Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sleep Number.

Average Customer Rating:
3.231 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
9
15 of 26(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for
Review 1 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dick
Location:Prospect, Ohio
Age:56 and over
Gender:Male
Company very helpful
Date:August 9, 2012
"We purchased the M7 with adjustable base and got the best sleep in years for several months until we found my wife was allergic to the memory foam. Even though we were past the trial period the compamy worked with us and switched us into the I8 for only a delivery charge. Love the bed. If you have a problem ask for help."
30 of 35 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
scootergirl
Location:Plymouth, MN
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Female
LOVE MY NEW M7
Date:July 29, 2012
"I purchased the M7 queen flex fit bed in April, 2012 and I am so glad I did, I have never slept better! I had one issue with one bladders leaking so I called customer service they were so helpful and they sent me out a replacement that I received in just 4 days. I installed the the new bladder myself that day and I am back to sleeping amazingly. LOVE THIS BED!!"
13 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BusyRN
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Female
Finally.....restfull sleep
Date:April 4, 2012
"We received our M7 sleep number bed about 3 weeks ago. We used to have a free-flow water bed that my back would no longer allow me to sleep on. My husband loves very soft sleep surface & I found on a recent business trip that I prefer a very firm sleep surface. This bed has allowed me to sleep through the night! Love it! The price is high, but sleep is a priority."
34 of 44 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RAV
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Age:Under 35
Gender:Male
Best Sleep Number Bed EVER!!!
Date:March 17, 2012
"This is our third Sleep Number bed. Our family keeps growing and so does the bed size! I really liked our last Sleep Number Bed which was comparable to the i8. It was very comfortable and support our backs. My wife and I are blown away by the comfort of our new m7!!!! We both fall asleep in one spot and wake up in the same position feeling great! Plus...I do not get warm anymore throughout the night!!! Sleep Number + Memory Foam is like Peanut Butter and Jelly. They just go great together!!!"
48 of 55 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Coupe
Location:Midway, GA 31320, USA
Gender:Male
Buyers beware
Date:April 10, 2014
Pros: Blankets/Comforters, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"Everyone needs to know that Sleep Number does not sent a repair technician to your house to fix a new bed. I purchased a new M7 and had to go to the doctor for back pain that I had never had. Customer service tells me that it sometimes happens, that is not what they told me in the store before I bought the bed. Then for me to return the bed I am still out over 500 dollars and they don't care. EVERYONE needs to know that Sleep Number does not sent a repair technician to your house to fix a new bed no matter what the problem is."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceApril 10, 2014
Thanks for sharing your situation with us, Coupe. We're so sorry your m7 bed wasn't a great fit for you! We're always happy to send our install team back out to your home during your Trial period if we find out your bed wasn't installed correctly, but we handle most situations over the phone because we can normally find what's causing your discomfort much more quickly by talking with you for a few minutes and can often have a solution on the way to you before a technician would be able to set up an appointment to come back out.

It looks like one of our Case Managers is already talked with you about your return and we’d encourage you to give us a call back if you have any questions about the solution they offered you. You can reach us at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday if there’s anything else we can help you with. Have a great day!
Review 6 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sawwhetowls
Location:Green Lane, PA 18054, USA
Gender:Female
Amazing Sleep and Comfort
Date:April 2, 2014
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"We have owned our Split King m7 with Flexfit Adjustable base for going on 3 years now. It is so comfortable my two Goddaughters can't wait to come over to spend the night with me! I think it's the bed! My sleep number is 35 on nights when I'm in pain from my Lupus, or 50 when I'm feeling well. My husband stays at 45 or 50 just about all the time. We do have to shove my side over periodically to make the mattresses touch in the middle, but, I see that now, they've improved that by connecting them at the bottom! Brilliant! It still wouldn't work for me though, as I need to raise the foot of my side often to relieve edema. I don't enjoy my vacations as much now, because I miss my bed! I think all hotels should have a set of rooms with the Sleep Number Beds - I'd pay extra for that! The memory foam is comfortable, light, and we both get hot at not, but the bed keeps us cool. No hot spots! I love it. I only wish the foam sides were more ridged as I like to sit on the edge to put on my socks and I often feel like I'm going to fall over. Then there is the issue with the bed skirt. I think I'll have to bite the bullet and buy an upholstered bed because bed skirts with the adjustable base are a nightmare. Just sayin'...but I wouldn't trade it for the world! I just love, love, love it! I sleep better than I ever did on a conventional mattress. Before buying the m7, we had the 7000 model. It was equally comfortable, and we were satisfied. Before that we went through mattresses every couple years because they would dent from my being nearly bed-riden for 6 years. Spring-coil mattresses put tons of stress on my body, and I could never get comfortable. For medical reasons, I upgraded from my 7000 to the m7 with a flex fit base. That was the best choice ever! I even convinced my mom to buy one! She too is thrilled and says it is hard to get out of bed, it just feels so good!"
Review 7 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Male
Would not be my first choice
Date:December 30, 2013
"We have owned this bed for 1 year, at first the bed was nice for the first few months. After finding our sleep number we have notice the mattress does leak air and we have to readjust it every 10-14 days. The M7 foam top continues to slide off of the mattress requiring us to disable the mattress and then reassemble it. We also own the adjustable base and after a few times up and down the mattress slides all the was down to the foot board. Since the mattress is bolted to the adjustable base it is not very easy to slide back up."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceJanuary 4, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your m7 bed. I'm so sorry you're not enjoying it right now! We really want you to love your bed, and I really encourage you to give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 so we can look up your account and see what we can do to take care of the sliding situation you mentioned with your bed so you can start sleeping better. We're available to help you anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday.

