Product Reviews

Sleep Number ® i8 bed

div.product-detail-wrapper .description + ul { display: none; } .t008-series-landing .series-description .rated-no-1 { font-family: 'Avenir LT W01 85 Heavy'; font-size: 21px; } Our SLEEP NUMBER ® i8 bed features revolutionary innovations for your total sleeping comfort. A luxurious comfort layer offers supreme support. And because it's temperature balancing, it keeps you from sleeping too warm or too cool. Temperature balancing technology absorbs excess heat and releases it, so you sleep just right Three inches of proprietary PlushFit ™ foam features 7 zones for enhanced comfort 13-inch duvet-style pillowtop with a sleek design Advanced DualAir ™ technology adjusts firmness on each side with an intuitive wireless remote Rated #1 by a leading consumer magazine
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
6 of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sleep Number ® i8 bed
Review 1 for Sleep Number ® i8 bed
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CurlyGirl
Location:Bethel, PA, USA
Gender:Female
No more fighting
Date:August 29, 2014
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"My husband and I found a great way to both sleep well. He'd be happy sleeping on the floor and depending on his day on the shop floor, he's at an 80 or 90. I like cradling so I'm a 45, unless it's been an intense workout day where 60 tends to give my back less chance of twinging as it tends to after workouts.
I did wait for a sale though as they are pricey. However, when it eventually is time to replace we will get another. Maybe by that time they'll incorporate the new dual temp control into the mattress rather than just a separate topper."
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceAugust 29, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your i8 bed. CurlyGirl. I'm so glad it's helping you and your husband sleep better! We can't wait to hear how many years of great sleep you get out of your new bed and I want you to know we're here to help if you have any questions along the way. If there's anything we can do for you in the future, please just give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday and we'll be happy to start working with you. Have a great day!
Review 2 for Sleep Number ® i8 bed
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kentucky
Location:Florence, KY, USA
Gender:Female
Great Bed But
Date:August 17, 2014
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"Just got the I8 on Thursday .Set our bed up this Sunday. No issues until I got to the last steps and tried to remove the duvet/plush top, to begin covering the mattress. Whoever sewed the zipper into the plush top, did a poor job and sewed the zipper against the assembly. We finally were able to free it, but the stitching let go on the unit. We will be going to the store tomorrow to see about getting a replacement cover."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceAugust 17, 2014
Hi Kentucky, thanks for taking the time to leave your review of your experience with your bed so far. We're sorry to hear about the trouble you had with the zipper for your cover! Defects like this are rare, and, if you haven't had the chance to yet, we recommend getting in touch with our Customer Service Team right away so they can look into replacement options for your cover. Customer Service can be reached at 1-888-411-2270 from 8AM-8PM CST, M-F and 8:30AM-5PM on Saturday.

