Product Reviews

Sleep Number ® p6 bed

div.product-detail-wrapper .description + ul { display: none; } Our newest SLEEP NUMBER ® p6 bed features soft, resilient PlushFit ™ foam with zones for superior pressure-relief. High-performance layers are topped with a cool, soothing sleep surface. 12-inch plush-style mattress Breathable knit fabric and moisture-wicking technology for a cool, soothing sleep surface 3 inches of proprietary PlushFit ™ foam provide soft support for enhanced pressure relief 5-zone comfort layer contours to your head and neck, shoulders, back, hips and feet Advanced DualAir ™ technology adjusts firmness on each side with an intuitive wireless remote
Average Customer Rating:
3.954 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
4
1 Star
7
31 of 43(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sleep Number ® p6 bed
Review 1 for Sleep Number ® p6 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StyleGQ
Location:Kettering, Ohio
Age:36 - 45
Gender:Male
Do not accept substitutes.
Date:June 25, 2012
"I have had this bed now for about 2 months, I did some research and even found online similar products. I am glad I did not take a chance on an alternative soft-hard mattress substitute. I called them and while they were very friendly on the phone, they did not seem to know much about the beds that they sold. I guess they were more just order takers in the department I called. I went to the location in Dayton Ohio and was glad I did, I left with the P6 ordered, pillows, a mattresss pad and a cooling topper. I would rather keep my business local and the fact that they are made in the USA was a factor in my buying decision."
34 of 43 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sleep Number ® p6 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scott&Roxann
Location:Monee, IL
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Male
Happy We Bought This Bed
Date:February 6, 2012
"Wow, Best sleep we had in Years! No more sore bones in the morning. Getting that deep sleep that makes us feel well rested in the morning. After reading some of the reviews and some were not the best, we were alittle skeptical I must admit but decided to go with it and decided on the P6. Well we now know it was the best decision we made and are very happy with our Sleep Number bed and would not trade it for nothing. As for the the not so good reviews, we think that some people just have to bash the bed because they have nothing better to do. Let them go back to the springs poking and stiff body in the morning if thats what make them happy. I know I am not and now it's time for bed and I can't wait!"
25 of 43 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sleep Number ® p6 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Colorado
Location:Denver, CO
Age:46 - 55
Gender:Female
Loving this bed!
Date:December 15, 2011
"I *LOVE* our sleep number bed! My husband and I recently purchased a high-end traditional mattress, very firm with a nice pillowtop. He loved it, but it really hurt my back. I broke my back a few years ago, and I would be so stiff and sore it hurt to get up in the morning. We returned the traditional mattress and bought a P6 Sleep Number bed instead. It's amazing; I wish we'd bought one sooner!
I love the separate air chambers. My husband is a "flipper", flipping from front to back to side during the night. Every time he flipped in a traditional mattress, it shook the bed and woke me up. Now, I don't even feel his flipping around. Plus, with the adjustable support offered by the P6, I no longer wake up with a backache or with my arms or hands asleep from the pressure points on a traditional mattress.
The best part is the ability to set each side of the bed individually. My husband varies between a 90 and 95 on his side, and my side is a 35. No wonder we could never agree on a mattress in the past! Now we both love our bed and get a good night's sleep. It was expensive, but well worth it!"
55 of 55 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sleep Number ® p6 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
elkhart
Location:elkhart indiana
Age:56 and over
Gender:Male
best bed ever
Date:September 10, 2011
"best bed i ever had. i have back problems now i can sleep better. if you need a bed buy a sleep number one"
11 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sleep Number ® p6 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tara Noel
Location:Southern California
Gender:Female
Very Happy Customer
Date:August 8, 2014
Pros: Pillows, Blankets/Comforters
"We have tried all types of mattresses but have found that we could not get comfortable. In between our mattress purchases and returns, we kept sleeping temporarily on an air mattress. It seemed to be the only mattress that came close to making us both happy. So, it became obvious that we needed to go to the sleep number store. Best idea yet! We are now the owners of a P6 mattress with the adjustable base and the sleep IQ. Finally, a mattress we are both happy with. Yes, the mattress is overpriced, but a goods nights sleep is worth the price. I did add a memory foam topper for about 200 dollars (not select comfort) and it made the bed perfect!"