We hope to hear from you soon!
Review 8 for
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Wisconsin, USA
Gender:Male
Second SN bed
Date:November 13, 2013
"We have a more basic Sleep Number for many years and liked it. We needed another bed to replace a conventional mattress/box spring. Ended up we bought the M7 and tossed the conventional. The new M7 is now our primary bed. So, we visited a store and checked out the various models, we liked the memory foam models and decided that we would go with either the best pillow top or M7. I was concerned about the cost overall and pushed for the P6. Of course I lost and we bought the M7. However, we bought it on line rather than going Bach to the store. There is no advantage to buy at the store that we found, they do not stock the beds.the purchase experience was great, a live on line person helped us through the process and it went smoothly and quickly. The bed arrived in about a week with no shipping issues.
Assembly is easy, very easy in fact and all parts fit properly. In actual use I find the number for this bed quite different than with our older model. I believe this is because the foam makes the bed firmer on it's own. We had no odor issues as some have mentioned. I find the bed warmer than I like, but that may be because we also changed all the covers to the winter stuff at the same time. We really like the fact that one person's restlessness does not affect the other, each side is well isolated. We also see no issues in the middle part of the bed, it seems sturdy and does not collapse like the old model in the center.
My biggest issue with the bed is that includes only one remote, for this amount of money, there should be one for each side and it should not cost $150 for another. That really bugs me! That is the reason it didn't get a higher rating. Also watch their sales and financing offers, it can make a big difference in cost. I would recommend the bed if it fits in your price range.
"
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dawn 1
Location:Georgia, USA
Gender:Female
m7
Date:November 8, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Blankets/Comforters, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"got my new bed last night not sure about it woke up sore shoulders neck and back bed was to soft so put up number to 100 will give it afew more days I do have the pillows sales person suggest they are horrible far to soft my question is would I be better off with the p6 thank you"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy Chris VCustomer ServiceNovember 13, 2013
Hi Dawn 1, thanks for sharing your experience with us. I'm so sorry you didn’t have a great first night on your new m7! Sleep Number® beds have a very unique feel and it’s not unusual for it to take some getting used to. We know it can take a little while to try the bed and find a good setting, which is one of the reasons we offer a 100 Night Trial on all of our Core Line beds. That said, there is a shortcut you can use to find a good starting setting and I’ve posted a link to those steps below for your convenience. Please click the link and watch the embedded video to find a good setting to start and then try it for a few days. If you’re still not sleeping better after trying the new setting for 4 or 5 days, please give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday and ask for a Sleep Specialist so we can look into some options to get you sleeping comfortably.