We hope you have a great day!
Review 3 for Sleep Number ® i8 bed
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
KWhit
Location:Coral Springs, FL, USA
Gender:Female
Disappointed in the quality
Date:August 11, 2014
"I went to the sleep number store to research these beds. We were greeted quickly by a sales person. Not too long after we were there a couple that our sales person had helped earlier came back to make a purchase. He quickly passed us off to another sales person, which I thought was a little rude. However, the new sales person was more focused so it worked out. We didn't end up purchasing the bed right then, we left and came back that same day and made the purchase of the I8. If I had to do this again I would probably just purchase online but I wanted the sales person to get the credit. Our bed was delivered on time and the men who delivered were professional. Our main reason for purchasing the bed is that my husband can have it firm at 100 and I can have it mushy at 25. The first problem I noticed is that because I prefer a sleep number of 25 when I get out of the bed in the morning if I don't firm up the mattress it leaves a body size sink hole in the bed and makes the bed look like it's worn out. I don't want to have to adjust my bed every night and every morning to have it look nice. The second problem I noticed was that firming or releasing the air from the bed makes a lot of noise, not loud but loud enough that it wakes the person up next to you if you do this in the middle of the night. Another problem I noticed is that if you are like my husband and you plop onto the bed instead of gently getting in the bed your mattress sounds like it's going to burst a bladder. He is more gentle now but this makes me wonder about the quality of this bed and how long it will last us. Someone else mentioned this, if you like to sleep next to your spouse it will probably feel uncomfortable because it feels like there is a barrier or something in the middle that is hard. When I tested the one in the store I did not notice any of these things and I did test for them. I noticed the other day that the covers they use on the platform for the bed and the mattress start to poof out and do not fit taunt to the mattress so I have to make sure my sheets and my comforter cover them. The last is the temperature balancing, I can't feel any difference just like any bed if you lay there for a while you get hot. Again my reason for buying this bed was for the ability to have individual sleep numbers on a single mattress which it does do. If that is your reason this bed might be a good choice for you. If this is not your reason you may want to save some money and not purchase this bed. I'm disppointed with the mattress but would still recommend it if you are looking for the ability to have dual control of the firmness. They denied my first review because I think I mentioned a competitor so let's see if this one makes it. Makes me question the validity of the reviews when they are monitored for something other than offensive language."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceAugust 11, 2014
Hi KWhit, thanks for taking the time to share your review of your i8 model. We apologize that your first review was rejected from the site! We have a filtering system that all of our reviews pass through that does monitor for mentions of competitor products, offensive or abusive language and the like. Often, we're able to catch those rejected reviews and approve them manually when the content that caused them to be rejected isn't anything offensive or sensitive in nature, and we apologize that we missed catching your initial review and approving it.

We also want you to know that we're glad to hear that both you and your husband are enjoying your bed and we want to take a few moments to address some of the concerns you raise in your review:

First, we think it's important for you to know that we manufacture and warranty all of our models to last 25 years, and in some cases they last quite a bit longer. We use only the best material in the manufacture of our beds, and the air chambers inside your bed are actually made from 24 gauge vulcanized rubber, the same material that white-water rafts are made from, so there's no need to be concerned about your husband damaging them when getting into bed at night.

We also want you to know that your remote will feature a "Full" or "Fill" button that allows you to completely re-inflate both sides of the bed in the morning with a simple touch, which will eliminate the indentations you're seeing when you get up in the morning.

If you're still having some trouble getting comfortable, or if the center of the bed is still proving to be a concern for you, our Customer Service Team can help provide some options to help get you sleeping more comfortably and being able to use more of the center of the bed to sleep closer to your partner. We recommend getting in touch with them as soon as possible so we can get you sleeping comfortably right away. Customer Service can be reached at 1-888-411-2270 from 8AM-8PM CST, M-F and 8:30AM-5PM on Saturday.