Response from Sleep NumberBy Chris VCustomer ServiceAugust 8, 2014
Thanks for sharing this with us, Tara. I know how hard it can be to find a bed that fits both of you just right, and I'm thrilled your p6 is finally helping you both get the quality sleep you deserve! We can't wait to hear how many years of great sleep you get out of your bed and we want you to know we're here to help you if you have any questions along the way. Just give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday if there’s anything we can do to help you.
Review 6 for Sleep Number ® p6 bed
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nate
Location:Tampa, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Worst and most expensive mistake
Date:June 18, 2014
Pros: Pillows, Sheets
"I purchased a P6 Single Chamber Sleep Number 65. It was delivered as promised, went to bed feeling fine woke up middle of night with the worst back ache. Sleeping with different numbers didn't help. I found the P6 over priced and of poor construction. After sleeping on it for 30 days it had a lot of sags and bulges. The sheets and pillows are not a pro, the sheets really showed wear after 1 [one] night, the pillows give me a stiff neck, like sleeping a rock."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceJune 18, 2014
Hi Nate, thanks for taking the time to share your experience with your p6 with us. We're sorry to hear about the trouble you've had getting comfortable in your new bed! If you haven't had the chance to yet, we'd recommend getting in touch with our comfort specialists through our Customer Service Team so they can look into some options to help get you sleeping comfortably. Often, making some changes to the setting you sleep at, or some small tweaks to the bed, can lead to big changes in comfort! Customer Service can be reached at 1-888-411-2270 from 8AM-8PM CST, M-F and 8:30AM-5PM on Saturday. We hope to have the chance to talk with you soon, Nate!
Review 7 for Sleep Number ® p6 bed
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cole
Location:Ohio
Gender:Female
A very expensive air mattress
Date:May 30, 2014
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"I have mixed feelings about Sleep Number. People either love the bed or hate it. I tried it out in the store and felt that it was pretty comfortable. But after sleeping on it for the first night, it was not so great. I even added a second layer of memory foam and it still felt uncomfortable. I couldn't shake the feeling of sleeping on an air mattress and I missed having the spring of a traditional bed. I kept the bed for a few months and eventually got used to it, but still considered it to be way overpriced. Had this bed been much lower in price, I probably would have kept it. I ended up returning it to Sleep Number and they made the process very easy. I was also credited within a few days after the return. I also purchased the adjustable base (which is not returnable) and I absolutely love it! I would also recommend Sleep Number's mattress pad, as I found it to be very high quality. Overall, the bed is OK but there are far better mattresses on the market for a similar price. Also, check the warranty details as it is not as great as other mattress sellers."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy ChrisVCustomer ServiceMay 30, 2014
Thanks for leaving a review on your p6 mattress, Cole. We're really sorry this model wasn't a great fit for you, but we really appreciate you giving it a try and we're glad you were able to take advantage of your 100 Night trial to return it. We're also thrilled you're enjoying your new mattress pad and FlexFit™ adjustable base! If you have any questions about your return or the products you still have, please just give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 anytime from 8 AM to 8 PM CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30 to 5 PM CT on Saturday and we'll be happy to help you. We hope you find a bed that better meets your needs!
Review 8 for Sleep Number ® p6 bed
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RestlessinTN
Location:Knoxville, TN, USA
Gender:Male
worst........mattress.......ever!