http://bit.ly/qs8iw4

Have you had a chance to contact us about your pillows yet? We really want you to love the products you order from us and we’re more than happy to help you exchange your pillows if another of our products will be a better fit for you. If you haven’t had a chance to look into an exchange yet, please give us a call or stop by your local store again so we can take care of this situation for you. We hope to hear from you soon!
Review 10 for
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ryche
Location:Maryland, USA
Gender:Male
Not very comfortable
Date:September 10, 2013
"My wife and I purchased our m7 bed with high hopes, especially due to how comfortable the demo model was. But thus far, have been disappointed. We just cannot get comfortable on it, no matter what adjustments we make. We actually are no longer using the m7, and are in the process of having it returned.
For the in store demo, our sleep numbers were up around 45. For in home, our numbers are down around 30. Additionally, as another reviewer posted, the number seems to more control the rise and fall of the bed/foam, and not the softness of the overall bed/matteress."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceSeptember 11, 2013
Hi Ryche, thanks for sharing your experience with us. I'm really sorry your m7 wasn't a great fit for you! We've found that the majority of our owners love their Sleep Number beds, but situations like this are the reason we offer a 100 Night Trial on all of our Core Line beds. We want our owners to be able to try our beds in the comfort of their homes and be able to return the bed or exchange it for another model if it’s not a good fit. I wish your m7 had been a better match for you, but I’m glad you were able to make this decision within your trial and I hope you were able to find another bed that better meets your needs. If there’s anything else we can do to help you, please just give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30-5 CT on Saturday and we’ll be happy to assist you. We’re still more than happy to go over some solutions to get you sleeping better if you’d like to give them a try. Have a great day, and we hope to hear from you soon!
Review 11 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
B&DW
Location:Ohio, USA
Gender:Female
Thank you for your help Cyndi
Date:August 25, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"We used to have a free-flow water bed we decided to get a M7 Cal King sleep number bed. It fits in our waterbed frame just fine.
We liked our new bed …BUT decided we needed new pillows.
We found some new foam pillows we thought we both would like but after one night’s sleep they were returned.(not from sleep number)
It was back to the Sleep Number Store with our problem. Cyndi, who sold us our bed, was there to ask us a few questions. Her suggestion was the Sleep Number Pillowology. We both have a pillow that meets our different needs with the same pillow but with different “inner support core”
Now we both love our new bed and new pillows!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thank you Cyndi
"
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
Date:August 13, 2013
"My first choice was the M7 because of how soft it felt. unfortunately it is not all about softness. I had it for about 60 days and never found any comfort. it actually increased my back problems and was very hard to stay asleep. I have recently switched to the i8 and I am hoping to find comfort in it. in my opinion if you are not sure about memory foam start with a different bed."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceAugust 16, 2013
Hello, thanks for sharing your experience with us! We’re sorry the m7 bed wasn’t a great fit for you, but we’re glad you were able to try it for yourself and take advantage of our 100 Night Trial to set up an exchange to the i8 model. We really think you’re going to love your new bed and we can’t wait to hear how you like it! If you need anything else, please be sure to give us another call at 1-800-472-7185 from 8 AM to 8 PM CT M-F or from 8:30-5 CT on Saturday and we’ll be happy to continue working with you. Have a great day!
Review 13 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Male
Date:July 8, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Sheets
"will cause problems as parts wear out. this adds additional cost to owing a sleep number bed"
7 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
J-9
Location:Warren, IN 46792, USA
Gender:Female
Worst purchase I ever made!
Date:July 7, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"First, the beds in the store have no bedding on them and feel completely different once they have the mattress pad(s) and sheets on them. Secondly, it takes forever to find what your sleep number is and by the time you have it figured out, your money back trial is long past. Finally, the bed's air system cannot keep a consistent amount of air in it! It doesn't just lose air, it also gains air! I have to check every night before crawling in what number it is at and by morning, it is different! Biggest waste of money! My most regretful purchase!"
6 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceAugust 8, 2013
Hi J-9, thanks for sharing your experience with us. I'm so sorry you're having trouble with your bed! Have you had the chance to talk to us about the issues you’re having yet? We really want you to enjoy your mattress, and we're happy to help you with the situations you mentioned here if you can contact us at 1-800-472-7185. Please give us a call anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30-5 CT on Saturday and ask to speak with a Sleep Specialist so we can start working with you. We hope to hear from you soon!
Review 15 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sleepwanter
Location:Houston, TX, USA
Gender:Female
Final Review after one year
Date:June 18, 2013
"So, I've been sleeping on this bed for a year now and I'm so sorry I bought all those other beds before because SN is so expensive. Every night when I go to bed, no matter how hard the day was, I go "ahhhhhh." It's wonderful. Too bad they are so expensive; I know a heck of a lot of people who need this bed!
Also, it took me 3-4 months to find my perfect sleep number and I haven't touched it since! Absolutely perfect.
My bed does look different from the pics on this website. I'm assuming the components are the same but the cover is different.
Anyway, 5 stars from me for comfort and sleep quality."
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tammie
To replace parts
Date:April 6, 2013
"I bought this bed in 2007. My pump went out on Feb 2013. I could not get a new from a store. It had to be shipped and that will take about three days!!! So I have to go without sleeping in my bed for three nights. I'm a disable Vet and I don't sleep well sitting up or on my couch. I'm so mad that I can't go to a store and exchange the broken pump for a new one. You should be able to get replacement parts from a store !!! NOT HAVE TO WAIT THREE OR MORE DAYS TO SLEEP IN YOUR BED !!!!!!
I will not recommend this bed to anyone because of this. I will be buying a new bed with in the next 30 days. I will also put this on Facebook so everyone knows NOT TO BUY THIS BED !!!!
"
22 of 104 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
McG
Location:Katonah, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Love our bed
Date:January 3, 2013
"We purchased this bed in July 2012 on a recommendation from my sister whose had a sleep number bed for over 6 years. My wife got used to it immediately, but I had a few nights of adjusting to find my actual number. Our old bed was shot with no support and that was the problem.
At the end of the day my back is often sore. I set the bed to 100 and lay on it unitl I'm ready to sleep and then drop it to my setting.
So far it's been a great experience."
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
debs
Location:Maine
Age:46 - 55
worst bed purchase ever
Date:July 23, 2012
"We bought a sleep number bed 4 years ago, and It finally took 8 months to realize this was a huge mistake, I could not get to sleep at all, and kept going out on the sofa to sleep, and then my Husband finally asked me what was going on and I told him it was the bed, I hated it!!! So we ended up giving it away to my son who had just moved out and needed a bed, and than we bought a memory foam bed, a year ago and is like heaven, I sleep wonderfully well now! Make sure you have a 60 - 90 trial with this bed, it is not what it would seem,"
48 of 74 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy Chris VOnline Customer CareJuly 24, 2012
Hi Debs, thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. My name is Chris, and I work for Sleep Number’s Online Customer Care team. I really wish we could have spoken with you while you still had your bed to see what options we could have offered to get you more comfortable, but it’s great to hear you’re sleeping well on your new mattress and I hope your son loves the Sleep Number you gave him!