Have a great day!
Review 4 for Sleep Number ® i8 bed
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kevinbriggs
Location:Soldotna, Alaska
Gender:Male
This technology doesn't work for everyone
Date:August 8, 2014
"After spending about five minutes on this bed in the showroom, and experiencing quite a bit of pain relief in our lower backs, my wife and I were very excited to get this bed delivered. However, what we didn't anticipate was the fact that because of our arthritic necks and shoulders we would wake up in quite a bit of pain with respect to our upper torso.
The bottom line is this: if you have only one "problem area" with regard to pain, this bed might work for you. But if you have multiple problem areas, e.g. lower back pain combined with pain somewhere else, you will most likely experience problems with this mattress.
Why?
My own example is illustrative: I need a setting of 70 for my low back, but I need it to be right around 40 for my neck and shoulders. In other words, there's just no way to accommodate my particular situation. I have to choose each and every night which area I want to address and which area will be in the most pain the following morning.
I anticipate that the technology will improve over time, of course, allowing the bed to be adjustable for multiple regions. But at present, it's just not a possibility. And because of the pain we are regularly experiencing (every morning), this is a mattress we can just no longer live with.
One final note: we live just south of Anchorage, Alaska. If you purchase a bed in Alaska (and I believe the same applies to Hawaii) you will not be able to enjoy the same Sleep Number 100 Day return policy. In fact, most of the policies associated with Sleep Number products go out the window in Alaska and Hawaii. We wish we would have known this to be the case prior to purchasing, even though we made sure we were purchasing from an authorized Sleep Number reseller."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sleep Number ® i8 bed
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KLS
Location:San Diego County, California, USA
Gender:Female
There is a perfect bed for everyone!
Date:July 27, 2014
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"Let me first say that in my opinion, every bed isn't for everyone! There is a learning curve for a Sleep Number Bed, & we are both getting use to it. Each night is better, & I sleep longer. We do adjust the bed throughout the night depending on the need for an elevated head, or comfort on our sides. I also need to tell you that I have severe back problems, with four surgeries in the last several years, & SN was the only bed I hadn't tried.
Many years ago while waiting in my orthopedic office for a dr. visit, a young woman who had also had severe injuries, told me that Sleep Number saved her life. It's taken me all these years to try the SN, but I have tried every-other bed on the market before purchasing this bed
.
Originally I purchased a C2, & that was way to hard for my sensitive back, so I returned it. All the while I was saying I needed hard, but I'm finding with these beds, the perfect number for me is 65, or under. I then purchased a i8, & again we are still getting use to the bed. However, we love the versatility the i8 gives us, & slowly we are settling in.
Three days after receiving our i8 we left for vacation, & in just that short period of time we realized how we missed our new bed, & how horrible the other beds were. When we returned home, we couldn't wait to go to bed that night. In fact we received ten hours of solid sleep, & have continued to sleep well on our i8!
The one thing I would say is, not expect to hop into bed, & be immediately comfortable. There is a learning curve, & some may love it off the bat, while others may need time adjust. Be patient, I'm sure that's why SN gives you 90 days trial!
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceJuly 27, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with your bed with us, KLS. We're thrilled to hear how much you're enjoying your i8! It always puts a big smile on our faces to hear from our owners who are loving their beds and the better night's sleep they bring.

We think it's important for you to know that some hotels do offer our beds, so leaving home doesn't have to mean leaving the comfort of your bed behind as well. A quick web search for "Hotels with Sleep Number beds" will often turn up a number of results.

If you ever have any questions, or simply need some more information on your bed, please don't hesitate to get in touch with us.
Phone: 1-888-411-2270
Email: CustomerService@selectcomfort.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SleepNumber