Date:April 7, 2014
"We have owned the bed for over 2 years now and I can say honestly that it is the worst bedding purchase we have ever made. I know that you can't please everyone but this thing is terrible. The quality of the bedding is good and the customer service has been good but the quality of sleep in the bedding is beyond bad. I have a sore back, neck or both everyday and lots of leg pain now that I never had before. I was also surprised at how cold this bed is, we had to buy a bed warmer to make it bearable for winter. I don't recommend this or any other air mattress to anyone. Look around folks and don't believe the hype."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceApril 8, 2014
Hi RestlessinTN, thanks for taking the time to leave your review on your bed. We're sorry to hear about the difficulty you've had getting comfortable! If you haven't had a chance to yet, we'd recommend contacting our Customer Service Team and requesting to speak with one of our comfort specialists. They will be able to offer suggestions to help get you sleeping comfortably and loving your bed. Often, making some changes to the Sleep Number® setting you use, or some small tweaks to the bed, can lead to big changes in comfort. Customer Service can be reached at 1-888-411-2270 from 8AM-8PM CST, M-F and 8:30AM-5PM on Saturday. We hope to have the chance to talk to you soon!
Review 9 for Sleep Number ® p6 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dray
Location:state of Jefferson
Gender:Male
Second Time For US!!!
Date:March 29, 2014
"We bought our first Select Comfort bed in 1999 That was after owning a brand new pillow top from the year before 1998. Yes we got a CA King for the size.I am 6' 5" and 250 wife is 5' 10" and 130.
We just lost everything in a house fire. Do you think I would run down here cash in hand? Great Insurance also. If the bed wasn't that good? dray
"
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sleep Number ® p6 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tek
Location:MN
Gender:Male
Our First Sleep Number- A P6 with Adjustable Base
Date:January 26, 2014
Pros: Pillows
"Just got it delivered yesterday. The delivery was prompt and the set up was quick. The staff were professional.
After first night of use, woke up refreshed and 90% of my back pain is gone. We had a form matters that never provided any support for my lower back; and as a result I had severe back pain. Currently, I have my number at 100 just to realign by body and then go down to lower numbers as time go by. My recommended number is a 55.
I will update back. I still have 29 days left to decided if I want to keep the bed or not. The adjustable base is yours forever; you can't return those after 30 days."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy Alan SCustomer ServiceJanuary 26, 2014
Hi Tek, thanks for leaving a review of your new p6. We're really excited to hear how much you love it and that it's already making a difference in the quality of your sleep!

We also wanted to take the opportunity to remind you that the trial on your p6 model mattress is actually a 100 night in home trial, not just a 30 night trial.

If you have any questions or concerns during that time, please don't hesitate to reach out to us over the phone at 1-888-411-2270 from 8AM-8PM CST, Monday-Friday and 8:30AM-5PM on Saturday, or you can copy the link below and paste it into your browser from 7AM-11PM seven days a week to speak with one of our Live Chat Agents.

http://bit.ly/SNChat

Have a great day Tek and keep sleeping well!
Review 11 for Sleep Number ® p6 bed
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bobbo22
Location:Syracuse, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Disappointed
Date:January 8, 2014
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"My wife and I bought the P6 with high hopes and expectations of a good night's sleep. Unfortunately the first night hurt our backs. After 40 days of constantly trying different numbers and only feeling worse, we threw in the towel and returned the bed. On a positive note, Sleep Number is very customer service oriented and sent a different foam at no expense to try with the air mattress but that foam hurt our backs even more. The foam also gave off a lot of fumes which messed us both up. In the end, the mattress felt like nothing more than an air mattress that was killing our bodies."
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sleep Number ® p6 bed
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So Sad
Location:Colorado
Gender:Female
Loved This Bed...in the beginning
Date:November 8, 2013
Pros: Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"We bought this bed in the split king and at first loved it. We did all the right stuff with putting on the covers ( they told us we needed to so we could protect our warranty. So 8 months down the line our foam compressions were so bad I called to see if I could get some help under the warranty. SHOULD HAVE READ THE WARRANTY!!! This is not covered. My back kills me after sleeping in this bed now. My husband's side is not quite as bad but it is getting there. (Oh you would think I would be heavy to have this problem I weigh 125.) I then asked how much for new foam. I was going to have to spend another $600.00 to replace our foam that would proably go bad in another 8 months. I am sick that we paid so much for a bed and only got comfort for a few months. Read your warranty and be smart. I would NEVER buy another one. We did buy foam inserts from another store and that helped a little."
