Lee
Location:Danville, ca
Gender:Male
Too hot
Date:June 10, 2014
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"I have had a sleep number bed for a couple of years now and I hate it more and more. The biggest problem with these beds are the heat temperature. The material does not breath so it gets warm fast. I bought a cool pad to put on top and it doesn't work. The thought of spending another $1600 on the dual temp pad makes me upset. I would not recommend for anyone to buy one if these and cannot wait to buy another bed."
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceJune 10, 2014
Hi Ed, thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about this. While sleeping warm isn't a common concern for many of our owners, we do hear comments like this from time to time. We think it's important for you to know that we have a team of comfort specialists available through our Customer Service Department who specialize in addressing concerns just like this, and they can help. We'd recommend getting in contact with them so we can get you sleeping comfortably and loving your bed just as soon as possible. Customer Service can be reached at 1-888-411-2270 from 8AM-8PM CST, M-F and 8:30AM-5PM on Saturday. We look forward to talking with you soon, Ed!
Review 13 for Sleep Number ® c2 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DustyOR
Location:Tigard, OR USA
Gender:Female
Amazing comfort
Date:May 1, 2014
Pros: Blankets/Comforters
"I bought my bed in 2001 and have been delighted ever since
I get into bed and minutes later I am asleep. There is no tossing and turning to find comfort. I love fact it can be adjusted when the need arises; sometimes I want more softness or hardness so adjust it.
Following major surgery I was placed in adjustable beds in the
hospital and later in ICU/skilled nursing and the Sleep Comfort is as
comfortable.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sleep Number ® c2 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cpmili
Location:North Carolina, USA
Gender:Female
Excellent bed ;)
Date:May 1, 2014
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"We first bought a queen size used sleep number, and we loved it. then we decided to get a king size one and it's worth every penny. if i had bought this bed from the very beginning i would had saved a lot of money. Now i can adjust my size and my husband his and have plenty of space. would recommend."
Review 15 for Sleep Number ® c2 bed
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Male
Pls dont buy this, there are better alternatives!
Date:April 7, 2014
"It was better for about a year...and then back to square one (body aches, toss/turn, soar body, etc..)..Now I cannot even return it as I'm out of trial period ;-)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceApril 7, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're so sorry you're not enjoying your c2 bed! While we aren't able to take a return on your bed if you're outside your 100 Night Trial, we really want you to enjoy your c2 and we're happy to look into some solutions to get you sleeping better if you’re not as comfortable as you were when you first got it. We hope you'll give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday and ask for one of our Sleep Specialists so we can see what options we have available for you.

We hope to hear from you soon!
Review 16 for Sleep Number ® c2 bed
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Female
Disappointed!
Date:March 28, 2014
"I could not believe what this bed is made of. Foam and an air chamber. It barely stands up to you getting in and out of bed. I was shocked that a bed that is so widely talked about is not really a bed it is a air mattress surrounded by foam!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceMarch 31, 2014
Thanks for leaving a review on your c2. I'm so sorry you're not enjoying it right now! We’ve found this bed is a great fit for owners that really like to feel the difference between each firmness setting and don’t want a lot of padding, but it isn’t for everyone. We want you to be able to sleep well on your bed, and we hope you’ll give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday and ask for one of our Sleep Specialists so we can look over your options and discuss ways to tailor your bed to better meet your needs or talk about other models that might fit you better. We hope to hear from you soon!
Review 17 for Sleep Number ® c2 bed
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Orlando, FL, USA
Gender:Female
Horrible
Date:February 13, 2014
"This bed is so uncomfortable. It is literally an overpriced air mattress. We were very excited to try the bed because my husband has a bad back and we have heard that this is the best bed to deal with his pain. Well now not only does my husbands back still hurt but now mine does to!! I would not recommend this bed to ANYONE!!"
7 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy Chris VCustomer ServiceFebruary 13, 2014
Thanks for leaving a review on your c2 bed. I'm so sorry this model hasn’t been a good fit for you or your husband! We really want you both to enjoy your bed and we’re more than happy to look into some solutions to get you sleeping better if you can get in touch with us at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday so we can locate your account and start working with you. We hope to hear from you soon!
Review 18 for Sleep Number ® c2 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
daleevans2
Location:Central, IL, USA
Gender:Female
Best Bed Ever!!
Date:December 13, 2013
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"My husband and I both have severe arthritis in our backs and shoulders, so we needed to purchase a more comfortable bed than the old one we had.
The salesperson spent a great deal of time demonstrating the mattress, and how to adjust it to fit our comfort needs. When we decided to buy the bed, she made sure that we understood to wait several days after adjusting our number to let our body get used to the new setting before deciding if it was what we wanted.
We've been sleeping on our bed for four months now, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants total sleeping comfort.
"
9 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sleep Number ® c2 bed
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Female
needs aan auxillary pad.
Date:August 28, 2013
"If you purchase this bed you should be aware that you will need to supplement the support with an additional pad. We bought the Cool-Foam pad because the salesperson at the store assured me that it would not generate heat. She was right, but the pad is short and narrow and you will lose inches on your mattress. Spend the extra money and buy the mattress that already has the foam layer attached. I wish I did."
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceAugust 29, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience with us! Have you considered exchanging your c2 for another model? We understand that the first bed you choose won't always be a great fit for you, so we offer a 100 Night Trial on all of our Core Line beds which allows you to exchange your mattress if another of our beds would better meet your needs. If you recently bought your bed and want to consider an exchange, please give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30-5 CT on Saturday so we can go over your options and get you all the information you need to make your decision. Thanks again for choosing Sleep Number and have a great day!
Review 20 for Sleep Number ® c2 bed
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed in Pa
Location:Langhorne, Pa
Gender:Female
Bad decision
Date:March 16, 2013
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"I wish I had read these reviews before spending a fortune on this piece of junk. Our $40 camping air mattress s more comfortable than this. Big deal -30 day in home trial. They don't point out that, after you have already paid nearly $200 shipping, to return it you will pay another $200 shipping. I bet Fed Ex loves this company since they are benefiting much more than my aching back. If there was a "zero" choice for overall rating, quality, comfort & value, that would have been my choice on all."
38 of 75 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>