Keep sleeping well!
Review 6 for Sleep Number ® i8 bed
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HotSleeper
Location:Iowa, USA
Gender:Female
Starting to have regrets
Date:June 26, 2014
Pros: Pillows, Blankets/Comforters, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"I know it's supposed to take a while to get used too these beds, but I'm not sure if I can make it past 30 days. We've only had this bed for 6 days, and so far every night has been a challenge. For one, there is very little padding to the comfort layers. The 3 inches of foam plus the top mattress pad can easily be squished down to 1 uncomfortable inch if you're a person over 200lbs. Then there's the sleep numbers. At the store mine was 40, at home it's still around that, but feels either too hard or too soft. Numbers 30-40 feel like my spine is not aligned and I wake up with back and neck pain ( which I've never had before), and numbers 45-50 feel good for my spine but not for my pressure points.
I bought a thick memory foam pad today at wmart so we'll see how that works. But as of right now I'm sore allover after waking up and tired all day."
12 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceJune 26, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your bed, HotSleeper. The Sleep Number® bed has a very unique feel and it's not unusual for it to take a little to get used to it, especially if your previous bed was a traditional innerspring mattress, but we're more than happy to help you if you're not sleeping well right now. Just give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 and ask for one of our Sleep Specialists and we'll start looking into some options to tailor your bed to better meet your needs so you can start sleeping comfortably. We're available to help you anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday and we hope to hear from you soon!
Review 7 for Sleep Number ® i8 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KO
Location:Chicago, IL, USA
Gender:Female
No complaints from us! My Sleep Number is a 40!
Date:May 27, 2014
Pros: Pillows, Blankets/Comforters, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"I am sitting here reading all these negative reviews and I just don’t understand it? When we bought our Sleep Number King i8 in November 2011, we quickly realized it was one of the best purchases we’ve ever made. The warranty alone makes the bed a wise purchase. I guess people don’t realize how much money you can potentially save over a 25 year period just by having a Sleep Number. Sure things happen, these beds rely on electronics, but most of everything we use these days is electronic and sometimes they need to be replaced or fixed, it’s the price we all have to pay and we all just need to get used to it. And I’ve always had great customer service…everyone should always remember, you get more bees with honey than vinegar. I can say that since we’ve had our bed, waking up in the morning is a completely different experience than with a “regular” mattress – I feel refreshed and no aches and pains and all because of the Sleep Number bed. I dread going out of town because I know that I won’t sleep comfortably. And because of this, I just went out yesterday to buy a second Sleep Number bed for my parent’s home in Florida. We purchased the C2 (basic model), sure it doesn’t have all the bells and whistles than other beds they offer, but I know that when I spend a total of 2 months in Florida over the next year, I’ll be happy and rested. To add a little more about customer service, our new bed only comes with 1 remote and an additional one would cost $99, we simply asked the store manager to include an additional one with our purchased and they immediately contacted the regional director and within 5 minutes, a free remote was added to our order – NO COST! We are so happy and thankful. I do recommend Sleep Number beds to friends and family anytime I have the opportunity, and everyone who’s bought one after the recommendation has been completely satisfied!"
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceMay 27, 2014
Hi KO, thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're so glad to hear how much you've loved your i8 and about the new c2 model you added to your parents' home. It sounds like that will definitely make those trips to Florida a little easier on your back and your sleep!

We're also happy to hear how much you've enjoyed your interactions with our Customer Service Team. It's our goal to provide a great experience every time you get in touch with us, and we're glad we've accomplished that goal for you.

If you ever have any questions, or just need some more information about either of your beds, just let us know.

Phone: 1-800-472-7185 (8 AM - 8 PM CT M-F, 8:30-5 CT Saturday)
Live Chat: http://bit.ly/SNChat (7 AM to 11 PM CT every day)
Email: customerservice@selectcomfort.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/sleepnumber

Have a great day and keep sleeping well!
Review 8 for Sleep Number ® i8 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HouseF22
Location:Panama City, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Best Bed on the Market Today
Date:April 25, 2014
"The i8 has dramatically improved the quality of sleep for my wife and I. She has had two total hip replacements, knee replacement, and a bad back. I've had total hip replacement, along with a bad back. EVERY morning since we started sleeping on the i8, our day begins with, "Aren't we BLESSED we decided to buy that bed!" Bed is expensive, BUT, how do you put a price on an INCREDIBLE nights rest? This bed is WORTH every penny as it has IMPROVED every aspect of our lives!! Give the Sleep Number i8 a try....You will not be disappointed!!"
25 of 50 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceApril 26, 2014
Hi HouseF22 , we wanted to take the time to thank you for sharing your thoughts on your i8 model with us. We're so happy to hear how much of a difference the bed has made in the way you both sleep and how you feel when you wake in the morning. We couldn't agree with you more, considering you spend a third of your life in bed, how can you put a price on your sleep?

If you ever have any questions or comments for us in the future, please do not hesitate to get in touch with us:
Phone: 1-800-472-7185 (8 AM - 8 PM CT M-F, 8:30-5 CT Saturday)
Live Chat: http://bit.ly/SNChat (7 AM to 11 PM CT every day)
Email: customerservice@selectcomfort.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/sleepnumber

Keep sleeping well!