9 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sleep Number ® p6 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Happy Customers
Location:AZ
Gender:Male
We finally replaced our 1996 Ultra Series bed
Date:October 24, 2013
"We went through several conventional mattresses and specialty water beds. Our last water bed was a Serta special 'back care' chambered water bed mattress. We replaced it in 1996 with a Select Comfort (there were no numbers on the corded remotes back then) Ultra Series mattress. It has almost completely fixed my lower back problems and the only problem we had in over 17 years was a slow leak on one side of the air supply. The company immediately sent us a new air supply and just asked us to return the defective one once we replaced it. This was about 10 years ago in 2003 when our bed was 7 years old. We had never had a mattress last that long. A month ago we saw some sale pricing on the new P6 series so we ordered a replacement for our original Ultra Series. We had also purchased a Special series queen sized mattress for our home in CA in 2008 and we could tell there was a big improvement over our 1996 mattress. The mattress was installed in about 2 hours and it's everything we hoped it would be. Now that we have 'numbers' I'm usually a 60 and my wife is a 35 or 40. The remote is novel but our older corded controls were fine as we each had a control at the head of the bed. Our water bed base made the foundation platform a little tricky to install but we got through it. The mattress with the foundation sits 10-12" higher than our old mattress but it isn't a problem. It is much easier to make the bed with it sitting higher and not needing to pull the mattress out of the deep-set water bed enclosure. We made a good choice 17 years ago and I'm sure it was expensive but we have forgotten the cost because it works so well! The new super-quiet air supply is nice too. We saved our old air chambers since they are still like new after 17 years. I LIKE the quality of this product."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sleep Number ® p6 bed
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Missing MLE
Location:AZ
Gender:Female
like this bed but loved my MLE
Date:October 22, 2013
"We originally purchased the MLE Model with adjustable base and I was in love. But I discovered quickly that memory foam has polyurethane in it. I became allergic to the best bed I will ever own. I opted for the P6 hoping it would offer a similar feel. There is nothing wrong with this bed it is just not the wonderful sink in comfort of the MLE. I would never have given up my bed if I had not had a health issue. P6 is wonderful for someone wanting a firmer pillow top. My shoulder pain is sadly back.
I really enjoyed my contact with the company so far. but I miss my MLE..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sleep Number ® p6 bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Anaheim, CA, USA
Love It!
Date:June 30, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Blankets/Comforters, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"I have had my bed for 2 weeks now and it is like sleeping on a cloud. My previous sleep number bed was over 15 years old and still good. It was not nearly as soft and comfortable as this one. So far we love it."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sleep Number ® p6 bed
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Graciey
Location:Hope, AR 71801, USA
Gender:Female
Not worth the price!
Date:February 12, 2013
Pros: Pillows
"We did research on this bed before we bought. We thought this is what we wanted after sleeping on innerspring mattressses for year. We had the bed a little over two weeks and it was the worst purchase we have ever made. They may tell you to try it for 30 days free, but free is hardly free. We paid to have it delivered, the delivery guys broke one of my lamps in my living room by propping my old mattresses up against the lamp! We tired several numbers over the course of the two weeks. It sleeps hot, it felt like we were sleeping in a hole, regardless of the number we used and now we are having to pay more money to return the bed. It was an expensive lesson to learn that we hated the bed. And I might add we also bought the pillows upon the insistence of the sales clerk. We were told we could try them for 10 days, I suppose we must have had selective hearing that day, i do not remember being told that they would only exchange the bedding, no refunds. So I guess we will take our pillows back and try to find something that we can use. The pillows that were recommended were like having a boulder in bed with you. So we tried to sleep on rock hard pillows and a mattress that felt like a hole. My husband and are not skinny people, but hardly what you would call fat. It was two weeks worth of not sleeping well when we thought we would have a very restful sleep after purchasing this mattress. Think long and hard before you invest this kind of money in a mattress."