We understand it can take time to decide if a Sleep Number bed is a good fit for your needs, and we agree that it’s important to have time to try the bed in your own home to make sure you chose a model you’ll love. This is the reason why all of our core line beds come with a 30 night In-Home Trial. In those rare situations where a little more time is needed or you need some tips to find a good comfort setting, our Customer Service department is happy to see what we can do to help you sleep better.

If your son ever needs to contact us about his bed, he can reach us at 1-800-472-7185 from 8:00-6:00 Central Time Monday through Friday or from 8:30-5:00 Central Time on Saturday, or by email at customerserivce@selectcomfort.com if that’s more convenient. Sleep well!
Review 19 for
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sleepwanter
Location:Houston
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Female
See prior review
Date:July 12, 2012
"(Couldn't figure out how to link to prior review) Anyway, I had asked for the m7 to be replaced by the i8 but when the guys got there to set up the i8, they told me I had the m7 put together wrong. When I saw how cheap the i8 padding looked, I opted to keep the m7, but had them put it together correctly. These guys are pros - I HIGHLY recommend you go ahead and pay the extra $200 to have them put it together for you. Now, I like my m7 a lot - sleep number 50. It feels really wonderful to collapse into at the end of the day. It is no longer rock hard and actually you sink just a bit into that memory foam - not in an old couch sort of way, but in an 'ahhh' sort of way. I love my bed now, but I must say that it does sleep hot. There's no denying that. But if you move a bit, it will cool down very quickly so it's not difficult to sleep on at all. I'm very glad I kept it!"
30 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sleepwanter
Location:Houston, TX
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Female
Ugh!
Date:June 22, 2012
"I bought an M7 with high hopes based on the pics and description. I've wanted a Sleep Number for quite some time but was put off by the cost.
I am SO DISAPPOINTED!!! (I wish I could post a pic!) I put it together myself - was very fast and easy but nothing in the mattress fit!!! The foam parts that are supposed to make the mattress square just absolutely did not fit inside the mattress cover so everything had to be crammed in there an inch at a time. Did finally get it done. THEN (!), the memory foam layer covers approximately 65% of the top of the bed, leaving about 10 inches uncovered at top or bottom. I centered it to be able to sleep, but it really is an epic fail. I'm 5'6", sleeping on a queen - when centered, my pillow is on the foam but my feet are not - the foam is not long enough to support both my head and my feet. The pillow keeps falling off the memory foam, leaving me pitched and hurting! If I center myself carefully and don't move too much, I can sleep on the bed for a few hours, but it's like sleeping on heated granite and eventually I have to move to the guest bedroom (where a 16 year old conventional bed is about 10000% more comfortable). I've been sleeping in there A LOT. I have requested an exchange for an i8 and am very hopeful that will be more comfortable and not so ugly. I'll post a review on that when it finally comes - and I'm paying to have them put it together to see if it's any less ugly.
I guess if you like a very, very, very, very firm mattress, and you bought some extra foam of the same thickness and stuck it in there, this might be the bed for you. BTW - changing the sleep number (which works perfectly) does not affect the rock-hardness of the memory foam in any way whatsoever. You just sink or rise.
"
39 of 61 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>