23 of 39 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sleep Number ® p6 bed
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mr.M47
Location:Georgetown, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Two Year Owner...now Not supporting Warranty.
Date:February 8, 2013
"Overpriced for sure, but that doesn't even begin to explain the many things that disappoint me about this bed. The sides sag when you sit down to slip on a pair of socks. The pressure varies with or without my wife in the bed. The middle divider is like sleeping on a rafter beam. There is no comfortable spot for two to snuggle, or anything else. The head and foot tilt adjustable bottom now stutters in its motion. The layers have begun to wrinkle apart from one another. It moves and sways because its light and even with wheels locked, it doesn't hold its turff like a real bed does.
All in All...it was a great marketing trick, but there is nothing there to support the hype."
23 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sleep Number ® p6 bed
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Male
Sorry to be... but disappointed
Date:February 3, 2013
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers
"My wife and I had high hopes (maybe to high) and expected the bed to be "life changing" as the commercials would suggest, and for the first few months was spent trying to determine the accurate sleep number that we are and we have now had the bed for a year (I felt that a year on bed was needed to really determine an accurate bed review) and basically there are several things about the bed that I am unhappy about. To list briefly we have a king bed and the divider in-between the mattresses makes it to where if you lie in the middle of the bed the foam piece makes it so uncomfortable that you have to shift to one side (away from each other) if you move it to the far side of bed (as store suggested) any movement by the other person is completely felt by the other. Think of 80's waterbed and this is about par, so the heavier person is suppose to get in set number and then lighter one get in and set... doesn't work out that well either. I felt that I should make a review so that before you the consumer purchase you spend some real time on it in the store and take full advantage of the 30 days to determine if this bed would be for you.... but for us after 1 year we are now looking around for something to replace this with... sleep well (hopefully)"
27 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sleep Number ® p6 bed
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fricker
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Good bed but not great
Date:December 28, 2012
Pros: Pillows, Mattress Pads/Comfort Layers, Sheets
"This bed sleeps better than our previous king mattress which was much too hard. However, we have slept on more comfortable beds in better hotels. Best feature is the being able to adjust the firmness. Nice bed but over priced."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sleep Number ® p6 bed
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unhappy Sleep# Consumer
Age:Under 35
Gender:Female
Not worth the $$$
Date:October 16, 2012
"I was referred to Sleep Number about 6 months ago when in the market for a new mattress. I was told they were the best in the business and I would NOT be disappointed, unfortunately that isn't the case.
I have two major complaints about my bed -
1st - I am a single sleeper and the dual chambers are NOT ideal for me, I get the concept but I really would prefer having one chamber so that I'm not restricted as to where I sleep. As it is now, I wake up every morning with horrible back pains because if I drift in the night to the center of the bed and sleep on the foam divider that runs down the middle it really throws my back out of alignment.
2nd - This bed is ridiculously HOT, I feel like it traps all of my body heat and makes it impossible to fall asleep or if once I do, I wake up roasting!
I'm very unhappy with my bed and the fact that my customer reps didn't explain to me that this bed wouldn't regulate heat or check to see if I was a single sleeper and let me know that there are other options besides just the standard dual chambers.
This bed is not worth the $$$, I wish I would have returned it vs. listening to the customer service reps advice that I just needed more time to adjust to the bed."
40 of 45 people found this review helpful.
Response from Sleep NumberBy Chris VCustomer ServiceOctober 25, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your bed. My name is Chris, and I work for Sleep Number’s online Customer Care team. If you’ve had your bed for less than a year and you own a size and model that supports a single air chamber option, there’s a very good chance we can still assist you with this. Our Customer Service team is also more than happy to discuss the heat situation you mentioned to see what can be done to get you sleeping more comfortably. Please give us a call at 1-800-472-7185 from 8-6 CT Monday through Friday or from 8:30-5 CT on Saturday so one of our agents can assist you. We’ll look forward to hearing from you!
1 2 3 next>>